Right as Rain
Right as Rain

List Price:

$19.06
School Discount
Price:

$13.34
Qty(25-99)
Discount Price:

$13.07
Qty(100-249)
Discount Price:

$12.94
Qty(250-499)
Discount Price:

$12.81
Qty(>500)
Discount Price:

$12.54
To purchase this item, you must first login or register for a new account.

Annotation: A Kirkus Best Book of 2019! From the critically acclaimed author of Just Like Jackie comes a strikingly tender novel abo... more
Catalog Number: #203423
Format: Perma-Bound Edition
All Formats: Search
Publisher: HarperCollins
Copyright Date: 2020
Edition Date: 2020
Pages: 320
Availability: Pre-Order Now (Available: 04/07/20)
New Title: Yes
ISBN: Publisher: 0-06-265295-8 Perma-Bound: 0-7804-7038-9
ISBN 13: Publisher: 978-0-06-265295-9 Perma-Bound: 978-0-7804-7038-5
Dewey: Fic
Language: English
Reviews:
ALA Booklist
It has been almost a year since that night, and Rain's family needs a new start in a totally new town. Rain's new neighbor and classmate, Frankie, is chilly at first, until Rain realizes she's taken the place of Frankie's best friend, Reggie, in her home, her classroom desk, and even her place on the track team. However, Frankie respects Rain as a runner and introduces her to Ms. Dacie, who runs a makeshift teen center. When she learns Ms. Dacie's funding has been cut, she puts all her efforts into a fund-raising project in hopes of ignoring the sorry state of her homelife: her mother pretends everything is OK, while her father can barely get out of bed, and Rain is weighed down by the fact that she's been keeping a secret since that night e night her brother died. Stoddard has written a beautiful story about a resilient girl many readers will be able to relate to, and she gently hits on tough topics, such as death and divorce, in a tender and truthful manner.
Kirkus Reviews
Rain, 11, knows that only a quarter of marriages survive a child's death; she's determined to make her parents "one out of four."The family members mourn separately. Rain's burdened by guilt over the loss of her teenage brother, Guthrie; her dad's withdrawn, angry, and depressed; her mom, briskly efficient, has forced a fresh start, finding a job in New York, where Rain must finish sixth grade 288 miles away from her old school in Vermont. Rain misses her best friend and the track team. Their new apartment is tiny; Frankie, the Dominican super's daughter, is unfriendly; the urban density's overwhelming. Her family is white and doesn't speak Spanish, and their new neighborhood is a Latinx one. The only place Rain spots other light-skinned people is at the trendy cafe where they sip espresso. Through community-service projects, a school requirement, Rain slowly finds her footing. The track coach recruits her to run the 100-meter relay with Frankie, Amelia, and Ana for a city meet—that's scheduled on the anniversary of Guthrie's death. Realistic explorations of how grief divides a struggling family and gentrification erodes a community are balanced by the love and friendship among these diverse characters. Rain likes to count things and loathes dresses. Like Frankie and her friend who's moved away, Rain might be gender nonconforming. Amelia stutters; Nestor might be homeless; Casey dislikes being touched. Each is seen whole.Timely, well-integrated themes, a vibrant setting, and well-drawn, likable characters—the diversity's unlabeled, but it's there—make this a winner. (Fiction. 8-12)
Starred Review for Kirkus Reviews
Rain, 11, knows that only a quarter of marriages survive a child's death; she's determined to make her parents "one out of four."The family members mourn separately. Rain's burdened by guilt over the loss of her teenage brother, Guthrie; her dad's withdrawn, angry, and depressed; her mom, briskly efficient, has forced a fresh start, finding a job in New York, where Rain must finish sixth grade 288 miles away from her old school in Vermont. Rain misses her best friend and the track team. Their new apartment is tiny; Frankie, the Dominican super's daughter, is unfriendly; the urban density's overwhelming. Her family is white and doesn't speak Spanish, and their new neighborhood is a Latinx one. The only place Rain spots other light-skinned people is at the trendy cafe where they sip espresso. Through community-service projects, a school requirement, Rain slowly finds her footing. The track coach recruits her to run the 100-meter relay with Frankie, Amelia, and Ana for a city meet—that's scheduled on the anniversary of Guthrie's death. Realistic explorations of how grief divides a struggling family and gentrification erodes a community are balanced by the love and friendship among these diverse characters. Rain likes to count things and loathes dresses. Like Frankie and her friend who's moved away, Rain might be gender nonconforming. Amelia stutters; Nestor might be homeless; Casey dislikes being touched. Each is seen whole.Timely, well-integrated themes, a vibrant setting, and well-drawn, likable characters—the diversity's unlabeled, but it's there—make this a winner. (Fiction. 8-12)
Reading Level: 5.6
Interest Level: 3-6

A Kirkus Best Book of 2019! From the critically acclaimed author of Just Like Jackie comes a strikingly tender novel about one family's heartbreak and the compassion that carries them through, perfect for fans of Sara Pennypacker, Lisa Graff, and Ann M. Martin. It's been almost a year since Rain's brother Guthrie died, and her parents still don't know it was all Rain's fault. In fact, no one does--Rain buried her secret deep, no matter how heavy it weighs on her heart. So when her mom suggests moving the family from Vermont to New York City, Rain agrees. But life in the big city is different. She's never seen so many people in one place--or felt more like an outsider. With her parents fighting more than ever and the anniversary of Guthrie's death approaching, Rain is determined to keep her big secret close to her heart. But even she knows that when you bury things deep, they grow up twice as tall. Readers will fall in love with the pluck and warmth of Stoddard's latest heroine and the strength that even a small heart can lend.


*Prices subject to change without notice and listed in US dollars.
Perma-Bound bindings are unconditionally guaranteed (excludes textbook rebinding).
Paperbacks are not guaranteed.
Please Note: All Digital Material Sales Final.