The Storm Keeper's Island
The Storm Keeper's Island

List Price:

$19.06
School Discount
Price:

$13.34
Qty(25-99)
Discount Price:

$13.07
Qty(100-249)
Discount Price:

$12.94
Qty(250-499)
Discount Price:

$12.81
Qty(>500)
Discount Price:

$12.54

Series: Storm Keeper's Island Vol. 1   

To purchase this item, you must first login or register for a new account.

Annotation: Fionn Boyle, terrified of the sea, must spend the summer with this older sister, Tara, and their grandfather on Arranmore, an island that has been known to make people disappear, and seems to be restless again.
Catalog Number: #205912
Format: Perma-Bound Edition
All Formats: Search
Publisher: Bloomsbury
Copyright Date: 2020
Edition Date: 2020
Pages: 308 pages
Availability: Available
New Title: Yes
ISBN: Publisher: 1-547-60253-8 Perma-Bound: 0-7804-7190-3
ISBN 13: Publisher: 978-1-547-60253-7 Perma-Bound: 978-0-7804-7190-0
Dewey: Fic
LCCN: 2018024284
Dimensions: 21 cm.
Language: English
Reviews:
Kirkus Reviews
Eleven-year-old Fionn and his 13-year-old sister, Tara, visit an island off the west coast of Ireland that's rich in history, wonder, and danger. From the moment Fionn steps onto the shores of Arranmore, he can feel the island's power. Smoke billows from a fireless hearth. The sea rages and then calms in an instant, and his grandfather captures the island's storms in the candles he fashions. Tara throws herself into a quest to find the Sea Cave, a secret place of power reputed to grant one wish per generation. Fionn would use the wish to find his father, lost at sea, and save his mother from her depression, but he fears Tara would throw her wish away on her crush on Bartley, a boy with perfect hair and a dark heart. Fionn uses the oldest candle, exposing him to the island's most dangerous secrets and forcing him to fight for those he loves. Deep magic and an epic battle between good and evil swirl around two very ordinary siblings. If they can master their jealousy and rivalry, they may be able to save not only the island, but their own family. Irish legends collide with modern times in a fast-paced, magical tale about the ordinary becoming extraordinary. Diversity is limited to the magical variety.A distinctive fantasy with depth, humor, and heart. (Fantasy. 8-12)
School Library Journal Starred Review
Gr 47 The moment 11-year-old Fionn Boyle and his sister Tara set foot on Arranmore Island, he senses something unusual: every part of this island off the coast of Dublin calls to him as if it has been waiting for him to return. Fionn soon discovers there's a dark force buried deep on Arranmore that has also been lying in wait. It may be his destiny to confront this evil as the next Storm Keeper, the Island's magical protector. Though Fionn is riddled with self-doubt, his character is a fresh, contemporary take on the "underdog finding his special purpose" trope. His snarky sparring with Tara and her snobby crush on Bartley reveals wit and strength Fionn doesn't recognize in himself and his courage convincingly grows over the course of the novel. Guiding him toward his future is the siblings' adventurous grandfather Malachy, Arranmore's current Storm Keeper. His wisdom and patient advice underscore the novel's themes of remembrance, history, and family. Inspired by her grandparents' life on the real Arranmore Island, Doyle infuses every aspect of the novel with the richness of Irish folklore and culture: readers will be captivated by descriptions of the Island's beauty and magical history. The perilous climax doesn't resolve all plot threads, but enough questions are answered to provide an emotionally satisfying conclusion while teasing the battle ahead for the lovable crew. VERDICT A first purchase, modern yet timeless fantasy with plenty of heart and a Celtic twist. Marybeth Kozikowski, Sachem Public Library, Holbrook, NY
Starred Review ALA Booklist
*Starred Review* Eleven-year-old Fionn Boyle knows that "places can be just as important as people . . . they can have the same power over you if you let them." Fionn and his sister are spending the summer with their grandfather, Malachy Boyle, on Arranmore Island, off the coast of Ireland. Nestled among the unpredictable wildflowers is Fionn's ancestral home, a rickety cottage stuffed with eclectic candles. As Fionn quickly learns, Arranmore holds secrets. Every generation, a Storm Keeper is chosen and imbued with the magic of the sea. They wield power over the elements and record moments in time in the form of candles. Malachy's time as Arranmore's Storm Keeper is ending, and another family on the island is vying for the position. The possibility of reigniting a centuries-long war between forces of good and evil is also at stake for those who would be the next Storm Keeper. Doyle's prose explodes with lyrical language as she deftly explores themes of loss, guilt, and how memory weighs on one's soul. Malachy's struggles with dementia feel entirely relatable to those with family members also struggling with the condition, and are inextricably woven into the fantasy narrative. Doyle proves with this exquisite debut that she is a middle-grade fiction author to watch, and readers can look forward to the continuing adventures of the Storm Keeper.
Word Count: 59,624
Reading Level: 5.5
Interest Level: 3-6
Accelerated Reader: reading level: 5.5 / points: 9.0 / quiz: 500953 / grade: Middle Grades

"Magical in every way." - Eoin Colfer, author of Artemis Fowl "Fans of Harry Potter or Percy Jackson can add Fionn Boyle as a generous and brave hero from the Emerald Isle." - School Library Connection Fionn Boyle comes from a long line of brave seafarers, people with the ocean behind their eyes. But he can't help but fear the open sea. For years, Fionn's mother has told him stories of Arranmore Island, a strange place that seems to haunt her. Fionn has always wondered about this mysterious island, and from the day he arrives he starts noticing things that can't be explained. He can sense the island all around him, and it feels like the island is watching him, too. Once in a generation, Arranmore Island chooses a new Storm Keeper to wield its power and keep its magic safe from enemies. The time has come for his grandfather, a secretive and eccentric old man, to step down. But as Fionn and the other descendants of Arranmore's most powerful families fight to become the island's next champion, a more sinister magic is waking up, intent on rekindling a long-ago war and changing Fionn's life and the island's future forever.


*Prices subject to change without notice and listed in US dollars.
Perma-Bound bindings are unconditionally guaranteed (excludes textbook rebinding).
Paperbacks are not guaranteed.
Please Note: All Digital Material Sales Final.