The Kids Are Gonna Ask
The Kids Are Gonna Ask

List Price:

$31.67
School Discount
Price:

$22.17
Qty(25-99)
Discount Price:

$21.73
Qty(100-249)
Discount Price:

$21.50
Qty(250-499)
Discount Price:

$21.28
Qty(>500)
Discount Price:

$20.84
To purchase this item, you must first login or register for a new account.

Annotation: After the death of their mother, twin siblings Savannah and Thomas become a national phenomenon when they launch a podcast to find the biological father they never knew.
Catalog Number: #293877
Format: Perma-Bound Edition
All Formats: Search
Publisher: Harlequin
Copyright Date: 2020
Edition Date: 2020
Pages: 416
Availability: Available
ISBN: Publisher: 0-7783-0874-X Perma-Bound: 0-7804-9859-3
ISBN 13: Publisher: 978-0-7783-0874-4 Perma-Bound: 978-0-7804-9859-4
Dewey: Fic
Language: English
Reviews:
Kirkus Reviews
Seventeen-year-old fraternal twins start a podcast searching for their biological father, and it goes viral.Savannah McClair is a high schooler who has lots of opinions and no trouble standing up to her twin brother, Thomas, but she lets her best friend, Trigg, boss her around and tell her what to do. Thomas is in a similar situation with his twin sister and his best friend, Nico, who tears him down every chance he gets. The twins are being raised by their well-to-do grandmother, whom they call by her first name, Maggie, in Minneapolis. Their mother, Bess, found out she was pregnant just before her college graduation and moved home, where she and Maggie raised the kids until her untimely death when the twins were almost 13. When Savannah and Thomas decide they want to broadcast their search for their father via podcast, they team up with a high-octane producer with a laser focus on getting the show as much attention as possible. This is a slow-moving story told sequentially and from the points of view of Maggie, Thomas, Savannah, and Jack, a man living in Georgia who could be the children’s father. The story unfolds in a variety of formats, utilizing third-person narrative, letters, texts, social media posts, and voicemail and podcast transcripts. Author Anthony is particularly adept at sharing the conflicting emotions of adolescence and the fear of not being good enough that can extend into adulthood, but there is little tension in the story to pull the reader along. Instead, significant attention is given to frequent fights between the twins as they struggle with who they are, who their mom was, and where they should draw the line between public and private.A dialogue-rich book that explores the emotional turmoil of adolescence.
Publishers Weekly
In Anthony-s brisk coming-of-age story (after Evergreen Tidings from the Baumgartners), a high school podcast project goes viral when the hosts search for their unknown father. Sophomores Thomas and Savannah McClaire have lived with their grandmother, Maggie, in Minneapolis, since the death of their mother, Bess, two years earlier. The twins launch a podcast called McClaire Dinner Salon, documenting conversations between Maggie and her acquaintances. For a year, the twins- audience plateaus at 300 listeners, until an episode addresses the mystery of their biological father-s identity, which attracts interest from Guava Media and a sensational producer whose credits include It-s Only Murder. As the teens work with Guava, their audience grows and the show attracts national media attention. One of the show-s previous guests, a friend of Bess-s from college, questions the ethics of the show on a talk radio program (-They-re kids. Asking very personal questions about a very private matter-). As Anthony reveals in an early flash-forward, the twins become overwhelmed and lock themselves in Maggie-s house, with protestors and supporters crowding outside. Anthony-s story is full of surprises and thoughtful reflections on the expiration date for family secrets. Like a successfully twisty podcast, this delivers the goods. (May)

Reviewing Agencies: - Find Other Reviewed Titles
Kirkus Reviews
Publishers Weekly
Reading Level: 9.0
Interest Level: 9+

A 2021 Alex Award Winner!

“A sparkling tale about fame and family… Fans of Elizabeth Berg and J. Ryan Stradal will relish the novel’s humor, spark, and verve.” —
Booklist

“Smart yet surprisingly sweet, this meditation on family and media is as captivating as a favorite podcast.” —Shelf Awareness

“Moving, humorous, and briskly-paced.” —J. Ryan Stradal, New York Times bestselling author of Kitchens of the Great Midwest and The Lager Queen of Minnesota

A whip-smart, entertaining novel about twin siblings who become a national phenomenon after launching a podcast to find the biological father they never knew.

The death of Thomas and Savannah McClair’s mother turns their world upside down. Raised to be fiercely curious by their grandmother Maggie, the twins become determined to learn the identity of their biological father. And when their mission goes viral, an eccentric producer offers them a dream platform: a fully sponsored podcast called The Kids Are Gonna Ask. To discover the truth, Thomas and Savannah begin interviewing people from their mother’s past and are shocked when the podcast ignites in popularity. As the attention mounts, they get caught in a national debate they never asked for—but nothing compares to the mayhem that ensues when they find him.

Cleverly constructed, emotionally perceptive and sharply funny, The Kids Are Gonna Ask is a rollicking coming-of-age story and a moving exploration of all the ways we can go from lost to found.


*Prices subject to change without notice and listed in US dollars.
Perma-Bound bindings are unconditionally guaranteed (excludes textbook rebinding).
Paperbacks are not guaranteed.
Please Note: All Digital Material Sales Final.