Furia
Furia

List Price:

$30.24
School Discount
Price:

$21.17
Qty(25-99)
Discount Price:

$20.75
Qty(100-249)
Discount Price:

$20.53
Qty(250-499)
Discount Price:

$20.32
Qty(>500)
Discount Price:

$19.90
To purchase this item, you must first login or register for a new account.

Annotation: A powerful, #ownvoices contemporary YA for fans of The Poet X and I Am Not Your Perfect Mexican Daughter set in Argentina, about a rising soccer star who must put everything on the line--even her blooming love story--to follow her dreams.
Catalog Number: #240000
Format: Perma-Bound Edition from Publisher's Hardcover
All Formats: Search
Publisher: Workman Pub. Co.
Copyright Date: 2020
Edition Date: 2020
Pages: 357 pages
Availability: Available
ISBN: Publisher: 1-616-20991-7 Perma-Bound: 0-7804-8685-4
ISBN 13: Publisher: 978-1-616-20991-9 Perma-Bound: 978-0-7804-8685-0
Dewey: Fic
LCCN: 2020020758
Dimensions: 21 cm.
Language: English
Reviews:
ALA Booklist
This high-energy nVoices novel features ambitious 17-year-old Camila of Rosario, Argentina, whose dream is to be come a fútbolera, or renowned soccer player. To work towards her goal, she must lie to those she loves d those who might hurt her, like her abusive father d maintain a double life of obedient daughter and "La Furia," her soccer alias. Written in a relatable first-person perspective, the novel follows Camila's struggles to navigate an upcoming high-stakes tournament as well as the return of her first love, Diego, now a famous international soccer star. With her brother and best friend d prayers to guardian saints hind her, Camila pursues her aspirations while escaping her family's overbearing expectations, her father's toxic machismo, and the unceasing string of violence against women in her homeland that threatens her desired career and personal safety. When her team qualifies for the South American tournament, her parents crack down, and her love life begins to blossom, Camila must find a way to follow her heart and stay true to herself.
Kirkus Reviews
An Argentine girl’s journey to fulfill her ambitions against all odds.Seventeen-year-old Camila “la Furia” Hassan is a talented soccer player from a traditional working-class family in Rosario, Argentina, who aspires to be a professional futbolera. Her life as a player is a secret she keeps from her parents, especially from her abusive father, but her support system includes her brother, Pablo, a professional soccer player himself, and her best friend and teammate, Roxana. After her team wins the local league and qualifies for a South American tournament, Camila finally has a chance to show her talent to scouts and hopefully fulfill her dream to join a North American team. Camila needs parental permission to join the tournament, but coming clean is hard—and then things get worse when the boy she loves is back in town. Diego left to play for Juventus FC in Italy and has come to win her back, but Camila is torn between her two loves. In this stirring novel by Argentine American author Méndez, passion for sports and personal growth intersect in Camila’s powerful, feminist first-person narrative about her experiences as an ambitious athlete, a teenager deeply in love, the daughter of an abusive father at the point of taking charge of her own life, and a young woman finding her voice in a deeply sexist, patriarchal society. Camila’s Argentine family is multicultural with Black, Indigenous, European, and Palestinian ancestors. Roxana is Chinese Argentine.A riveting coming-of-age story. (Fiction. 14-adult)
School Library Journal
Gr 7 Up-Seventeen-year-old Camila "Furia" Hassan navigates a world of lies in Rosario, Argentina. At home she plays the respectful and innocent daughter who is dedicated to learning English and attending medical school. Obedient to her abusive father, loyal to her rising-soccer-star brother and dedicated to her overwhelmed mother, Camila does not show her true colors. The headstrong Latina has dreams of her own: To earn a scholarship to a university and play soccer in the United States, to stick up for women's rights in her beloved hometown, and to pursue her own relationship with Rosario's local soccer hero and international heartthrob Diego "El Titan" Ferrari. Through Camila's first-person narrative, readers learn about her conflicting feelings as a daughter, athlete, and friend, while she struggles to define her priorities. With a mix of Spanish words, vivid dialogue, and rich description, Mendez paints a realistic image of a young woman battling to become herself against the odds. Instances of abuse and child death are described in a sensitive manner for mature readers. This inspirational story is an important read for young adults everywhere to witness the dynamics and pressures for a young Argentinian. VERDICT This book is a powerful and realistic novel for libraries with a large Latinx or young adult population.Emily Bayci-Mroczek, Naperville Public Library-Naper Boulevard Library, IL
Starred Review for Kirkus Reviews
An Argentine girl’s journey to fulfill her ambitions against all odds.Seventeen-year-old Camila “la Furia” Hassan is a talented soccer player from a traditional working-class family in Rosario, Argentina, who aspires to be a professional futbolera. Her life as a player is a secret she keeps from her parents, especially from her abusive father, but her support system includes her brother, Pablo, a professional soccer player himself, and her best friend and teammate, Roxana. After her team wins the local league and qualifies for a South American tournament, Camila finally has a chance to show her talent to scouts and hopefully fulfill her dream to join a North American team. Camila needs parental permission to join the tournament, but coming clean is hard—and then things get worse when the boy she loves is back in town. Diego left to play for Juventus FC in Italy and has come to win her back, but Camila is torn between her two loves. In this stirring novel by Argentine American author Méndez, passion for sports and personal growth intersect in Camila’s powerful, feminist first-person narrative about her experiences as an ambitious athlete, a teenager deeply in love, the daughter of an abusive father at the point of taking charge of her own life, and a young woman finding her voice in a deeply sexist, patriarchal society. Camila’s Argentine family is multicultural with Black, Indigenous, European, and Palestinian ancestors. Roxana is Chinese Argentine.A riveting coming-of-age story. (Fiction. 14-adult)
Reviewing Agencies: - Find Other Reviewed Titles
ALA Booklist (9/1/20)
Kirkus Reviews
Pura Belpre Honor (9/1/20)
School Library Journal
Word Count: 74,534
Reading Level: 4.9
Interest Level: 9-12
Accelerated Reader: reading level: 4.9 / points: 11.0 / quiz: 510995 / grade: Upper Grades

