The Academy
The Academy
$15.29
To purchase this item, you must first login or register for a new account.

Annotation: After messing up one too many times, Frankie Brooks, a future fashion editor, finds herself at military school where she must learn how to cope with the impossible military drills and specialized classes.
Catalog Number: #160857
Format: Publisher's Hardcover
No other formats available
Publisher: HarperCollins
Copyright Date: 2018
Edition Date: 2018
Pages: 277 pages
Availability: Available
ISBN: 0-06-240414-8
ISBN 13: 978-0-06-240414-5
Dewey: Fic
LCCN: 2017954052
Dimensions: 22 cm.
Language: English
Reviews:
ALA Booklist
Frankie Brooks wants nothing more than to transfer to the American Fashion Academy. She's applied secretly, hoping that an acceptance will help her convince her parents to let her go. So she's horrified when her parents have other plans. Frankie's fashion blog has caused her GPA to dip, and a party she threw was the last straw: her parents are sending her to military school. The uniforms are bad enough, but nonathletic Frankie finds herself facing brutal calisthenics, rigorous academics, and competitive classmates. If Frankie can't keep up, she'll be kicked out, which sounds appealing until she realizes it means repeating a year of school. But she slowly develops a friendship with her roommate, Joni, and a flirtation with Joni's friend Jack d, just maybe, she can find a way to make her passion for fashion work at the academy. More fluff than substance ough several characters do deal with sexual identity and disability is is nevertheless a charming, rom-com-style tale of a girl learning responsibility while still embracing her passions.
Horn Book
Frankie has gotten into trouble one too many times, and now her life has become a clichi: she's being sent to military school. The classes are challenging, the physical training is preposterous, and there's almost no time for her true passion of fashion blogging. Unsurprisingly, Frankie marches on and finds her inner strength (as well as a gorgeous guy) in this predictable yet entertaining chick-lit novel.
Kirkus Reviews
A fashion-mad teen is sent to a military academy to learn discipline.Frankie knows she's meant to work in fashion: Her blog is already a huge success, and she's known for her personal style. But her parents believe that Frankie won't get far without discipline and good grades—so they ship her off to the military school her grandfather attended. Privileged, strong-willed, and obsessed with fashion, blue-eyed, white-blonde Frankie has a rude awakening at Albany Military Academy, starting with meeting stern disciplinarian Lt. Sturtevant. She has to wake up at 5 a.m., do more physical exercise than she's ever attempted before, and not break the rules—or risk being kicked out and having to repeat a year of high school back home. Frankie makes slow and unsteady progress, helped by new friends Joni (a closeted white girl) and Jack (a handsome, olive-skinned boy with cochlear implants), ultimately realizing her parents made the right decision. However, the story artificially maneuvers Frankie into having to wow Lt. Sturtevant with a leadership project proposal in order to stay at the Academy. Add in an equally contrived crisis in her relationship with Jack, and it's hard to care how Frankie's story ends.A rare realistic fiction military school novel, but it's one that won't recruit any readers. (Fiction. 12-16)
Reviewing Agencies: - Find Other Reviewed Titles
ALA Booklist (4/1/18)
Horn Book (4/1/19)
Kirkus Reviews
Reading Level: 7.0
Interest Level: 7-12

The Devil Wears Prada meets Private Benjamin in this funny and charming story of a fashionista teen blogger who gets sent to military school, perfect for fans of Sarah Mlynowski and Kasie West.

Frankie Brooks knows what she wants in life: to become the world’s next great fashion editor. All she needs to do is get into the elite American Fashion Academy in New York City. If she gets in, her life plans will be going right on schedule. Anna Wintour, watch out.

But after Frankie messes up one too many times—hey, it’s hard not to prioritize her acclaimed fashion blog above all else—her parents come up with entirely different plans for her future: military school. How is Frankie, the least athletic person in the world, who knows absolutely nothing about the military, going to survive a whole semester at the famed—and feared—Academy?

With classmates who seem to be totally uninterested in her, a course load that’s even more difficult than her old school’s, and the weird War Games competition she has to join, Frankie finds that her life is way tougher than it used to be. And no one, including her roommate Joni, seems to understand Frankie at all.

As she learns how to cope with impossible military drills and intimidating specialized classes and is maybe even falling for super-hot and super-smart cadet Jack Wattson, can Frankie prove to everyone that being a fashionista doesn’t mean she can’t succeed?


*Prices subject to change without notice and listed in US dollars.
Perma-Bound bindings are unconditionally guaranteed (excludes textbook rebinding).
Paperbacks are not guaranteed.
Please Note: All Digital Material Sales Final.