Star Daughter
Star Daughter

List Price:

$29.97
School Discount
Price:

$20.98
Qty(25-99)
Discount Price:

$20.56
Qty(100-249)
Discount Price:

$20.35
Qty(250-499)
Discount Price:

$20.14
Qty(>500)
Discount Price:

$19.72
To purchase this item, you must first login or register for a new account.

Annotation: Synopsis coming soon.......
Catalog Number: #215125
Format: Perma-Bound Edition from Publisher's Hardcover
All Formats: Search
Special Formats: Hot Title Hot Title
Publisher: HarperCollins
Copyright Date: 2020
Edition Date: 2020
Pages: 448
Availability: Available
New Title: Yes
ISBN: Publisher: 0-06-289462-5 Perma-Bound: 0-7804-7987-4
ISBN 13: Publisher: 978-0-06-289462-5 Perma-Bound: 978-0-7804-7987-6
Dewey: Fic
Language: English
Reviews:
ALA Booklist
Thakrar's mesmerizing nod to Neil Gaiman's Stardust tells a different star story, that of 16-year-old half-star Sheetal as she follows the silver starsong of her estranged mother to Svargalok (a heavenly plane). But Sheetal's reason for ascending doesn't lie only in wanting to confront her mother; she needs the help of a full star to heal her mortal father, whom she put in the hospital with her undisciplined starfire. Sheetal's family will help, of course, there's just one caveat: she must win a celestial competition so her star family's Pushya nakshatra (lunar mansion) is secured as the ruling house of the heavens. No biggie. Thakrar's world building is nothing short of dazzling, alight with evocations so vivid the mind can't help but see a kaleidoscope of twinkling shapes and colors. Sheetal's unearthing of the star world slows down the pacing of the story, though her search for meaning and identity are universally admirable. The story reads much like a family saga, enlivened by rich Hindu mythology and cosmology, and should appeal to fans of Laini Taylor's lyrical writing.
Kirkus Reviews
When half-star/half-human Sheetal Mistry accidently injures her father, she needs to ascend to Svargalok, the abode of the stars, to find him a cure.Just shy of 17, Sheetal has brown skin like her human father, Gautam, and silver hair like her star mother, Charumati, but she has never truly known what it means to be a star. Her human, Gujarati family in New Jersey insists she hide her star heredity, as stars were once hunted by mortals for their silver blood, which has healing properties. As a result, Sheetal knows very little of her ancestry or what she is truly capable of. Following the accident that puts her father in the hospital, Sheetal and her best friend, Minal, go in search of Charumati for a drop of star’s blood to cure her father. Unfortunately for her, Nana and Nani—the Esteemed Patriarch and Matriarch of their constellation, Pushya, and Sheetal’s maternal grandparents—agree to save her father only if she wins a competition that will allow their family to rule over the other constellations. Loosely inspired by Neil Gaiman’s Stardust (1997) and Hindu mythology, Thakrar’s debut covers the lives of stars, an unnecessarily complicated romance, and a half-star’s journey toward self-discovery. Refreshingly, all the characters are Indian or of Indian origin. Despite the fascinating premise, however, several characters lack the luster and conviction which would have otherwise added much-needed depth and heart to the novel.Great worldbuilding but not entirely satisfying.  (Fantasy. 14-18)
School Library Journal
Gr 8 Up Sheetal, days shy of her 17th birthday, is the child of a star mother and a human father, with whom she lives in an Indian American community in New Jersey. When her starfire accidentally injures her beloved father and lands him in the hospital, Sheetal embarks on a celestial journey with her best friend Minal to search for a star's blood to heal him and to find her mother, who returned to the skies years before. Thrust into a competition to determine the ruling house of the stars' court, Sheetal must quickly learn the traditions of this new world and race to secure the healing blood in time to save her father. Her quest becomes more complicated when she encounters her sweetheart, Dev, in the heavens. Sheetal is a teen heroine drawn with grace and authenticity who will ring true with young adult readers. VERDICT Thakrar's lyrical prose and imaginative story transport readers to a world tucked away in the limitless sky, a place of shining golden palaces and starsong. Gillian D'Ambrosio, Rutgers Univ., NJ
Reviewing Agencies: - Find Other Reviewed Titles
Starred Review ALA Booklist
Kirkus Reviews
Reading Level: 5.0
Interest Level: 7-12

"Shveta Thakrar's prose is as beautiful as starlight."-- New York Times bestselling author Holly Black This gorgeously imagined YA debut blends shades of Neil Gaiman's Stardust and a breathtaking landscape of Hindu mythology into a radiant contemporary fantasy. The daughter of a star and a mortal, Sheetal is used to keeping secrets. Pretending to be "normal." But when an accidental flare of her starfire puts her human father in the hospital, Sheetal needs a full star's help to heal him. A star like her mother, who returned to the sky long ago. Sheetal's quest to save her father will take her to a celestial court of shining wonders and dark shadows, where she must take the stage as her family's champion in a competition to decide the next ruling house of the heavens--and win, or risk never returning to Earth at all. Brimming with celestial intrigue, this sparkling YA debut is perfect for fans of Roshani Chokshi and Laini Taylor. --Roshani Chokshi, New York Times bestselling author of The Star-Touched Queen and The Gilded Wolves


*Prices subject to change without notice and listed in US dollars.
Perma-Bound bindings are unconditionally guaranteed (excludes textbook rebinding).
Paperbacks are not guaranteed.
Please Note: All Digital Material Sales Final.