The Hearts We Sold
The Hearts We Sold
$15.29
To purchase this item, you must first login or register for a new account.

Annotation: After Dee Moreno, seventeen, makes a deal with a demon, trading her heart for the chance of a good education, she becomes part of a group "heartless" teen engaged in fighting a paranormal war.
Catalog Number: #139231
Format: Publisher's Hardcover
All Formats: Search
Copyright Date: 2017
Edition Date: 2017
Pages: 384 pages
Availability: Available
ISBN: 0-316-31459-5
ISBN 13: 978-0-316-31459-6
Dewey: Fic
LCCN: 2016022401
Dimensions: 22 cm.
Language: English
Reviews:
Kirkus Reviews
A girl sells her heart to a demon to escape abusive parents, unwittingly signing up for more than she bargained for.Mixed-race white/Latina high school student Dee Moreno (she has her father's light brown skin and textured hair) attends a prestigious boarding school in Portland, Oregon, keeping necessary distance from her alcoholic, abusive parents. A tough home life has wrung any belief in fairy tales out of her even though demons announced themselves as real to the public via press conference when she was only a child. The demons emerged in order to make deals—humans can trade body parts (their own) for a wish. When Dee's scholarship is suddenly revoked, she finds herself back in the market for fairy tales; she refuses to go back home. She trades a two-year lease on her heart for tuition money. As a new member of Portland's "troop of heartless," Dee follows her demon's biddings directly into battle with other, truly horrifying monsters. She and the other heartless work to close the voids that periodically open all around the world to keep the monsters that issue forth from overrunning the planet. As the danger ratchets up, so do her feelings for another member of the troop. Dee's never felt more alive—yet never been possibly so dead. The slowly revealed lore of the demons coupled with Dee's adventures make for a whirlwind of a page-turner. Readers will devour this romantic, Faustian fable. A dark fantasy brimming with passion and peril. (Paranormal suspense. 15-adult)
School Library Journal
Gr 8 UpDee Moreno worked hard to get a boarding school scholarship so she could live away from her alcoholic parents, but when the school decides to cut scholarships for the following year, Dee chooses to do what many others in need have done: bargain with a demon. However, the demon Agathodaemon wants hearts and two years of labor. Dee is in a cohort of heartless teens along with Cora, James, and Cal, who do the demon's bidding of closing voids, or mysterious portals leading to an unknown danger. Other demons fashion homunculi out of the dealmakers' body parts and send them into the voids to close them. With Cora's time nearly up, she is determined to ensure that the demon doesn't make any more people heartless and she goes on the hunt for a Rumpelstiltskin clause to get their hearts back. However, the obsessions of the heartless come at a cost. Lloyd-Jones's take on the Faustian myth will keep readers engaged. The author presents a broad array of well-developed characters who will intrigue readers as the plot advances and curves. Dee, who is half Latina, offers character depth and diversity often lacking in the fantasy genre. VERDICT Purchase where urban fantasy is popular.Adrienne L. Strock, Nashville Public Library
Starred Review ALA Booklist
*Starred Review* It's been years since the demons revealed themselves. For a simple bargain, everyone now knows, demons can make a wish come true. For Dee Moreno, a boarding-school student with a troubled home life, wishes aren't the solution to anything; she doesn't need to make a deal to get what she wants. In fact, that's exactly what she tells the demon she finds knitting on a park bench outside a hospital, and it's the truth, until he tells her that only the people who want to make a deal can see a demon. When Dee's life implodes soon after, she finds herself making a deal after all, trading her heart and two years of service to the demon so she can have a future. But Dee isn't the only one who has given up her heart, and she soon finds herself caught up with a group of other teens in the same situation, running strange errands into a shadowy otherworld and developing a connection with a mysterious artist who sold his heart long before Dee did. Beautifully written and elegantly characterized, this is a thoughtful, melancholy tale of love and redemption, magic and choice. Lloyd-Jones tracks Dee's Faustian journey without ever falling out of step, and the story itself will ensnare readers as surely as any bargain.
Voice of Youth Advocates
Deidre Moreno is a scholarship student at a prestigious boarding school in Portland, Oregon. When her scholarship is revoked, Dee is terrified that she will have to return home to her psychologically and verbally abusive, alcoholic parents. In a plot twist that pays homage to the Faustian theme of selling one’s soul to the devil, Dee instead leases her heart to a daemon in exchange for school tuition. She is now part of a group who are literally heartless and who must battle horrific beasts in hand-to-hand combat; a loyal, if misguided, band of teens bonds in these deadly ventures to close the voids that pop open and unleash monsters that must be kept from destroying the world. Dee is drawn to a mysterious young man who mentors her during the two-year timeframe before her heart will be returned. Dee is so damaged by her sterile and overwhelming home life where she was the only stable element in a dysfunctional family that she has almost lost the ability to trust and rely on true friends. Her self-doubts as she engages with the frightening horrors inside and outside of herself while struggling to endure will win over readers. This is the second novel by Lloyd-Jones who continues to include Lovecraft horror elements in her spellbinding plots. Fans of supernatural horror will love this dark story, with its touches of romance and passion.—Judith Hayn.
Reviewing Agencies: - Find Other Reviewed Titles
Starred Review ALA Booklist (Tue Aug 01 00:00:00 CDT 2017)
Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books
Kirkus Reviews
School Library Journal (Sat Jul 01 00:00:00 CDT 2017)
Reading Level: 7.0
Interest Level: 9-12
An intoxicating blend of fantasy, horror, and romance--a Faustian fable perfect for fans of Holly Black, and Stranger Things.

Dee Moreno is out of options. Her home life sucks (to put it mildly), and she's about to get booted from her boarding school--the only place she's ever felt free--for lack of funds. But this is a world where demons exist, and the demons are there to make deals: one human body part in exchange for one wish come true.

The demon who Dee approaches doesn't trade in the usual arms and legs, however. He's only interested in her heart. And what comes after Dee makes her deal is a nightmare far bigger, far more monstrous than anything she ever could have imagined. Reality is turned on its head, and Dee has only her fellow "heartless," the charming but secretive James Lancer, to keep her grounded. As something like love grows between them amid an otherworldly threat, Dee begins to wonder: Can she give James her heart when it's no longer hers to give?

In The Hearts We Sold, demons can be outwitted, hearts can be reclaimed, monsters can be fought, and love isn't impossible. This book will steal your heart and break it, and leave you begging for more.



*Prices subject to change without notice and listed in US dollars.
Perma-Bound bindings are unconditionally guaranteed.
Paperbacks are not guaranteed.
Please Note: All Digital Material Sales Final.