What About Worms!?
What About Worms!?

List Price:

$20.57
School Discount
Price:

$14.40
Qty(25-99)
Discount Price:

$14.11
Qty(100-249)
Discount Price:

$13.97
Qty(250-499)
Discount Price:

$13.82
Qty(>500)
Discount Price:

$13.54
To purchase this item, you must first login or register for a new account.

Annotation: Tiger unwittingly helps some worms overcome their fear of tigers with a well-placed, informative book, but will a wormy hug aid a fearful Tiger?
Catalog Number: #255875
Format: Perma-Bound Edition from Publisher's Hardcover
All Formats: Search
Publisher: Hyperion
Copyright Date: 2020
Edition Date: 2020
Pages: 51 pages
Availability: Available
ISBN: Publisher: 1-368-04573-1 Perma-Bound: 0-7804-9050-9
ISBN 13: Publisher: 978-1-368-04573-5 Perma-Bound: 978-0-7804-9050-5
Dewey: E
LCCN: 2019019930
Dimensions: 24 cm.
Language: English
Reviews:
ALA Booklist
If it's not apparent from the cute, cuddly illustrations, Tiger is big, brave, and unafraid . . . except when it comes to worms. Slimy, wiggly worms, to be more precise. Tiger's fear gets out of hand as he begins worrying about things that could potentially contain worms pot of flowers, an apple, a book til he abandons them all, as well as his dignity, and runs off screaming. Higgins' over-the-top comedy, with its speech-bubble dialogue, textual repetition, and emotive artwork, fits nicely within the Elephant & Piggie Like Reading! series. Events take an entertaining turn when some tiger-phobic worms make an appearance, but, after reading about these furry creatures, they realize that Tiger is probably quite nice. A silly choice for early readers that lets positive messaging about literacy worm its way in.
Horn Book
Tiger is BIG. Tiger is BRAVE. Tiger is afraid of nothing..."except worms." Tiger, a plush Calvin and Hobbes-ian animal with no taste for subtlety, tells us just what makes these creatures so terrifying: "Worms are slimy. Worms like to wiggle. And you cannot tell their tops from their bottoms!" Tiger is momentarily distracted from its fear by, successively, pretty flowers, an apple, and a book, but the remembered possibility of worms at every turn ("Flowers grow in dirt...Worms love dirt...") sends Tiger screaming. In an entertaining twist, some tiger-fearing worms get over their own apprehensions to help with Tiger's phobia: "Let's give that nice tiger a worm hug!" Tiger's overblown reactions make for hilarious page-turns in Higgins's high-action illustrations. Early readers will find support in the repetitive text and relish the many exclamations and sound effects ("CRRR-UNCH!"). Framed by two spreads of groan-inducing puns from Willems's Elephant and Piggie, Higgins's easy reader is funny from top to bottom.
Kirkus Reviews
What does an uber-confident tiger about town have to worry about? Flowers? Apples? Books? Of course not! Unless they’re teeming with—WORMS!!!This tiger loves flowers, but flowers are buried in dirt, and everyone knows worms LOVE dirt. Apples are juicy and crunchy and sweet. The tiger loves apples, but so do WORMS!!! The tiger also LOVES books…unless they’re about the one thing the tiger’s terrified of—WORMS!!! It’s impossible to tell their tops from their bottoms! (Gross!) As the tiger overreacts and drops object after object, what does the resulting trail of flowerpot shards, apple pulp, and a tossed-aside book attract? Squirmy, slimy WORMS!!! Guess what worms are afraid of? Furry, noncrawling TIGERS! After all, “you can tell their tops from their bottoms!” (Gross!) But this tiger left these worms some wonderful dirt. This tiger left these worms a delicious apple. And this tiger left these worms the best thing of all—a book! Time to give this tiger a WORM HUG! “Ahhhhhhhhhhhhh!!!” Higgins’ latest addition to the Elephant & Piggie Like Reading series is an exclamation-point–packed, liberally uppercased rambunctious rollick through the irrational world of phobias. His Hobbes-like feline is a master of inscrutability (NOT!). Expressions ranging from cheesy grins to abject terror race across the tiger’s face faster than you can thumb a flipbook.Between snorts and giggles, kids will soon discover they’re READING! (Early reader. 4-8)
Publishers Weekly
In this spry addition to Willems-s ongoing series, Elephant and Piggie read a book about deceptively fierce Tiger, who is not afraid of anything-except worms. After Tiger explains his aversion to the critters (they-re slimy, they -like to wiggle,- and -you cannot tell their tops from their bottoms!-), he is distracted by things he loves-flowers planted in soil, a shiny apple hanging from a tree-only to toss them aside when he remembers, with horror, that worms enjoy those very same things. Unearthed, a few worms articulate their dislike of tigers (they-re furry, they like to walk, and -you can tell their tops from their bottoms!-), until they realize that Tiger has left behind the shattered planter he dropped and the apple he spat out, precipitating a reversal of opinion that is, wryly, unreciprocated by the terrified, emotive tiger. Though Higgins (the Mother Bruce series) slips in worthwhile intimations about making snap judgments, his spare, Bill Watterson-tinged art and snappy dialogue create a cleverly meta early reader that solidly stands on its comical feet. Ages 4-8. Author-s agent (for Higgins): Paul Rodeen, Rodeen Literary. (May)
School Library Journal
PreS-Gr 2 Piggie and Elephant have a grave dilemma: Should they read a book about worms, even if they are uncertain how it will end? They bravely decide to, and as they read, they meet a tiger who is also afraid of worms. Worms are obviously slimy and wiggly, thinks Tiger. Suddenly every object Tiger comes upon is related to worms. Flowers plus dirt equal worms. Crunchy apples equal worms. A book on the ground with a wiggly illustration must be a worm, too! Tiger runs away just as a group of striped worms declares it is afraid of tigers. Ultimately, the worms realize the book Tiger left behind is about tigers, but will they be daring enough to read it? Fans of Piggie and Elephant will be drawn to this title because of Willems's familiar text style. The accompanying illustrations on white and colored backgrounds effectively show the characters' energy and emotions. VERDICT Readers will identify with the characters' reluctance to try new things and learning about unfamiliar topics. Martha Rico, Yselta ISD, TX
Word Count: 424
Reading Level: 1.6
Interest Level: P-2
Accelerated Reader: reading level: 1.6 / points: 0.5 / quiz: 508782 / grade: Lower Grades
Lexile: AD310L


A Theodor Seuss Geisel Honor award winner!


From #1 New York Times best-selling author Ryan T. Higgins comes What About Worms!?


Tiger is BIG. Tiger is BRAVE. And Tiger is NOT afraid of anything . . . except WORMS! Are Tigers worm worries worse than worms?


*Prices subject to change without notice and listed in US dollars.
Perma-Bound bindings are unconditionally guaranteed (excludes textbook rebinding).
Paperbacks are not guaranteed.
Please Note: All Digital Material Sales Final.