Wings of Ebony
Wings of Ebony

List Price:

$32.71
School Discount
Price:

$22.90
Qty(25-99)
Discount Price:

$22.44
Qty(100-249)
Discount Price:

$22.21
Qty(250-499)
Discount Price:

$21.98
Qty(>500)
Discount Price:

$21.53

Series: Wings of Ebony Vol. 1   

To purchase this item, you must first login or register for a new account.

Annotation: In this riveting, keenly emotional debut fantasy, a Black teen has her world upended when she learns about her godly ancestry.
Catalog Number: #256363
Format: Perma-Bound Edition from Publisher's Hardcover
All Formats: Search
Copyright Date: 2021
Edition Date: 2021
Pages: 360 pages
Availability: Available
ISBN: Publisher: 1-534-47067-0 Perma-Bound: 0-7804-9258-7
ISBN 13: Publisher: 978-1-534-47067-5 Perma-Bound: 978-0-7804-9258-5
Dewey: Fic
LCCN: 2020009140
Dimensions: 23 cm.
Language: English
Reviews:
Kirkus Reviews
A teenage girl is whisked away from the only home and family she knows to a hidden land of magic and secrets.The last year has been a jarring sequence of events for 17-year-old African American Rue. After their mother dies in a senseless shooting, Rue and her 12-year-old sister, Tasha, are separated. Tasha is living with her father back in Houston while Rue finds herself off the coast of Madagascar on the hidden island of Ghizon with her previously absent father, Aasim. Rue struggles to assimilate to a magic-filled world, but her new friend Bri accepts her and gives her an understanding of Ghizoni culture. Despite being immersed in this world of wonder, nothing can replace a sister: Rue breaks the rules and travels back to Houston to see Tasha. Everything seems to be going well until a man with a snake tattoo on his neck offers Tasha a ride to school and a series of events unfolds that threatens Rue’s world and may change Ghizon forever. Debut author Elle’s characters shine with determination and heart. The tough realities of living in an underserved community fortify Rue against great odds but also influence her reluctance to accept kindness and support. Rue grapples with her sense of community, family, and duty; despite the size of her foes and fears, she never stops fighting for justice.Heart-stopping action and intrigue from cover to cover. (Fantasy. 14-18)
School Library Journal Starred Review
Gr 9 Up-Seventeen-year-old Rue's life was forever changed the day her mother was shot and killed before her eyes. In what feels like an instant, she is whisked away from her half-sister Tasha to live with her previously absent father in Ghizona world filled with magic wielders because oh, she's half-god and magic is real. Thrust into a new world with new powers, Rue begins her training. She's the only Black girl in a world filled with grey folk. Missing her sister, Rue returns to Houston on the anniversary of their mother's death, where she finds herself in a battle to keep her sister safe and save both of her worlds from the evils trying to destroy them. This high-stakes debut is ackGirlMagic at its most earnest, teaching readers that strength is nothing to apologize for. VERDICT An ode to family, true belonging, and magic. Highly recommended for all collections. India Winslow, formerly at Cary Memorial Lib., Lexington, MA
Reviewing Agencies: - Find Other Reviewed Titles
School Library Journal Starred Review (3/1/21)
Kirkus Reviews
Reading Level: 6.0
Interest Level: 9-12
Lexile: HL580L

Instant New York Times bestseller!
“A remarkable, breathtaking, earthshaking, poetic thrillride.” —Daniel JoOlder, New York Times bestselling author of Shadowshaper

In this riveting, keenly emotional debut fantasy, a Black teen from Houston has her world upended when she learns about her godly ancestry and must save both the human and god worlds. Perfect for fans of Angie Thomas, Tomi Adeyemi, and The Hunger Games!

“Make a way out of no way” is just the way of life for Rue. But when her mother is shot dead on her doorstep, life for her and her younger sister changes forever. Rue’s taken from her neighborhood by the father she never knew, forced to leave her little sister behind, and whisked away to Ghizon—a hidden island of magic wielders.

Rue is the only half-god, half-human there, where leaders protect their magical powers at all costs and thrive on human suffering. Miserable and desperate to see her sister on the anniversary of their mother’s death, Rue breaks Ghizon’s sacred Do Not Leave Law and returns to Houston, only to discover that Black kids are being forced into crime and violence. And her sister, Tasha, is in danger of falling sway to the very forces that claimed their mother’s life.

Worse still, evidence mounts that the evil plaguing East Row is the same one that lurks in Ghizon—an evil that will stop at nothing until it has stolen everything from her and everyone she loves. Rue must embrace her true identity and wield the full magnitude of her ancestors’ power to save her neighborhood before the gods burn it to the ground.


*Prices subject to change without notice and listed in US dollars.
Perma-Bound bindings are unconditionally guaranteed (excludes textbook rebinding).
Paperbacks are not guaranteed.
Please Note: All Digital Material Sales Final.