The Dragon with a Chocolate Heart
The Dragon with a Chocolate Heart

List Price:

$19.56
School Discount
Price:

$13.69
Qty(25-99)
Discount Price:

$13.42
Qty(100-249)
Discount Price:

$13.28
Qty(250-499)
Discount Price:

$13.14
Qty(>500)
Discount Price:

$12.87
To purchase this item, you must first login or register for a new account.

Annotation: After drinking enchanted hot chocolate, a brave young dragon is transformed into a twelve-year-old human girl with a passion for chocolate.
Catalog Number: #163767
Format: Perma-Bound Edition
All Formats: Search
Publisher: Bloomsbury
Copyright Date: 2017
Edition Date: 2017
Pages: 247 pages
Availability: Special Order Only - Contact Customer Service at +1 800 637-6581 or +1 217 243-5451
ISBN: Publisher: 1-681-19343-4 Perma-Bound: 0-7804-1624-4
ISBN 13: Publisher: 978-1-681-19343-4 Perma-Bound: 978-0-7804-1624-6
Dewey: Fic
LCCN: 2016037694
Dimensions: 21 cm.
Language: English
Reviews:
ALA Booklist
Restless in her family's cavern and tired of disappointing the mother who urges her to follow her passion, whatever that might be, a young dragon named Aventurine runs away. She hasn't traveled far when a mage gives her a cup of hot chocolate that turns her into a human girl, an appalling turn of events. Still, she suddenly realizes her true passion: chocolate. She takes a position as a chocolatier's apprentice in nearby Drachenburg, but when the dragons take to the skies, and the king's ministers advise war against them, only Aventurine can save the townsfolk from her family's fiery wrath. Burgis creates a feisty protagonist with a temper that suits her dragon heritage, moderated only slightly by her desire to fit into human society. Actually, almost all of the female characters are strong and independent, though some are decidedly more sympathetic than others. Most of all, readers will be rooting for Aventurine throughout this well-paced, colorful narrative. An appealing chapter book for young fantasy fans.
Horn Book
Aventurine is a young dragon with a brave--and impulsive--spirit. She escapes her suffocating family cave only to drink magic hot chocolate that turns her human. As a girl, Aventurine finds her true passion apprenticing for a chocolatier. The sensory elements of this unique fantasy are well realized, from what it feels like to develop human muscles to the lush richness of hot chocolate.
Starred Review for Kirkus Reviews
Aventurine is tired of being treated like a baby hatchling.The young dragon dreams of exploring the world, but her mother wants her safe at home reading books and finding her passion. When Aventurine flies away from the mountain to prove she's fierce enough to take care of herself, she picks up a tantalizingly sweet scent that leads her to the source of the wonderful smell: chocolate. There's a human, too, whom Aventurine plans to eat. He gives her a cup of hot melty chocolate, and Aventurine's life changes with one enchanted sip. The bad news: Aventurine is now a vulnerable 12-year-old human girl. The good news: she's found her passion—chocolate, of course—and she's going to apprentice herself to a chocolatier. With the help of Silke, a black girl in men's clothing, the unstoppable Aventurine, who still sees the world as a dragon does, finds her way to the Chocolate Heart and its proprietor, the golden-skinned Marina, a hot-tempered, uncompromising master chocolatier. As apprentice, Aventurine is launched on a new course, one on which she finds the strength to align her dragon and human selves while making chocolate that just might save the kingdom from some fiery enemies. Aventurine's human self is apparently white, but the cast of secondary characters is diverse: Marina's business partner is a black man, and the pink-skinned king has two brown-skinned daughters. A gloriously fresh story to be read with a steaming cup of chocolate at hand. (Fantasy. 8-14)
Reviewing Agencies: - Find Other Reviewed Titles
Starred Review for Kirkus Reviews
ALA Booklist (Thu Nov 01 00:00:00 CDT 2018)
Horn Book
Kirkus Reviews
School Library Journal
Wilson's Children's Catalog
Word Count: 59,005
Reading Level: 5.8
Interest Level: 4-7
Accelerated Reader: reading level: 5.8 / points: 9.0 / quiz: 190618 / grade: Middle Grades
Lexile: 840L

Aventurine is a brave young dragon ready to explore the world outside of her family's mountain cave . . . if only they'd let her leave it. Her family thinks she's too young to fly on her own, but she's determined to prove them wrong by capturing the most dangerous prey of all: a human. But when that human tricks her into drinking enchanted hot chocolate, she's transformed into a puny human without any sharp teeth, fire breath, or claws. Still, she's the fiercest creature in these mountains--and now she's found her true passion: chocolate. All she has to do is get to the human city to find herself an apprenticeship (whatever that is) in a chocolate house (which sounds delicious), and she'll be conquering new territory in no time . . . won't she? A classic fantasy with terrific girl power, perfect for fans of Shannon Hale and Jessica Day George. Praise for Kat, Incorrigible Bank Street Best Books of 2012 A Spring 2011 Kids' Indie Next pick A 2012 ALA/ALSC Notable Children's Book A Top 40 Pick for the Pennsylvania School Librarians Association


*Prices subject to change without notice and listed in US dollars.
Perma-Bound bindings are unconditionally guaranteed.
Paperbacks are not guaranteed.
Please Note: All Digital Material Sales Final.