Game Changer
Game Changer

List Price:

$28.57
School Discount
Price:

$20.00
Qty(25-99)
Discount Price:

$19.60
Qty(100-249)
Discount Price:

$19.40
Qty(250-499)
Discount Price:

$19.20
Qty(>500)
Discount Price:

$18.80
To purchase this item, you must first login or register for a new account.

Annotation: While thirteen-year-old Teddy fights for his life after a football injury at training camp, his friends and family gather to support him and discuss events leading to his coma. Told through dialogue, text messages, newspaper articles, transcripts, an online forum, and Teddy's inner thoughts.
Catalog Number: #169491
Format: Perma-Bound Edition from Publisher's Hardcover
All Formats: Search
Copyright Date: 2018
Edition Date: 2018
Pages: ix, 287 pages
Availability: Available
ISBN: Publisher: 1-419-73143-2 Perma-Bound: 0-7804-2785-8
ISBN 13: Publisher: 978-1-419-73143-3 Perma-Bound: 978-0-7804-2785-3
Dewey: Fic
LCCN: 2017055217
Dimensions: 22 cm.
Language: English
Reviews:
ALA Booklist
Freshman football player Teddy Youngblood, 13, is seriously injured during a practice session before the upcoming football season. Teddy's family, friends, and neighbors are distraught about it may be Teddy's favorite sport, but it just put him into a coma. Soon, rumors begin circulating around town that Teddy's accident was not an accident; rather, there is something suspicious afoot. Worried, Teddy's family and friends clamor to find the truth behind the accident. Greenwald's latest takes a fresh approach, telling the story through multiple characters and an almost free-verse style that combines inner thoughts, texts, social media feeds, newspaper articles, interview transcripts, and dialogue. Example: "Can you squeeze my hand? / Oh man / Oh man that's perfect / Great job, Ted / Look at that." The format presents no barrier for readers, who will rapidly adapt. Reminiscent of Mike Lupica's Lone Stars (2017), Greenwald's novel entertains while exposing readers to the potential risks and consequences inherent in the sport of football. Overall, a strong entry into Greenwald's bibliography and an interesting, innovative read.
Horn Book
As thirteen-year-old football player Teddy Youngblood lies in a coma following an injury (supposedly) sustained at training camp, his family, friends, and fellow athletes try to determine exactly what happened. Bedside conversations, texts, hospital reports, interviews, and Teddy's interior thoughts slowly unveil the truth behind Teddy's injury. Multiple voices are effectively employed in this thought-provoking look at peer pressure, hazing, and off-field sports violence.
Kirkus Reviews
A young athlete lies in a coma while his family and community try to determine the cause of his injury.Thirteen-year-old Teddy Youngblood collapsed following an intense football practice. At first, the focus is on his injury and the concerns of his family and friends for his recovery. Counselors are brought in to help them with the trauma. The coach's daughter, Camille, makes a social media page to encourage positive thoughts, but some of the posters hint that something other than a tough hit at practice caused his injury. The doctors encourage family and friends to talk to Teddy, and readers learn much through these comments. Teddy's family is at odds. His mother, who lives apart, did not want her son to play football, while his dad supported his sports involvement. Also interspersed are Teddy's thoughts as he lies in the hospital: "This is what life is / Life is football / Football is life." This nontraditional narrative, using conversations, interview transcripts, text messages, hospital reports, and other documents, skillfully peels back the elements of the mystery. The issues of football's violence are presented, but the book's real strength is the depiction of the culture behind it. There are few descriptions to indicate the ethnic makeup of the characters (Teddy's eyes are described as blue), implying the white default. The story will resonate with those on both sides of the debate about the role of youth football in society, and the unusual storytelling technique sets it apart from most sport fiction. (Fiction. 10-14)
School Library Journal
Gr 58 Thirteen-year-old Teddy Youngblood is in a coma after a severe football practice injury. But it soon becomes clear that it may not have been an accident; sinister motives may have been at play. Teddy's parents, who are at odds with each other, come together to deal with the tragic event. Greenwald dives right into the serious issues surrounding the dangers of football and hazing. The complexity of the story also plays out in the format: Greenwald uses text messages, one-sided conversations, transcripts, various reports, and Teddy's own thoughts to unfold the layers of story in this documentary style sports mystery. VERDICT A must-buy for libraries looking for innovative narratives for sports fans. Readers who enjoy Tim Green, Mike Lupica, and Kwame Alexander will want to pick this up. Amy Lukich, Tinley Park Public Library, IL
Word Count: 28,162
Reading Level: 5.4
Interest Level: 5-9
Accelerated Reader: reading level: 5.4 / points: 4.0 / quiz: 196884 / grade: Middle Grades
Reading Counts!: reading level:4.6 / points:4.0 / quiz:Q75641
Lexile: 750L

An Amazon Best Book of the Month Thirteen-year-old Teddy Youngblood is in a coma fighting for his life after an unspecified football injury at training camp. His family and friends flock to his bedside to support his recovery--and to discuss the events leading up to the tragic accident. Was this an inevitable result of playing a violent sport, or was something more sinister happening on the field that day? Told in an innovative, multimedia format combining dialogue, texts, newspaper articles, transcripts, an online forum, and Teddy's inner thoughts, Game Changer explores the joyous thrills and terrifying risks of America's most popular sport.


*Prices subject to change without notice and listed in US dollars.
Perma-Bound bindings are unconditionally guaranteed (excludes textbook rebinding).
Paperbacks are not guaranteed.
Please Note: All Digital Material Sales Final.