The Girl Who Speaks Bear
The Girl Who Speaks Bear

List Price:

$28.76
School Discount
Price:

$20.13
Qty(25-99)
Discount Price:

$19.73
Qty(100-249)
Discount Price:

$19.53
Qty(250-499)
Discount Price:

$19.32
Qty(>500)
Discount Price:

$18.92
To purchase this item, you must first login or register for a new account.

Annotation: Found abandoned in a bear cave as a baby, Yanka has always wondered about where she is from. She tries to ignore the strange whispers and looks from the villagers, wishing she was as strong on the inside as she is on the outside. But, when she has to flee her house, looking for answers about who she really is, a journey far beyond one that she ever imagined begins: from icy rivers to smouldering mountains meeting an ever-growing herd of extraordinary friends along the way.
Catalog Number: #214081
Format: Perma-Bound Edition from Publisher's Hardcover
All Formats: Search
Copyright Date: 2020
Edition Date: 2020
Pages: 286 pages
Availability: Available
ISBN: Publisher: 1-338-58083-3 Perma-Bound: 0-7804-7876-2
ISBN 13: Publisher: 978-1-338-58083-9 Perma-Bound: 978-0-7804-7876-3
Dewey: Fic
Dimensions: 21 cm.
Language: English
Reviews:
Publishers Weekly
Called Yanka the Bear due to her strength and height, 12-year-old Yanka feels othered by denizens of her forest-side village, more spectacle than girl. She lives with her foster mother, herbalist Mamochka, who found her outside a bear cave as a rosy-cheeked two-year-old and took her in, and she finds comfort in the
School Library Journal
Gr 46 Once upon a time on the very edge of the Snow Forest, a girl named Yanka yearned to know the truth about her past. Found as a baby in the cave of a great bear, she has lived most of her life in the home of her lovingly protective Mamochka and their inquisitive house weasel, Mousetrap, with the occasional visit from the storyteller Anatoly, who lives in the Snow Forest. When she falls during one of her village's festivals and awakens with the legs of a bear, Yanka knows that the time has come for her to head into the forest for answers. Accompanied by Mousetrap and a host of other friends she meets along the way, Yanka finds more than she bargained for, but she may have to lose just as much. This whimsical story is intricately woven with Russian folklore. The charming writing will instantly transport readers directly into the Snow Forest. Tackling themes of home, family, belonging, and the importance of storytelling, this is a great classroom or family read-aloud and book club choice. Pairing the text with Sophie Anderson's The House with Chicken Legs will add a layer of context and depth to the world and certain characters. VERDICT Hand this wonderfully crafted tale to fans of books like Kelly Barnhill's The Girl Who Drank the Moon, as well as lovers of myths and fairy tales. India Winslow, Cary Memorial Library, Lexington, MA
Starred Review ALA Booklist
*Starred Review* When 12-year-old Yanka, nicknamed "the Bear" for her size and strength, wakes up with actual bear legs, her initial reaction is panic, but after learning about the generational curse in her family, she becomes determined to learn more about her ancestry. Yanka knows she was adopted scovered in a bear's cave as a baby t other than a few shards of the story, her past is a mystery. She wants to know what secrets lie in the forbidden Snow Forest, aside from the cursed lime tree and the house with chicken legs that guides the dead. When the forest creatures beckon to her, Yanka ong with her sassy weasel sidekick, Mousetrap, and new friend Yuri the elk barks on a journey of self-discovery that soon turns into a layered quest to save everyone Yanka loves from a ferocious and unforgiving dragon. Along the way, Yanka is helped by a colorful cast of human and animal friends, and her adventures in the present are interwoven with folk stories from her childhood, which might contain more truth than tale. Readers who enjoyed Gregory Maguire's Egg and Spoon (2014), Rudyard Kipling's The Jungle Book, the Brothers Grimm, or Baba Yaga lore will revel in this new fairy tale that borrows from the old to make something new.
Word Count: 66,198
Reading Level: 5.2
Interest Level: 3-6
Accelerated Reader: reading level: 5.2 / points: 10.0 / quiz: 507304 / grade: Middle Grades

The newest heart-expanding, magical adventure from Sophie Anderson, author of the critically acclaimed House with Chicken Legs.

"They call me Yanka the Bear. Not because of where I was found. Only a few people know about that. They call me Yanka the Bear because I am so big and strong."Discovered in a bear cave as a baby, 12-year-old Yanka dreams of knowing who she really is. Although Yanka is happy at home with her loving foster mother, she feels out of place in the village where the other children mock her for her unusual size and strength.So when Yanka wakes up one morning to find her legs have become bear legs, she knows she has no choice but to leave her village. She has to find somewhere she truly belongs, so she ventures into the Snow Forest with her pet weasel, Mousetrap, in search of the truth about her past.But deep in the forest there are many dangers and Yanka discovers that even the most fantastic stories she grew up hearing are true. And just as she draws close to discovering who she really is, something terrifying happens that could trap her in the forest . . . forever.


*Prices subject to change without notice and listed in US dollars.
Perma-Bound bindings are unconditionally guaranteed (excludes textbook rebinding).
Paperbacks are not guaranteed.
Please Note: All Digital Material Sales Final.