Redwall
Redwall
Perma-Bound Edition15.77
Paperback8.54

List Price:

$22.53
School Discount
Price:

$15.77
Qty(25-99)
Discount Price:

$15.45
Qty(100-249)
Discount Price:

$15.30
Qty(250-499)
Discount Price:

$15.14
Qty(>500)
Discount Price:

$14.82
To purchase this item, you must first login or register for a new account.
Series: Redwall Vol. 1   
Annotation: When the peaceful life of ancient Redwall Abbey is shattered by the arrival of the evil rat Cluny and his villainous hordes, Matthias, a young mouse, determines to find the legendary sword of Martin the Warrior which, he is convinced, will help Redwall's inhabitants destroy the enemy.
Catalog Number: #250765
Format: Perma-Bound Edition
Teaching Materials: Search
Teaching Materials Receive a FREE Teacher's Guide for this title with a purchase of 20 or more copies of this book. You do not need to add a copy of the Teacher's Guide to your list, it will be automatically included with your order after the minimum number of copies is ordered.
Publisher: Penguin
Copyright Date: 1986
Edition Date: 2002
Pages: 351 pages
Availability: Available
ISBN: Publisher: 0-14-230237-6 Perma-Bound: 0-8000-3203-9
ISBN 13: Publisher: 978-0-14-230237-8 Perma-Bound: 978-0-8000-3203-6
Dewey: Fic
LCCN: 86025467
Dimensions: 19 cm.
Language: English
Reviews:
ALA Booklist
The much-loved, fantasy series has morphed into a graphic novel with mixed results. Adapting a favorite is always tricky: creators want to acknowledge the fans but also draw in new readers. In this case, the story has holes that only Redwall devotees can fill, but readers unacquainted with the series will still find themselves caught up in the action. Blevins' art effectively conveys the emotional edge of the animal characters while it maintains a Saturday-morning-cartoon feel. Fun for some, although Redwall fanatics will think part of the magic is missing.
Publishers Weekly
Only the lost sword of Martin the Warrior can save Redwall Abbey from the evil rat Cluny and his greedy horde. The young mouse Matthias (formerly Redwall's most awkward novice) vows to recover the legendary weapon. In the course of his quest, Matthias forges strong ties with various local animals. As much as the magic of the sword, it is the help of these new friends that enables Matthias to defeat Cluny once and for all. Jacques's clever use of detail creates an animal world as compelling as that of The Wind in the Willows. From the beginning, each of Redwall's characters is endowed with a unerringly distinct personality: there is a powerful badger named Constance; a mute squirrel named Silent Sam, who knows the forest better than anyone; and his mother Jess, a champion climber who leads a splendid rescue of a piece of the abbey's tapestry. This epic adventure contains elements of all grand quests, with heroic archetypes that will keep fans of Tolkein and King Arthur tales engaged to the final battle. Illustrations not seen by PW. All ages. (June)
School Library Journal
Gr 6 Up-What on the surface appears to be just another medieval fantasy peopled with animals enacting the fight to the death between good and evil is actually a rich and thought-provoking novel on the nature of good and evil. The peaceful life of the mice of Redwall Abbey is shattered by the onslaught of the fierce rat, Cluny the Scourge, and his army of rats, weasels, and other vermin. The mice and the other peaceful animals take refuge in the Abbey's strong walls while Cluny lays seige. Advantage is with the besieged (as long as food and supplies last), and the Abbey defenders are able to withstand numerous attacks. Cluny cannot be completely defeated, however, until the sword of Martin, the legendary warrior who founded Redwall Abbey, can be found. A young novice, Matthias, embarks on a quest and ultimately finds it, but a wise cat reminds him that it is just a sword. It attained its legendary status because Martin used it only in the defense of right and good. Just as Martin's sword is neither good nor evil, the characters avoid being simply personifications of attributes. The defenders, even Matthias, have faults, while even Cluny displays characteristics which make him not likable, but at least deserving of a grudging admiration. The book is violent, and at some times downright gruesome, but the quality of the writing, the rich cast of characters, the detailed accounts of medieval warfare, and Jacques' ability to tell a good story and make readers think all earn Redwall a place on library shelves. Susan M. Harding, Mesquite Pub . Lib . , Tex.
Word Count: 101,289
Reading Level: 5.6
Interest Level: 7-12
Accelerated Reader: reading level: 5.6 / points: 16.0 / quiz: 7129 / grade: Middle Grades
Reading Counts!: reading level:7.8 / points:22.0 / quiz:Q09646
Lexile: 800L
Guided Reading Level: Z
Fountas & Pinnell: Z

Teacher's Guide: Redwall Teacher's Guide

Soon to be a Netflix original movie!
One of TIME Magazine’s 100 Best Fantasy Books of All Time
 
The book that inspired a legend—the first novel in the beloved, bestselling Redwall saga.

Welcome to Mossflower Wood, where the gentle mice have gathered to celebrate a year of peace and abundance. All is well…until a sinister shadow falls across the ancient stone abbey of Redwall. It is rumored that Cluny is coming—Cluny, the terrible one-eyed rat and his savage horde—Cluny, who has vowed to conquer Redwall Abbey! The only hope for the besieged mice lies in the lost sword of the legendary Martin the Warrior. And so begins the epic quest of a bumbling young apprentice—a courageous mouse who would rise up, fight back…and become a legend himself.
 
Perfect for fans of T. A. Barron’s Merlin saga, John Flanagan’s Ranger’s Apprentice series, and J. R. R. Tolkien’s Lord of the Rings series.

“The medieval world of Redwall Abbey—where gallant mouse warriors triumph over evil invaders—has truly become the stuff of legend.”
Seattle Post-Intelligencer


*Prices subject to change without notice and listed in US dollars.
Perma-Bound bindings are unconditionally guaranteed (excludes textbook rebinding).
Paperbacks are not guaranteed.
Please Note: All Digital Material Sales Final.