Born of Deception
Born of Deception
$15.29
To purchase this item, you must first login or register for a new account.

Annotation: Moving to London in the 1920s to join a prestigious European vaudeville tour and reunite with her boyfriend Cole, budding illusionist Anna must harness her special powers and navigate the underworld of magic before her murderous enemies catch up with her.
Catalog Number: #5575291
Format: Publisher's Hardcover
All Formats: Search
Publisher: HarperCollins
Copyright Date: 2014
Edition Date: 2014
Pages: 326 pages
Availability: Available
ISBN: 0-06-218757-0
ISBN 13: 978-0-06-218757-4
Dewey: Fic
LCCN: 2013047770
Dimensions: 22 cm.
Language: English
Reviews:
ALA Booklist
Jazz Age London is the setting for this sequel to Born of Illusion (2013), as Anna Van Housen leaves her mother behind in New York to join both vaudeville and the Society for Psychical Research. The former is to perform as a magician, and the latter on account of her talents as a Sensitive, who is able to see and feel what others can't. Soon she must put those psychic powers to the test to solve the mystery of an acquaintance supposedly killed for his blood. As in Illusion, there's more predictability than suspense, and both the romance and the language is a bit dull ("my pulse speeds up. He's just that beautiful"). But those who became intrigued by Anna and her predicaments, powers, and feelings for Cole in the first book d those who wonder if Harry Houdini is really her father ll want to see what Brown has in store for this next trick.
Horn Book
This sequel to Born of Illusion finds American illusionist Anna Van Housen, a psychically talented Sensitive, among England's Society for Psychical Research, but infighting and suspicion among its members leave her unsure of whom to trust. The new setting makes this a viable entry point into the series. The story's romantic subplot and lavish descriptions of Jazz-Age London are diverting.
School Library Journal
Gr 8 Up&12; Anna Van Housen, the heroine from Born of Illusion (HarperCollins, 2013) returns in this sequel. The book opens with Anna's arrival in England where she will rehearse her solo magic act before her upcoming European vaudeville tour. She is met by the enigmatic Cole, her former neighbor, fellow Sensitive, and boyfriend. While in London, the teen hopes to learn more about herself and other Sensitives&12;those gifted with paranormal abilities&12;by joining the Society for Psychical Research. Upon her arrival, Anna's hopes are dashed. Cole seems distant, and the Society seems more interested in controlling its members rather than helping them control their powers. When one of the organization's Sensitives is ritualistically murdered and the protagonist is targeted with a curse, the race is on to find the killer before it is too late. Anna and Cole's romance is plagued by the pair's reticence and new complications. His family resides in England and they don't approve of her background or career. Met with her beau's increasingly reserved and inattentive manner, Anna turns to handsome fellow vaudevillian, Bronco Billy, for friendship. Although she has temporarily relocated to London, is surrounded by a host of new characters, and embroiled in a new life, the lead's tale in this volume feels the same as in the first. Readers will be able to check off the boxes of romance, magic, mystery, and intrigue in this competent work, but it will most likely be popular with fans of the previous installment.&12; Cindy Wall, Southington Library &; Museum, CT
Voice of Youth Advocates
This sequel to Born of Illusion (HarperCollins, 2013) begins with Anna's arrival in London, where she is joined by her love interest, Cole. Anna, a young magician who also has special abilities, such as communicating with the dead and sensing people's emotions, is set to perform her first solo act on a European tour in the 1920s. Cole has embroiled Anna in a secret society for fellow Sensitives and the researchers who study their powers, but the society is in turmoil, as Sensitives have gone missing. Anna and Cole work together and continually fight as the danger increases.This sequel stands well on its own; Anna repeats herself to allow readers to catch up. The time period is depicted with discussion of fashionable hats and allusions to timely events, but little else. Anna is a feisty character who becomes tangled in a mystery and a fairly unbelievable love triangle between a fake cowboy and an upper crust Brit. Even though this is a fast read with an engaging cover, it is still a standard supernatural romance. If your library has readers who cannot get enough of this genre, then this series does have the uniqueness of being set in the 1920s.Kristin Fletcher-Spear.
Reviewing Agencies: - Find Other Reviewed Titles
ALA Booklist (6/1/14)
Horn Book (8/1/14)
Kirkus Reviews
School Library Journal (5/1/14)
Voice of Youth Advocates
Reading Level: 7.0
Interest Level: 7-12

Perfect for fans of Libba Bray and Anna Godbersen, this thrilling historical suspense novel—and sequel to Born of Illusion—tells the story of a teen illusionist who must harness her special powers and navigate the underworld of magic before her murderous enemies catch up with her.

After scoring a spot on a European vaudeville tour, Anna Van Housen is moving to London to chase her dream and to join an underground society for people like her with psychic abilities. But when Anna arrives, she finds the group in turmoil—one of its members has been kidnapped, and members of the society are starting to turn on one another. Her life in danger and her relationship with her boyfriend, Cole, fizzling, can Anna track down the kidnapper before he makes her his next victim—or will she be forced to pay the ultimate price for her powers?

Lovers of historical fiction and stories filled with romance and intrigue will fall for Born of Deception and its world of magic set in Jazz Age London.


*Prices subject to change without notice and listed in US dollars.
Perma-Bound bindings are unconditionally guaranteed (excludes textbook rebinding).
Paperbacks are not guaranteed.
Please Note: All Digital Material Sales Final.