Glitch
Glitch

List Price:

$28.76
School Discount
Price:

$20.13
Qty(25-99)
Discount Price:

$19.73
Qty(100-249)
Discount Price:

$19.53
Qty(250-499)
Discount Price:

$19.32
Qty(>500)
Discount Price:

$18.92
To purchase this item, you must first login or register for a new account.

Annotation: From the critically acclaimed author of Float comes a new whirlwind adventure about a pair of kids who must break all th... more
Catalog Number: #219725
Format: Perma-Bound Edition from Publisher's Hardcover
All Formats: Search
Publisher: HarperCollins
Copyright Date: 2020
Edition Date: 2020
Pages: 384
Availability: Available
New Title: Yes
ISBN: Publisher: 0-06-289435-8 Perma-Bound: 0-7804-8426-6
ISBN 13: Publisher: 978-0-06-289435-9 Perma-Bound: 978-0-7804-8426-9
Dewey: Fic
Language: English
Reviews:
ALA Booklist
In a future where time traveling is very real, the privilege is reserved for individuals born with a "Glitch" gene, who must also pass extensive training and testing at the exclusive Academy. When Regan, the Commander's daughter, and Elliot, an Academy urchin with no opportunity outside of his servitude, encounter a "Cocoon," a contraband time-travel letter sent from the future to warn them, they must overcome their feud in order to salvage everything d everyone ey treasure. Martin expertly weaves the story through both Regan's and Elliot's perspectives, capturing their innermost emotions, especially their motivations and fears, as together they overcome frightening simulators and actual time travel. From the Boston Tea Party to Pearl Harbor, their history-based missions and inevitable friendship , at least, cooperation ll appeal to fans of action-packed dystopian stories like the Hunger Games trilogy or Ransom Riggs' Miss Peregrine's Peculiar Children series. This is the "grown-up" version of the beloved Magic Tree House chapter books, and it doesn't disappoint in honoring that legacy.
Kirkus Reviews
Time-traveling archenemies must work together to save their school.In a world where some people are born with a gene that allows them to slide in and out of time—to Glitch—children with that DNA are educated at a special school run by the government. Interfering with the past is against the law, and anyone who travels back in time to manipulate history is labeled a Butterfly and arrested. Glitchers are trained to stop Butterflies, and Regan Fitz, whose mom is commander in chief of the U.S. branch of Glitch Academy, has great intuition when it comes to spotting people intent on altering the timeline. She is, however, at the bottom of her class because school is a struggle. Her nemesis is Elliot Mason, who is at the top of the class, but he lacks the gut instincts needed to be an excellent Glitcher. Character development takes a back seat to premise and plot here. Regan and Elliot fight constantly and are in the middle of an epic blowup when a Cocoon—an object planted by a Butterfly to effect a change—in Regan’s handwriting appears. The pair must work together to figure out its clues and succeed in their mission, all while avoiding detection and being arrested as Butterflies. The final time-travel sequences are many and dizzying, but the excellent pacing of the race to save the day overshadows this mechanics issue. Elliot appears black and Regan is white.A solid choice for readers who like history with their mystery. (Science fiction. 8-12)
School Library Journal Starred Review
Gr 46 Regan and Elliot have been trained since birth to be Glitcherstime travelers who protect the past from Butterflies, the criminals who meddle in history. Regan and Elliot can't stand each other, but when they find a note from a future Regan that instructs them to travel back in time to prevent a disaster, they become not only teammates, but Butterflies themselves. It's refreshing to see a book that so effortlessly combines history and science fiction, maintaining the energy of a sci-fi adventure and the complexity of historical fiction. The fast-paced plot features plucky, well-developed characters, and first-person narration switches between Regan and Elliot, which works due to each character's strong voice. Martin's rules of time travel are simple enough for younger readers to follow, and the historical settings are comprehensive and thorough. Characters' discussions about the events they travel through provide context for readers. VERDICT With its dynamic plot, engaging characters, and sci-fi/historical fiction blend, this title will pull in a huge variety of readers, all of whom will be racing to see how the story ends. Kristin Brynsvold, Tuckahoe Elem. Sch., Arlington, VA
Reviewing Agencies: - Find Other Reviewed Titles
School Library Journal Starred Review (6/1/20)
ALA Booklist
Kirkus Reviews
Reading Level: 3.0
Interest Level: 3-6

From the critically acclaimed author of Float comes a new whirlwind adventure about a pair of kids who must break all the rules of time travel, perfect for fans of Gordon Korman and John David Anderson. Regan Fitz and Elliot Mason have been enemies since they started training to become Glitchers--people who travel through time to preserve important historical events. But everything changes when they find a letter from Regan's future self, warning them about an impending disaster that threatens them and everyone they know. Will they be able to set aside their past in order to save the future? --School Library Journal (starred review)


*Prices subject to change without notice and listed in US dollars.
Perma-Bound bindings are unconditionally guaranteed (excludes textbook rebinding).
Paperbacks are not guaranteed.
Please Note: All Digital Material Sales Final.