No Filter
No Filter
$15.29
To purchase this item, you must first login or register for a new account.

Annotation: Emerald's seemingly perfect life is shattered and she is sent to spend a summer with her grandmother in an isolated beach town, where she connects with Liam, who has secrets of his own.
Catalog Number: #153110
Format: Publisher's Hardcover
No other formats available
Publisher: Bloomsbury
Copyright Date: 2018
Edition Date: 2018
Pages: 355 pages
Availability: Available
ISBN: 1-681-19724-3
ISBN 13: 978-1-681-19724-1
Dewey: Fic
LCCN: 2017027697
Dimensions: 22 cm.
Language: English
Reviews:
ALA Booklist
For 17-year-old Emerald, spending the summer in a sleepy sea village in Ireland, away from her London school pals, definitely isn't something she's going to Instagram-brag about. Especially given the secret reason she's there, which not even her best friends know about. "If I didn't know me, maybe I'd believe I really lived this rosy life with all the doubt and confusion filtered out. Maybe I wouldn't notice the growing space between the me in those lovely images and the me that sits drinking tea in Grandma's kitchen," she says. But Em can't confide in anyone . . . until she meets 18-year-old Liam, who himself has more than one secret he can't reveal. Destined to become a builder like his father, but with dreams of writing songs, Liam falls for Em hard. And as the summer comes to an end, Em and Liam find out that their lives are going to be forever intertwined, even as their paths diverge. A formidable first novel for author Collins, No Filter is crisp, unexpected, and full of truths.
Kirkus Reviews
A teen who resuscitates her mother after she almost dies by suicide is packed off for the summer to the seaside in Ireland, where she falls for Liam, who lives there. Emerald is uneasy with the cruel way her social media-focused friends treat others at their English school, but she's already stretched thin trying to conceal her unhappy home life. Her busy father is constantly away, and though they've been estranged for years from her grandmother for reasons that are unclear to Emerald, it is to her home that her dad brings her when Emerald's mom begins in-patient alcohol treatment. Family tension and secrets abound for both Emerald and Liam, who are both white, and the novel alternates narration between them. The realistic, respectful, and sweet relationship that develops between the pair is sure to appeal to romance fans, and the expectation that Liam feels from his father to abandon his considerable music talent in favor of building management will be easily recognizable to many teens. Though the early theme about the pressures of social media seems to largely disappear after Emerald decides to sign off of her accounts and most elements of this drama are familiar territory, the well-drawn Irish cultural details set it apart, and a late plot twist will take many by surprise.Overall, a satisfying and romantic debut. (Romance. 14-18)
Publishers Weekly
In this touching debut novel from Irish author Collins, British 16-year-old Emerald-s problems with family and friends are exacerbated by the social media feeds she can-t turn away from. Emerald-s mother has just entered rehab for her addition to prescription drugs, and Emerald is sent to stay with her estranged grandmother on the Irish coast for the summer. There, she meets a kindhearted boy named Liam with family troubles of his own, and the two quickly fall for each other. Told in Emerald and Liam-s alternating perspectives, this novel largely focuses on their various dates and other encounters, though Emerald-s story drives the narrative and Collins expands the thread of her family worries to include her grandmother and father. Though the romance doesn-t offer many surprises, Collins-s voices and setting are vivid and fresh, the teens- relationship is engaging, and Liam is a particularly sensitive and devoted love interest. As Emerald watches her friends- lives go on without her online, her visceral sense of pain and loss (and FOMO, really) will resonate with many readers. Ages 14-up. Agent: Marianne Gunn O-Connor. (Mar.)
School Library Journal
Gr 9 Up As punishment for blowing the whistle on a bullying incident at school, Emerald Byrne is being ostracized by her popular clique, which in Instagram-land means wearing a 24/7 digital target on her back. This seems tragic, until Emerald comes home to find her mother unresponsive with an empty bottle of pills in her hands and real life comes crashing down. Suddenly, she finds herself sentenced to a summer at her grandmother's house in Ireland on a self-imposed exile from social media. An evening beach walk puts Emerald in the path of Liam Flynn, a local boy with family hardships and hidden dreams. As loves grows between these two teens from different worlds, the shared stresses of family responsibilities and the pressure of impending exam results creep in from every direction. Soon, Liam and Emerald must face the devastating facts of their families' shared histories and decide whether they can love one another without a rose-colored filter. Both a coming-of-age story and a romance, this novel weaves together issues of suicide, poverty, unrequited dreams, betrayal, and bullying into a narrative that might seem too ambitious, but is handled well by Collins. The end result is an unpretentious and enjoyable tale set against the unique backdrop of the Northern Irish coast. Readers may find the dialogue hard to follow at first, and there are several scenes of drinking and partying, but the quality of the writing makes it a justifiable addition. VERDICT A good choice for most collections. Sarah Lorraine, J. Sterling Morton High School, Cicero, IL
Reviewing Agencies: - Find Other Reviewed Titles
ALA Booklist (9/1/17)
Kirkus Reviews
Publishers Weekly
School Library Journal (12/1/17)
Reading Level: 7.0
Interest Level: 9-12

This poignant, sweepingly romantic debut novel told in dual POVs is perfect for fans of Everything, Everything and All the Bright Places . Anyone who follows Emerald on her social media accounts only sees a perfect life-her loving, wealthy family, tight-knit circle of friends, and devoted internet following. But the truth hides behind the scenes of her perfectly framed, filtered photos. . . Emerald's family is far from happy, and when she finds her mom unconscious on the bathroom floor, she can no longer keep it a secret. Sent to stay with her grandmother in a small beach town while her mother recovers and her father works non-stop, Emerald fears the long, lonely summer ahead of her . . . until she meets Liam. He's an aspiring songwriter with his own baggage, but neither of them can deny their connection. With secrets and lies all that they're used to, can Emerald and Liam really fall for each other-brave and true-with no filter? This fresh, funny, and poignant debut from Orlagh Collins is refreshingly grounded and sweepingly romantic all at once.


*Prices subject to change without notice and listed in US dollars.
Perma-Bound bindings are unconditionally guaranteed (excludes textbook rebinding).
Paperbacks are not guaranteed.
Please Note: All Digital Material Sales Final.