Power Up
Power Up

List Price:

$29.56
School Discount
Price:

$20.69
Qty(25-99)
Discount Price:

$20.28
Qty(100-249)
Discount Price:

$20.07
Qty(250-499)
Discount Price:

$19.86
Qty(>500)
Discount Price:

$19.45
To purchase this item, you must first login or register for a new account.

Annotation: An exploration of the relationship between the human body and all the energy that it takes to make it go.
Genre: Health
Catalog Number: #173167
Format: Perma-Bound Edition from Publisher's Hardcover
All Formats: Search
Publisher: HarperCollins
Copyright Date: 2019
Edition Date: 2019
Illustrator: Greenberg, Isabel,
Pages: 40
Availability: Available
ISBN: Publisher: 0-06-245579-6 Perma-Bound: 0-7804-3569-9
ISBN 13: Publisher: 978-0-06-245579-6 Perma-Bound: 978-0-7804-3569-8
Dewey: 612
LCCN: 2018015694
Dimensions: 26 cm.
Language: English
Reviews:
ALA Booklist
The creative team behind A Hundred Billion Trillion Stars (2017) turns from astronomical bodies to the human body. Rather than concentrate on anatomy, this informational picture book focuses on energy in the body. Still keeping a star theme, it states, "You are a walking, breathing, laughing, singing SHINING STAR." The narrative follows an African American girl through exuberant, dreamlike scenes in her home, school, community, and beyond as it explains how human bodies use and require energy. While a double-page spread offers bone and muscle facts, the text becomes motivational, encouraging readers to refuel their growing and expanding minds. Through rest, exercise, eating well, making friends, reading books, and questioning the world, we give our bodies and minds the energy they need. Returning to stars, the final illustration shows the girl in the glow of a large sun, with a reminder that both "light up the world." A concluding author's note explains the concept of energy in more detail. An inspirational companion to traditional health books and mindfulness activities.
Kirkus Reviews
Math and science enthusiasts, this one's for you!Fishman and Greenberg, the author and illustrator team of A Hundred Billion Trillion Stars (2017), take readers on a journey through the amazing human body, noting that a pinkie finger "has enough energy to light up one of the biggest cities in the world for an entire day." This informational book explains how the body produces, expends, and recharges energy through such activities as eating, sleeping, and exercising. The author's note at the end focuses not on what the characters have been doing throughout the book but on Einstein's equation E=mc2. In child-friendly language, the note explains what an equation is, how Einstein used this one to solve tough problems, and how all of this relates to the body's energy. While this book could effectively be used in school lessons about energy, kids likely study Einstein's equation much later in school than this book's target audience. Greenberg's multicultural cast of characters models different aspects of the body's use of energy, the primary character being a black girl with her hair in two puffballs. While most of the characters have strangely angular features, the stark color contrasts and interesting facts will keep readers engaged. Parents and kids alike will appreciate the book's exhortation to stay curious.A fresh, scientific look at one aspect of the incredible human body. (Informational picture book. 4-8)
School Library Journal
Gr 13 Fishman begins this work with an unbelievable but true statement about how there is enough energy in a person's pinkie finger to power a large city for an entire day. From there the text segues into an exploration of energy, from the stamina it takes to read a book to running, and how our bodies recharge through eating, sleeping, and exercise. At the end of the book, there is an author's note that explains how Einstein's famous equation can be used to find exactly how much energy is inside a pinkie finger. Complete with colorful digital illustrations that highlight the learning points throughout the book, this is a great introduction to human physiology that affirms just how special our bodies are. The author manages to get across the basics without bogging down the text with too much technical language, making it accessible to younger readers interested in science. VERDICT A solid, upbeat addition to nonfiction shelves. Jayna Ramsey, Douglas County Libraries in Parker, CO
Reviewing Agencies: - Find Other Reviewed Titles
ALA Booklist (12/1/18)
Horn Book
Kirkus Reviews
School Library Journal (11/1/18)
Reading Level: 2.0
Interest Level: P-2

The companion to the popular and award-winning A Hundred Billion Trillion Stars.

This captivating and educational picture book from Seth Fishman and Isabel Greenberg introduces young readers to basic facts about energy and the human body. Fun, informative and accessible, Power Up is perfect for classroom and family sharing. A great title to read along with Andrea Beaty’s Ada Twist, Scientist and Oliver Jeffers’s Here We Are.

Did you know there is enough energy in your pinkie finger to power an entire city? And that everything you do—running, jumping, playing, and exploring—uses that same energy inside of you?

In the companion to the acclaimed A Hundred Billion Trillion Stars, Seth Fishman and Isabel Greenberg explore the relationship between energy and the human body, breaking down complicated concepts into small, child-friendly segments. Seth Fishman’s playful text explores the science behind the most energetic kids, while Isabel Greenberg’s vibrant illustrations offer plenty for children to explore in multiple readings.

Ideal for curious kids and classroom learning, this engaging book is for fans of Elin Kelsey’s You Are Stardust and John Scieszka’s Science Verse.


*Prices subject to change without notice and listed in US dollars.
Perma-Bound bindings are unconditionally guaranteed (excludes textbook rebinding).
Paperbacks are not guaranteed.
Please Note: All Digital Material Sales Final.