Catherine's War
Catherine's War

List Price:

$25.34
School Discount
Price:

$17.74
Qty(25-99)
Discount Price:

$17.39
Qty(100-249)
Discount Price:

$17.21
Qty(250-499)
Discount Price:

$17.03
Qty(>500)
Discount Price:

$16.68
To purchase this item, you must first login or register for a new account.

Catalog Number: #203437
Format: Perma-Bound Edition
All Formats: Search
Special Formats: Graphic Novel Graphic Novel Hot Title Hot Title
Publisher: HarperCollins
Copyright Date: 2020
Edition Date: 2020
Pages: 176
Availability: Available
New Title: Yes
ISBN: Publisher: 0-06-291559-2 Perma-Bound: 0-7804-7041-9
ISBN 13: Publisher: 978-0-06-291559-7 Perma-Bound: 978-0-7804-7041-5
Dewey: Fic
Language: English
Reviews:
Publishers Weekly
Billet-s emotive historical graphic novel portrays a Jewish girl forced to hide her identity during the Nazi occupation of France. When Rachel Cohen-s school outside Paris becomes unsafe, the aspiring photographer changes her name to Catherine Colin and forsakes any expression of her Jewish identity. Before being whisked away by the French resistance, Catherine-s teacher asks her to take pictures of the war (-We-ll need these testimonies-). After, she lives an itinerant life, traveling from a Catholic boarding school in Saint-Eustache to a peasant farm near Limoges and later to an orphanage in the Pyrenees. Though fear and trauma haunt the country, Catherine encounters the selflessness and sacrifice of strangers, becoming a selfless and generous young woman in the process. Fauvel-s earth-toned illustrations
School Library Journal
Gr 7 Up Billet has crafted a pictorial paean to the everyday heroes of Vichy France, as seen through the eyesand camera lensof a Jewish teen. Rachel Cohen's story begins in 1942 at the Sèvres Children's Home outside Paris, where students separated from their parents direct their own education. As Nazi deportations increase, the school's Jewish residents must flee. Rachel assumes a new identityCatherine Colinand hides in plain sight. Aided by those she meets on her journey, "Catherine" travels from Sèvres to a monastery in Riom, a family farm in Limoges, an orphanage in the Pyrenees, and a second small farm before finally returning to a liberated Paris in the hope of reuniting with her parents. Along the way, her beloved Rolleiflex camera documents her story one snapshot at a time. Adapted from a novel based on Billet's mother's wartime experiences, this tale vividly renders a period that might seem removed to younger readers. Almost every panelespecially those inspired by real photographscould stand alone as a work of art. From the subtle motion lines and detailed facial expressions to intricately composed scenes and dramatic backdrops, Fauvel's ink and watercolor illustrations are masterly. This brief book will leave readers wishing they could spend more time among the torrent of settings and characters. VERDICT A remarkable tribute to the generosity, compassion, and courage of ordinary people who endanger themselves to do right, as well as those who capture glimpses of light in the darkness.Steven Thompson, Sadie Pope Dowdell Library, South Amboy, NJ
Reviewing Agencies: - Find Other Reviewed Titles
Kirkus Reviews
Publishers Weekly
School Library Journal (12/1/19)
Reading Level: 3.0
Interest Level: 4-7

"A shining story of a young girl who struggles to come of age and find her place in a world fraught with danger." --Susan Campbell Bartoletti, Newbery Honor-winning author of Hitler Youth * Winner of the Youth Prize at the Angoulême International Comics Festival (voted by readers) * Winner of the Artémisia Prize for Historical Fiction * Winner of the Andersen Premio Prize * A magnificent narrative inspired by a true survival story that asks universal questions about a young girl's coming of age story, her identity, her passions, and her first loves. At the Sèvres Children's Home outside Paris, Rachel Cohen has discovered her passion--photography. Although she hasn't heard from her parents in months, she loves the people at her school, adores capturing what she sees in pictures, and tries not to worry too much about Hitler's war. But as France buckles under the Nazi regime, danger closes in, and Rachel must change her name and go into hiding. As Catherine Colin, Rachel Cohen is faced with leaving the Sèvres Home--and the friends she made there--behind. But with her beautiful camera, Catherine possesses an object with the power to remember. For the rest of the war, Catherine bears witness to her own journey, and to the countless heroes whose courage and generosity saved the lives of many, including her own. Based on the author's mother's own experiences as a hidden child in France during World War II, Catherine's War is one of the most accessible historical graphic novels featuring a powerful girl since Persepolis by Marjane Satrapi--perfect for fans of Markus Zusak's The Book Thief, Anne Frank, or Helen Keller. Includes a map and photographs of the real Catherine and her wartime experiences, as well as an interview with author Julia Billet. "Many of the settings are beautifully detailed, and the characters undeniably expressive. Catherine's ability to find beauty in the world makes for a forward-looking read." --Booklist (starred review) "This story will make readers want to join the Resistance. Characters are drawn so vividly that, long afterward, readers will remember their names." --Kirkus An Indie Next List Pick! A Junior Library Guild selection


*Prices subject to change without notice and listed in US dollars.
Perma-Bound bindings are unconditionally guaranteed (excludes textbook rebinding).
Paperbacks are not guaranteed.
Please Note: All Digital Material Sales Final.