Spellbound
Spellbound

List Price:

$20.27
School Discount
Price:

$14.19
Qty(25-99)
Discount Price:

$13.91
Qty(100-249)
Discount Price:

$13.76
Qty(250-499)
Discount Price:

$13.62
Qty(>500)
Discount Price:

$13.34

Series: Books Of Elsewhere Vol. 2   

To purchase this item, you must first login or register for a new account.

Annotation: Eleven-year-old Olive finds herself drawn to the grimoire of the witches who built her house and tries to use its spells to uncover the house's magic and control the cats themselves, but the book is more wicked than it seems.
Catalog Number: #52065
Format: Perma-Bound Edition
All Formats: Search
Publisher: Dial
Copyright Date: 2011
Edition Date: 2012
Illustrator: Bernatene, Poly,
Pages: 293 pages
Availability: Available
ISBN: Publisher: 0-14-242102-2 Perma-Bound: 0-605-50685-X
ISBN 13: Publisher: 978-0-14-242102-4 Perma-Bound: 978-0-605-50685-5
Dewey: Fic
LCCN: 2010041865
Dimensions: 20 cm.
Language: English
Reviews:
Horn Book
Olive's quest to free Morton from Elsewhere, located inside the paintings in Olive's house, involves a search for a spell book and family connections obscured by time. Though this installment gives Olive less Elsewhere time than The Shadows, it generates plenty of magical creepiness by exploring the idiosyncrasies of the house--and the neighbors. Shadowy (but not scary) black-and-white illustrations enhance the mystery.
Kirkus Reviews
The second installment of The Books of Elsewhere (The Shadows, 2010) is a by-the-book fantasy follow-up. Olive has yet to find a solution to the last plot thread left over from the first volume—Morton is trapped, unable to rejoin the world outside of the McMartins' enchanted paintings. Meanwhile, the Linden Street setting is enriched through greater focus on Olive's neighbors, especially new kid Rutherford Dewey. When Olive inexplicitly blurts out the McMartin family's magical secret to Rutherford, he educates her on witches' grimoires. Olive is sure that Aldous McMartin's spellbook holds the key to helping Morton, despite her suspicions about Rutherford—he seems to know too much—and the fact that she'd be playing with an evil wizard's spellbook. The ancient McMartin grimoire is as old as the plot device of the untrustworthy magical object. Furthermore, Olive often acts as a slave to plot contrivances rather than as a character. The characters do not trust each other enough to communicate basic information, leading to arbitrary misunderstandings cleared up just in time for a climax that resolves little. Fortunately, zany cat Harvey's multiple characters and Rutherford's set of quirks help pull the story out of Olive's pace-slowing introspection. Definitely the middle of the story, designed to set up further conflicts and sequels for readers already invested in the series. (Fantasy. 9-12)
School Library Journal
Gr 4&11;6&12; This sequel to The Shadows (Dial, 2010) picks up with Olive Dunwoody still trying to discover the many secrets hidden in the old Victorian house she and her parents have moved into. She has her dependable sidekicks, three lively talking cats that manage to keep her from hurting herself when she is possessed by the spirit of the mysterious book that she discovers. She realizes that she could use it to release Morton, a boy who has been imprisoned in a painting for many years by the house's former owners. Olive comes to the shocking realization that the spellbook has forced her to do various deeds while she has been sleeping. This realization is brought to a head when one of her cat protectors manages to wake up her up just before she jumps to her death. Has she not only put her life in jeopardy but also any chance of saving Morton? Who has directed the spellbook to possess Olive and why? These questions and many more will keep young readers engaged as the mystery unfolds. Olive matures in the story; her emotions, including remorse, are genuinely portrayed, and relationships with the cats and with her quirky neighbor, Rutherford, ring true. Some chapters drag a little but overall this is a suspenseful read that leaves plenty of room for the next title in the series. While it stands on its own, it will be enjoyed most by readers familiar with the first book. Occasional full-page, black-and-white drawings are appropriately dark and mysterious.&12; Julie Shatterly, W.A. Bess Elementary School, Gastonia, NC
Reviewing Agencies: - Find Other Reviewed Titles
Horn Book (4/1/12)
Kirkus Reviews
School Library Journal (9/1/11)
Wilson's Children's Catalog
Word Count: 57,936
Reading Level: 5.8
Interest Level: 4-7
Accelerated Reader: reading level: 5.8 / points: 9.0 / quiz: 144385 / grade: Middle Grades
Reading Counts!: reading level:5.6 / points:14.0 / quiz:Q54298
Lexile: 870L
Guided Reading Level: T

The mysteries grow deeper and the secrets darker in the second volume of the New York Times bestselling Books of Elsewhere series.

With no way into the McMartin house's magical paintings and its three guardian cats reluctant to help, Olive's friend Morton is still trapped inside Elsewhere. So when Rutherford, the new oddball kid next door mentions a grimoire—a spellbook—Olive sees a glint of hope. If she can find the McMartins' spellbook, maybe she can help Morton escape Elsewhere for good. Unless, that is, the book finds Olive first.

The house isn't the only one keeping secrets anymore. You'll never guess what happens next in this thrilling, chilling fantasy series, perfect for fans of Pseudonymous Bosch, Coraline, and Septimus Heap.


*Prices subject to change without notice and listed in US dollars.
Perma-Bound bindings are unconditionally guaranteed (excludes textbook rebinding).
Paperbacks are not guaranteed.
Please Note: All Digital Material Sales Final.