Invisible Emmie
Invisible Emmie

List Price:

$25.31
School Discount
Price:

$17.72
Qty(25-99)
Discount Price:

$17.37
Qty(100-249)
Discount Price:

$17.19
Qty(250-499)
Discount Price:

$17.01
Qty(>500)
Discount Price:

$16.66

Series: Emmie and Friends   

To purchase this item, you must first login or register for a new account.

Annotation: The lives of two middle school girls, one a quiet artist, the other a popular overachiever, intersect on a day shaped by a misdelivered note, crushes, humiliations, boredom, and drama.
Catalog Number: #146227
Format: Perma-Bound Edition
All Formats: Search
Special Formats: Graphic Novel Graphic Novel
Publisher: HarperCollins
Copyright Date: 2017
Edition Date: 2017
Pages: 185 pages
Availability: Available
ISBN: Publisher: 0-06-248493-1 Perma-Bound: 0-605-98809-9
ISBN 13: Publisher: 978-0-06-248493-2 Perma-Bound: 978-0-605-98809-5
Dewey: Fic
LCCN: 2016957821
Dimensions: 21 cm.
Language: English
Reviews:
ALA Booklist
If quiet seventh-grader Emmie could have her way, she'd draw all the time, hang out with her best friend Brianna, and otherwise keep to herself. Though things stay pretty quiet at home, middle school is another story, especially when a fake love note she wrote to her crush ends up in the hands of an obnoxious, gossipy classmate. Interspersed with Emmie's doodle-laden first-person narrative are comics about popular, athletic, and confident Katie, who has it all figured out. At first, the two narratives seem unrelated, but as the stories begin to intertwine and Emmie starts finding more confidence in spite of the love-note disaster, the connection between Emmie and Katie becomes crystal clear. Libenson's amiable illustrations om Emmie's snarky (though sometimes glib) cartoon commentary in subdued tones to Katie's brightly colored, picture-perfect comic book life d plenty of comical flavor to the relatable story. With all-too-familiar middle-school drama and an empowering lesson about speaking up and bravely facing down embarrassment, this should find an easy audience among fans of Wimpy Kid or Dork Diaries books.
Horn Book
In this clever tale, super-shy seventh grader Emmie rarely speaks to a soul at school but loves to draw. Occasional comics-style sections follow super-popular, impossibly perfect "Katie." After a classmate shares Emmie's note about her crush with everyone, Emmie goes from feeling invisible to feeling embarrassingly visible. But as Emmie becomes more satisfyingly confident, Katie gradually disappears--a no-longer-needed coping mechanism that existed only in Emmie's drawings.
Kirkus Reviews
One bad day in seventh grade can feel like a lifetime. However, even end-of-the-world-level heartache can have surprising and comic consequences. Emmie's story is part of the growing subgenre that hybridizes the middle-grade and graphic novel. With doodle-illustrated prose chapters depicting Emmie's world and entire comics-style sections depicting the popular Kate, Libenson takes readers inside the halls of middle school with the same nod to weirdness and eye-rolling angst as such format standards as Diary of a Wimpy Kid and Dork Diaries. Emmie is a painfully shy girl who is forced to see and be seen one fateful day when a playful game with best friend Brianna turns into a nightmare. Libenson uses two different illustration styles to distinguish between Emmie, the soft-spoken wallflower, and Kate, the outgoing girl of fabulousness. An artist using her doodles to illustrate the seventh-grade world, Emmie sees herself as someone with no voice, while the enigmatic, charismatic Kate is full of confidence and determined to push Emmie out of her comfort zone. Though readers may be puzzled by the device initially, Libenson's rationale for the dual portrayals becomes clear in the end. However, the repetition of Emmie's description as quiet, shy, and disenfranchised becomes as grating as a nasal whine. Both Emmie and Kate appear to be white, but school scenes reveal multiethnic classmates. Classic middle school themes come alive, but they fail to really go anywhere. (Graphic/fiction hybrid. 8-12)
Publishers Weekly
In her first children-s book, cartoonist Libenson (The Pajama Diaries) offers strikingly different visions of seventh grade through two very dissimilar narrators. School is stressful for shy, quiet Emmie; Katie, meanwhile, is breezily popular, confident, and beautiful. With frizzy hair and hunched shoulders, Emmie shows up in tiny vignettes, sandwiched between blocks of text, that make her look as small and insignificant as she feels. Katie-s chapters, by contrast, are big, splashy panels that reflect her outgoing personality (-I-m just your average teenage girl,- she says after being offered movie roles and the crown of homecoming queen). Emmie and Katie share a crush on classmate Tyler, and when a sappy love note Emmie writes to Tyler as a joke is made public, Emmie is humiliated. Katie rises to her defense, but Emmie eventually learns to speak up for herself, realizing that embarrassment isn-t the end of the world and being social isn-t as impossible as she thought. A well-executed twist will have readers flipping back to see what they missed while cheering the strides made by Libenson-s no-longer-invisible heroine. Ages 8-12. Agent: Daniel Lazar, Writers House. (May)
Reviewing Agencies: - Find Other Reviewed Titles
ALA Booklist
Horn Book (8/1/17)
Kirkus Reviews
Publishers Weekly
Word Count: 11,939
Reading Level: 3.8
Interest Level: 4-7
Accelerated Reader: reading level: 3.8 / points: 2.0 / quiz: 189384 / grade: Middle Grades
Guided Reading Level: O

Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier and Jennifer L. Holm, Invisible Emmie is a humorous and surprising debut graphic novel by Terri Libenson, creator of the internationally syndicated, Reuben Award-winning comic strip The Pajama Diaries.

This is the story of two totally different girls—
quiet, shy, artistic Emmie
popular, outgoing, athletic Katie
—and how their lives unexpectedly intersect one day, when an embarrassing note falls into the wrong hands. . . .

All the crushes, humiliations, boredom, and drama of middle school are compressed into one surprising day in this extraordinary novel.<u5:p></u5:p>

<u5:p>And don't miss Terri Libenson's next book, Positively Izzy!</u5:p>


*Prices subject to change without notice and listed in US dollars.
Perma-Bound bindings are unconditionally guaranteed (excludes textbook rebinding).
Paperbacks are not guaranteed.
Please Note: All Digital Material Sales Final.