Between Shades of Gray: The Graphic Novel
Between Shades of Gray: The Graphic Novel
Perma-Bound Edition18.32
Publisher's Hardcover16.14
Paperback11.04

List Price:

$26.17
School Discount
Price:

$18.32
Qty(25-99)
Discount Price:

$17.95
Qty(100-249)
Discount Price:

$17.77
Qty(250-499)
Discount Price:

$17.59
Qty(>500)
Discount Price:

$17.22
To purchase this item, you must first login or register for a new account.
Annotation: In 1941, fifteen-year-old Lina, her mother, and brother are pulled from their Lithuanian home by Soviet guards and sent to Siberia, where her father is sentenced to death in a prison camp while she fights for her life, vowing to honor her family and the thousands like hers by burying her story in a jar on Lithuanian soil. Based on the author's family, includes a historical note.
Catalog Number: #307329
Format: Perma-Bound Edition
Special Formats: Graphic Novel Graphic Novel Hot Title Hot Title
Publisher: Penguin
Copyright Date: 2021
Edition Date: 2021
Pages: 160
Availability: Available
ISBN: Publisher: 0-593-40485-8 Perma-Bound: 0-8000-0780-8
ISBN 13: Publisher: 978-0-593-40485-0 Perma-Bound: 978-0-8000-0780-5
Dewey: Fic
LCCN: 2021029278
Dimensions: 23 cm
Language: English
Reviews:
Kirkus Reviews
A graphic novel treatment of Sepetys’ acclaimed Between Shades of Gray (2011) illuminates the story of a teenage Lithuanian girl’s imprisonment in a Siberian labor camp.In 1941, 15-year-old Lina is deported, along with her mother and young brother, by the Soviet forces occupying her home country of Lithuania. They endure a grueling six-week train journey, unaware of their destination or the whereabouts of Lina’s father, who disappeared prior to their arrest. Once they reach Siberia, they are sold into a sentence of 25 years of hard labor and forced to sign a document saying that they committed crimes against the Soviet Union. The harsh struggles that Lina and her fellow countrymen face as Soviet prisoners are poignantly depicted in the graphic novel format, which utilizes spare, poetic language to throw into stark relief the images depicting the physical and emotional abuses they are forced to endure. Throughout these hardships, Lina holds onto hope that she and her family will survive to be reunited with her father; in the meantime, she documents her heartbreaking experiences through her drawing. Like Lina’s art, the stirring, watercolorlike illustrations serve as an evocative medium for relaying both the horrors of her experience and the sublime resilience of the human spirit.A stunningly rendered graphic adaptation that will introduce new readers to this important chapter in history. (author's note) (Graphic historical fiction. 12-18)
Starred Review for Kirkus Reviews
A graphic novel treatment of Sepetys’ acclaimed Between Shades of Gray (2011) illuminates the story of a teenage Lithuanian girl’s imprisonment in a Siberian labor camp.In 1941, 15-year-old Lina is deported, along with her mother and young brother, by the Soviet forces occupying her home country of Lithuania. They endure a grueling six-week train journey, unaware of their destination or the whereabouts of Lina’s father, who disappeared prior to their arrest. Once they reach Siberia, they are sold into a sentence of 25 years of hard labor and forced to sign a document saying that they committed crimes against the Soviet Union. The harsh struggles that Lina and her fellow countrymen face as Soviet prisoners are poignantly depicted in the graphic novel format, which utilizes spare, poetic language to throw into stark relief the images depicting the physical and emotional abuses they are forced to endure. Throughout these hardships, Lina holds onto hope that she and her family will survive to be reunited with her father; in the meantime, she documents her heartbreaking experiences through her drawing. Like Lina’s art, the stirring, watercolorlike illustrations serve as an evocative medium for relaying both the horrors of her experience and the sublime resilience of the human spirit.A stunningly rendered graphic adaptation that will introduce new readers to this important chapter in history. (author's note) (Graphic historical fiction. 12-18)
Reviewing Agencies: - Find Other Reviewed Titles
Starred Review for Kirkus Reviews
Reading Level: 3.7
Interest Level: 7-12

Just in time for the 10th anniversary of Between Shades of Gray, Ruta Sepetys's award-winning debut novel, and inspiration for the major motion picture Ashes in the Snow, is now a gorgeous graphic novel!

From #1 New York Times and international bestselling author and Carnegie Medal winner of Salt to the Sea comes a story of loss and of fear--and ultimately of survival--in a brand-new four-color format.

"Few books are beautifully written, fewer still are important; this novel is both." --The Washington Post

New York Times notable book
An international bestseller
A Carnegie Medal nominee
A William C. Morris Award finalist
A Golden Kite Award winner

June, 1941. A knock comes at the door and the life of fifteen-year-old Lina Vilkas changes forever. She's arrested by the Soviet secret police and deported from Lithuania to Siberia with her mother and younger brother. The conditions are horrific and Lina must fight for her life and for the lives of those around her, including the boy that she loves. Risking everything, she secretly passes along clues in the form of drawings, hoping they will reach her father's prison camp. But will her messages, and her courage, be enough to reunite her family? Will they be enough to keep her alive?

A moving and haunting novel perfect for readers of The Book Thief, now available as a stunning graphic novel.


*Prices subject to change without notice and listed in US dollars.
Perma-Bound bindings are unconditionally guaranteed (excludes textbook rebinding).
Paperbacks are not guaranteed.
Please Note: All Digital Material Sales Final.