The House That Lou Built
The House That Lou Built
School Discount
Price:

$5.94
Qty(6-24)
Discount Price:

$5.24
Qty(>25)
Discount Price:

$4.89
To purchase this item, you must first login or register for a new account.

Catalog Number: #6598109
Format: Paperback
All Formats: Search
Publisher: Random House
Copyright Date: 2019
Edition Date: 2019
Pages: 240
Availability: Available
New Title: Yes
ISBN: 1-524-71797-5
ISBN 13: 978-1-524-71797-1
Dewey: Fic
Language: English
Word Count: 41,597
Reading Level: 4.2
Interest Level: 3-6
Accelerated Reader: reading level: 4.2 / points: 6.0 / quiz: 198767 / grade: Middle Grades
Guided Reading Level: V
Fountas & Pinnell: V
If people were houses, Lola Celina, my grandmother, would be a hot-pink Painted Lady--­one of those fancy San Francisco Victorians tourists love, with intricate stained glass that casts rainbows onto the sidewalks. She's colorful. Right now, we're strutting around the living room in summery folk-­dance dresses. Mine's bright yellow. It feels light and airy, and when I'm jumping around in it I wish I could fly.

I spin as fast as I can. The skirt flounces up and Lola joins me, twirling and twirling, while Mom takes our picture from the couch. We finish and stand shoulder to shoulder, trying not to wobble. Laughter pours out of us.

"Ay nako!" Lola says. "I haven't danced around this much since I was--­"

"--­crowned Miss Sampaguita in your village for three years in a row, we all know," Mom says, and Lola cracks up. My cousins and I have heard this story a million times; it's one of my favorites.

Lola and I put our arms around each other. I'm taller than she is now. I'm only half Filipina, so we don't look exactly alike, but our family says we have the same smile. Definitely the same crazy laugh.

I plop down next to Mom, out of breath.

"Lou, we should get you a pretty dress to wear on your birthday," Mom says.

"Actually, what I think every new thirteen-­year-­old needs is a circular saw," I say, even though she'd never go for that. Too dangerous.

"Nice try, kiddo."

"Don't you want to wear something beautiful on your special day, anak ko?" Lola says. Anak ko. My child. Even though she calls all the grandkids that, it still makes me feel special.

My birthday's coming up, but I don't care about wearing some silly dress or having a huge Sweet Thirteen like some of the kids at school. There's only one thing I want--­my own house.

I just have to build it first.

The idea started off as a daydream, a dare to myself: What if I made something no other girl has? Because here's the neat part: I own some land. Trees and shrubs and everything. I inherited it from my dad's family after he died, and that's where my house will go.

I've been planning this for a while, and I'm ready to do something about it. If I keep thinking and brainstorming and watching how-­to videos--­instead of doing--­it's never going to happen. Lolo, my grandfather, used to say, "That's how dreams work. You just have to do them."

"Okay, scooch over," Lola says, sitting next to us. She starts folding and piling up costumes she sewed for Barrio Fiesta.

Barrio Fiesta is a neighborhood celebration. Villages in the Philippines throw them every year. It's our big fund-­raiser for the Filipino American Community Senior Center, with dizzying rides, tasty food, and all my friends hanging out. The festival ends in a show, and my whole family pitches in. This time Lola's sewing, I'm making sets, and Mom's organizing the rummage sale. I'm dancing, too. We only practice a couple days a week, so that leaves me plenty of building time.

Mom tilts her head against mine. She's quiet.

"What's wrong, my dear Minda? Is this about your job search?" Lola asks.

"I haven't gotten any offers yet. I applied all over the area," Mom says.

"It's okay, anak. Try to be patient. And you should feel proud, too. It's not easy to put yourself through school. It's all right to take things slow."

My mom's a medical technician, but she just got her nursing degree by going to school at night. Now she's looking for a new job as a nurse, and works a lot of overtime to pay off student loans--­and because we're saving up to move out of Lola's house.

Mom's face brightens a little. "The good news is the hospital I interviewed with in Washington State scheduled a follow-­up call. Cross your fingers."

Is she serious? I sit up. "Are you talking about moving?"

Mom smooths my hair. "I've been thinking a lot about it, honey, and it's the perfect time for a change."

