Children of Blood and Bone
Children of Blood and Bone

List Price:

$30.31
School Discount
Price:

$21.22
Qty(25-99)
Discount Price:

$20.80
Qty(100-249)
Discount Price:

$20.58
Qty(250-499)
Discount Price:

$20.37
Qty(>500)
Discount Price:

$19.95
To purchase this item, you must first login or register for a new account.

Annotation: Seventeen-year-old Zelie, her older brother Tzain, and rogue princess Amari fight to restore magic to the land; but they are ruthlessly pursued by the crown prince, who believes the return of magic will mean the end of the monarchy.
Catalog Number: #153035
Format: Perma-Bound Edition from Publisher's Hardcover
All Formats: Search
Publisher: Henry Holt & Co.
Copyright Date: 2018
Edition Date: 2018
Pages: 531 pages
Availability: Available
ISBN: Publisher: 1-250-17097-4 Perma-Bound: 0-7804-0050-X
ISBN 13: Publisher: 978-1-250-17097-2 Perma-Bound: 978-0-7804-0050-4
Dewey: Fic
LCCN: 2017021080
Dimensions: 23 cm.
Language: English
Reviews:
Publishers Weekly
Eleven years ago, King Saran cemented his grip on the throne by banishing magic from Orïsha and slaughtering the realm-s maji-Zélie Adebola-s mother included. The maji-s descendants-dark-skinned, white-haired people called divîners-have lived under tyranny ever since, but now there is cause for hope. Thanks to information gleaned from Saran-s kindhearted daughter, Amari, 17-year-old Zélie has a chance to restore magic to Orïsha and activate a new generation of maji. First, though, Zélie, Amari, and Zélie-s brother Tzain must outrun the crown prince, Inan, who is determined to finish what his father started by eradicating magic for good. Book one in the Orïsha Legacy trilogy, Adeyemi-s devastating debut is a brutal, beautiful tale of revolution, faith, and star-crossed love. By making tangible the power that comes from embracing one-s heritage, Adeyemi conjures a story that resonates with magic both literal and figurative while condemning apathy in the face of injustice. Complex characters, colossal stakes, and a kaleidoscopic narrative captivate, and the book-s punishing pace catapults readers to a jaw-dropping conclusion that poses as many questions as it answers. Ages 14-up. Agent: Alexandra Machinist and Hillary Jacobson, ICM. (Mar.)

Starred Review for Kirkus Reviews
Seventeen-year-old Zélie and companions journey to a mythic island seeking a chance to bring back magic to the land of Orïsha, in a fantasy world infused with the textures of West Africa.Dark-skinned Zélie is a divîner—someone with latent magical abilities indicated by the distinctive white hair that sets them apart from their countrymen. She saves Princess Amari, who is on the run from her father, King Saran, after stealing the scroll that can transform divîners into magic-wielding maji, and the two flee along with Zélie's brother. The scroll vanished 11 years ago during the king's maji genocide, and Prince Inan, Amari's brother, is sent in hot pursuit. When the trio learns that the impending solstice offers the only chance of restoring magic through a connection to Nana Baruku, the maternal creator deity, they race against time—and Inan—to obtain the final artifact needed for their ritual. Over the course of the book allegiances shift and characters grow, change, and confront traumas culminating in a cliffhanger ending that will leave readers anxiously awaiting the next installment. Well-drawn characters, an intense plot, and deft writing make this a strong story. That it is also a timely study on race, colorism, power, and injustice makes it great.Powerful, captivating, and raw—Adeyemi is a talent to watch. Exceptional. (Fantasy. 14-adult)
Starred Review ALA Booklist
*Starred Review* Magic is gone in Zélie's kingdom; it was violently eradicated by power-hungry King Saran, and anyone with the capacity for magic abilities e maji, who all have snow-white hair now a second-class citizen. But Zélie holds tight to the old stories, and she's secretly learning to fight, unwilling to take the unjust treatment of her people lying down. Meanwhile, Saran's daughter, Amari, has escaped her cruel father's palace with a relic containing the power to reignite magic among maji, and after a chance run-in with Zélie and her brother, Tzain, the trio traverses the kingdom, hoping to use the relic to restore magic to every maji. But Amari's own brother, Inan, who's convinced magic is too dangerous to permit, is hot on their trail. Adeyemi's expansive debut plunges readers into a dense, vivid world full of intriguing politics, evocative magic, and brutal violence. Cinematic pacing, alternating viewpoints, and well-choreographed action make the pages fly toward the cliff-hanger ending, which will surely leave readers eager for the next installment. Though she often uses tried-and-true fantasy tropes, Adeyemi keeps it fresh with an all-black cast of characters, a meaningful emphasis on fighting for justice, a complex heroine saving her own people, and a brand of magic made more powerful by the strength of heritage and ancestry. Perfect for fans of the expansive fantasy worlds of Leigh Bardugo, Daniel José Older, and Sabaa Tahir. HIGH-DEMAND BACKSTORY: This debut trilogy opener is already building lots of buzz, thanks to a movie deal in the works and a huge marketing campaign.
Reviewing Agencies: - Find Other Reviewed Titles
Starred Review ALA Booklist (Thu Feb 01 00:00:00 CST 2018)
Starred Review for Kirkus Reviews
Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books
Publishers Weekly
Word Count: 135,102
Reading Level: 4.8
Interest Level: 9-12
Accelerated Reader: reading level: 4.8 / points: 20.0 / quiz: 194432 / grade: Upper Grades
Guided Reading Level: H

With five starred reviews, Tomi Adeyemi's West African-inspired fantasy debut, and instant #1 New York Times Bestseller, conjures a world of magic and danger, perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Sabaa Tahir. They killed my mother. They took our magic. They tried to bury us. Now we rise. Zélie Adebola remembers when the soil of Orïsha hummed with magic. Burners ignited flames, Tiders beckoned waves, and Zélie's Reaper mother summoned forth souls. But everything changed the night magic disappeared. Under the orders of a ruthless king, maji were killed, leaving Zélie without a mother and her people without hope. Now Zélie has one chance to bring back magic and strike against the monarchy. With the help of a rogue princess, Zélie must outwit and outrun the crown prince, who is hell-bent on eradicating magic for good. Danger lurks in Orïsha, where snow leoponaires prowl and vengeful spirits wait in the waters. Yet the greatest danger may be Zélie herself as she struggles to control her powers and her growing feelings for an enemy. "A phenomenon." -- Entertainment Weekly "The epic I've been waiting for." -- New York Times -bestselling author Marie Lu "You will be changed. You will be ready to rise up and reclaim your own magic!" -- New York Times -bestselling author Dhonielle Clayton "The next big thing in literature and film." -- Ebony "One of the biggest young adult fiction debut book deals of theyear." -- Teen Vogue This title has Common Core connections. #1 New York Times bestseller , March 14, 2018


*Prices subject to change without notice and listed in US dollars.
Perma-Bound bindings are unconditionally guaranteed.
Paperbacks are not guaranteed.
Please Note: All Digital Material Sales Final.