Potato Pants!
Potato Pants!

List Price:

$29.56
School Discount
Price:

$20.69
Qty(25-99)
Discount Price:

$20.28
Qty(100-249)
Discount Price:

$20.07
Qty(250-499)
Discount Price:

$19.86
Qty(>500)
Discount Price:

$19.45
To purchase this item, you must first login or register for a new account.

Annotation: In this one-of-a-kind story about forgiveness and making amends, Potato must make peace in the name of fashion when he encounters his arch-rival, Eggplant, at the local Fancy Pants store.
Catalog Number: #171091
Format: Perma-Bound Edition from Publisher's Hardcover
All Formats: Search
Publisher: Henry Holt & Co.
Copyright Date: 2018
Edition Date: 2018
Pages: 40
Availability: Available
ISBN: Publisher: 1-250-10723-7 Perma-Bound: 0-7804-3136-7
ISBN 13: Publisher: 978-1-250-10723-7 Perma-Bound: 978-0-7804-3136-2
Dewey: E
LCCN: 2018004254
Dimensions: 30 cm.
Subject Heading:
Language: English
Reviews:
Horn Book
Potato is agog: a shop is selling Potato Pants! Unfortunately, Potato is too intimidated to enter, because the eggplant that shoved him yesterday is inside. Can Potato make peace with his nemesis before the pants are sold out? This book is like a daffy-touching episode of SpongeBob SquarePants, although the layouts--combining speech balloons, regular text, and collage art--could have used some mellowing.
Kirkus Reviews
Nightshades clash more than just their personalities in this high-energy picture book.A potato is very excited about getting a pair of potato pants. He rushes to Lance Vance's Fancy Pants store, along with a horde of other tubers, googly eyes, smiles, and teeth drawn haphazardly onto collaged-in photographs and drawings. But one giant eggplant is also in the pants store, trying on a loud yellow garment patterned with pineapples. At first the potato argues that "Eggplants don't even wear pants!" (perhaps that would be too ridiculous). It turns out that "Yesterday was Eggplant Pants Day," but the potato is still suspicious; "Yesterday," he says, "I was walking along, minding my own potato-y business…when he ran by and PUSHED ME right into a trash can!" Not wanting to patronize the same establishment, the potato lurks outside the store, even calling a grocery store in the hopes they might sell tater togs (or even a pair of "cucumber cords"), to no avail. Finally he bursts into the store, sending the eggplant flying, only to find that another root has snatched up the last pair of pants. Two apologies and one pair of display pants later, the conflict is all patched up, and the two friends dance the Robot. Zany and meandering, this story will make kids laugh despite the uneven pacing and maybe even model the art of apology.A high-energy read with plenty of kid appeal. (Picture book. 3-6)
Publishers Weekly
In this offbeat picture book, the clothes make the... tuber? That-s how Potato sees things, barely containing his excitement, even doing the Robot (well, -PO-bot-) before rushing down to the one-day Potato Pants sale at Lance Vance-s Fancy Pants Store. (-I want a stripey pair just like the ones in the window, with stripey suspenders for added stripey-ness!-) But his enthusiasm quickly deflates when he sees Eggplant, who knocked him down the day before. Potato-s resulting anxiety over entering the store unfolds over spot illustrations that show emotive, newly trousered -taters and Potato attempting to take his business elsewhere in comic talk bubbles containing amusing asides. Just when all hope of scoring a pair of pants seems lost, Eggplant and Potato clear up their misunderstandings, and Potato becomes a dud-less spud no longer. The story by Keller (We Are Growing!), buoyed by her kinetic mixed-media compositions (including potato stamps), blends humor and a theme of forgiveness. Final pages pay tribute to designer Tubérto and his Potato Pants collection. Ages 4-8. Agent: Steven Malk, Writers House. (Oct.)
Reviewing Agencies: - Find Other Reviewed Titles
Starred Review ALA Booklist
Kirkus Reviews
Publishers Weekly
Word Count: 834
Reading Level: 3.1
Interest Level: P-2
Accelerated Reader: reading level: 3.1 / points: 0.5 / quiz: 197317 / grade: Lower Grades
Lexile: AD530L

Potato is excited. He's excited because today--for one day only--Lance Vance's Fancy Pants store is selling POTATO PANTS! Potato rushes over early, and just as he's about to walk in, who does he see inside? Mean, pushy eggplant who was rude to him the other day. Now potato is in a pickle. Can he stand up to eggplant in order to get his new stripey pants? Can these vegetable rivals make peace in the name of fashion? Find out in this one-of-a-kind story about forgiveness and making amends by the one-of-a-kind picture book creator Laurie Keller. For fans of Peter Brown, Lane Smith, Bob Shea, and Marla Frazee.A Christy Ottaviano Book


*Prices subject to change without notice and listed in US dollars.
Perma-Bound bindings are unconditionally guaranteed (excludes textbook rebinding).
Paperbacks are not guaranteed.
Please Note: All Digital Material Sales Final.