A REESE WITHERSPOON x HELLO SUNSHINE BOOK CLUB YA PICK Recipient of the 2021 Pura Belpr Young Adult Author Medal One of BuzzFeed 's Must-Read YA Books of 2020 A Best Book of the Year: Cosmopolitan * Kirkus Reviews * SheReads * New York Public Library "An engrossing #OwnVoices novel." -- PopSugar "This book will set your dreams on fire . . . It's fabulous." -- Reese Witherspoon A powerful contemporary YA for fans of The Poet X and I Am Not Your Perfect Mexican Daughter set in Argentina, about a rising soccer star who must put everything on the line--even her blooming love story--to follow her dreams . In Rosario, Argentina, Camila Hassan lives a double life. At home, she is a careful daughter, living within her mother's narrow expectations, in her rising-soccer-star brother's shadow, and under the abusive rule of her short-tempered father. On the field, she is La Furia, a powerhouse of skill and talent. When her team qualifies for the South American tournament, Camila gets the chance to see just how far those talents can take her. In her wildest dreams, she'd get an athletic scholarship to a North American university. But the path ahead isn't easy. Her parents don't know about her passion. They wouldn't allow a girl to play f tbol--and she needs their permission to go any farther. And the boy she once loved is back in town. Since he left, Diego has become an international star, playing in Italy for the renowned team Juventus. Camila doesn't have time to be distracted by her feelings for him. Things aren't the same as when he left: she has her own passions and ambitions now, and La Furia cannot be denied. As her life becomes more complicated, Camila is forced to face her secrets and make her way in a world with no place for the dreams and ambition of a girl like her. Filled with authentic details and the textures of day-to-day life in Argentina, heart-soaring romance, and breathless action on the pitch, Furia is the story of a girl's journey to make her life her own.


*Prices subject to change without notice and listed in US dollars.
Perma-Bound bindings are unconditionally guaranteed (excludes textbook rebinding).
Paperbacks are not guaranteed.
Please Note: All Digital Material Sales Final.