"Not that kind of change." I can't imagine anything worse.

"San Francisco's so expensive. If we lived in Washington, we could find our own place and save up for your college fund." She smiles at me like she hasn't just said the wrong thing.

I give her a big smile back. "We're. Not. Moving."

Lola rubs small circles onto Mom's shoulders, the way she and Mom do with me whenever I'm feeling bad. "You'll find a job soon, anak ko. Though I cannot imagine you and Lou moving so far from home."

"Well, something good will come our way, I know it," Mom says. She turns to me. "Okay, young lady, if you're done parading around like Miss Preteen Sampaguita, then it's bedtime. Last day of seventh grade tomorrow!"

I lie in bed, staring at glow-­in-­the-­dark stars on the ceiling. I wish I was looking at real stars on my land, where at night they fill the sky. The thought of moving has me wide-­awake. I can't believe Mom would want a job in another state.

Most people count sheep to fall asleep. Me? I like to think about houses. It cheers me up. And it's easy, because there are hundreds of types of houses in the world.

Some I like just for their names: the barndominium, the geodesic dome, and the Queenslander; a saltbox, a snout house, or a Yaodong.

Others have fascinating details, like:

The yurt--­a round, portable tent pulled in carts by yaks.

The houseboat--­part house and part boat.

The mansion--­everybody knows this one. It's what I used to want to live in, but now I think they're obnoxious, too big and glossy. Not my style.

Then there's the opposite: a tiny house.

These houses are garage-­sized small, but they can still have a kitchen and a bathroom and a secret cranny for brainstorming ideas.

People all around the world build and live in them. They don't cost as much as a normal house and certainly not as much as a mansion. But the best part? A tiny house fits everything anyone could ever need--­a bed, a table and chairs, a toilet, a sink with running water (which a lot of people in the world don't even have). If you think of it that way, a tiny house isn't tiny at all. It's just right.

Excerpted from The House That Lou Built by Mae Respicio
All rights reserved by the original copyright owners. Excerpts are provided for display purposes only and may not be reproduced, reprinted or distributed without the written permission of the publisher.

"If this book were a house, the rooms would be filled with warmth, family, and friendship." --Erin Entrada Kelly, author of the Newbery Medal winner Hello, Universe; The Land of Forgotten Girls; and Blackbird Fly

A coming-of-age story that explores culture and family, forgiveness and friendship, and what makes a true home. Perfect for fans of Wendy Mass and Joan Bauer.


Lou Bulosan-Nelson has the ultimate summer DIY project. She's going to build her own "tiny house," 100 square feet all her own. She shares a room with her mom in her grandmother's house, and longs for a place where she can escape her crazy but lovable extended Filipino family. Lou enjoys her woodshop class and creating projects, and she plans to build the house on land she inherited from her dad, who died before she was born. But then she finds out that the land may not be hers for much longer.

Lou discovers it's not easy to save her land, or to build a house. But she won't give up; with the help of friends and relatives, her dream begins to take shape, and she learns the deeper meaning of home and family.

AN NPR BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR
A KIRKUS REVIEWS BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR

"Equal parts girl-heart, muscle and know-how for today's reader. Endearing to the end." --Rita Williams-Garcia, Newbery-Honor-and-Coretta-Scott King -Award-winning author of the National Book Award Finalist Clayton Byrd Goes Underground

"Warm, funny and affirming. As we get to know Lou, her extended Filipino family, and friends, the door opens into her life and, ultimately, her home." --Lisa Yee, author of the Millicent Min trilogy, The Kidney Hypothetical, the DC Super Hero Girls series, and other books

"There couldn't be a hero more determined, resourceful or lovable than Lucinda Bulosan-Nelson. Her big dream of a tiny house is irresistible." --Tricia Springstubb, author of Every Single Second, What Happened on Fox Street, Moonpenny Island, and the Cody series

"I fell in love with Lou and her wonderful extended family. This story may be about a tiny house, but it has an enormous heart." --Kate Messner, author of The Exact Location of Home


*Prices subject to change without notice and listed in US dollars.
Perma-Bound bindings are unconditionally guaranteed (excludes textbook rebinding).
Paperbacks are not guaranteed.
Please Note: All Digital Material Sales Final.