Frazzled: Everyday Disasters and Impending Doom
Frazzled: Everyday Disasters and Impending Doom

List Price:

$23.63
School Discount
Price:

$16.54
Qty(25-99)
Discount Price:

$16.21
Qty(100-249)
Discount Price:

$16.04
Qty(250-499)
Discount Price:

$15.88
Qty(>500)
Discount Price:

$15.55

Series: Frazzled Vol. 1   

To purchase this item, you must first login or register for a new account.

Annotation: Delves into the mind of Abbi Wu, a neurotic and perpetually frazzled middle-school girl, as she tries to figure out who she is and where she belongs.
Catalog Number: #127680
Format: Perma-Bound Edition from Publisher's Hardcover
All Formats: Search
Special Formats: Graphic Novel Graphic Novel
Publisher: HarperCollins
Copyright Date: 2016
Edition Date: 2016
Pages: 225 pages
Availability: Available
ISBN: Publisher: 0-06-239879-2 Perma-Bound: 0-605-95172-1
ISBN 13: Publisher: 978-0-06-239879-6 Perma-Bound: 978-0-605-95172-3
Dewey: Fic
LCCN: 2016936039
Dimensions: 21 cm.
Language: English
Reviews:
ALA Booklist
Sixth-grader Abbie Wu is grappling with "The Middles" e's the middle child and starting middle school, and she's worried about finding her place in both. Plus, unlike BFFs Maxine and Logan, she's unsure what her talents or interests are, so she can't pick an elective, and, while psyched about having more cafeteria choices, it turns out eighth-graders have dibs on good stuff like pizza and fries. Then, elective-less, she's assigned study hall, where she connects with classmates over cafeteria injustices and devises a secret, successful student food exchange. Though there are both ups and downs, Abbie increasingly gains self-confidence and unexpected support school and home d realizes "The Middles" might be okay. Abbie's a lively character and narrator, from her introspective musings to sometimes hyperbolic doom-and-gloom fears. Debut author Vivat's generously interspersed, animated cartoon illustrations incorporate abundant witty touches and commentary and often extend the main text, though they can sometimes distract. Nonetheless, kids may identify and sympathize with Abbie's many concerns and dilemmas, from navigating new situations to discovering a sense of belonging, and the challenges and rewards of forging your own path.
Horn Book
When middle schooler Abbie Wu can't choose an elective, she ends up in study hall. How she finds her "thing" in study hall--turns out she's a bit of a revolutionary--is what makes this story a standout. Humorous, hyperbolic text and superabundant cartoon drawings have plenty of appeal, but it's the clever plot that gives the story depth.
Publishers Weekly
Abbie Wu, a beleaguered middle child who is daunted to enter middle school, knows that -nothing good ever happens in the Middles,- as evidenced by the Middle Ages and the middle seat of the car. Yet her best friends are jumping right into middle school life and even having fun in their various electives, leaving Abbie feeling like a -sad reject pastry- in desperate need of a -thing- of her own. As the injustices of the middle school cafeteria mount, Abbie discovers a talent for social-or at least lunchroom-leadership. Could community organizing be her -thing-? Vivat-s funny, quick-moving debut skips along even faster thanks to the endearing doodles that appear throughout, punctuating Abbie-s travails with chibi-esque emotional outbursts featuring flailing limbs, speed lines, and exaggerated typography. Though this is, at heart, a straightforward story of social adjustment, Abbie and her supporting cast show real depth as they learn that passions can change, -not everything has to work out,- and no matter how confident some people may seem, -the truth is, no one really knows for sure.- Ages 8-12. Agent: Steven Malk, Writers House. (Sept.)

School Library Journal
Gr 36 Middle child and soon-to-be middle schooler Abbie Wu is in major need of crisis control. Her fear and anxiety have her constantly freaking out, especially when it comes to sixth grade. Abbie's mom doesn't understand why she's stressed, and her perfect siblings aren't helping the situation, either. Because Abbie couldn't decide on an elective class, she's been assigned to study hall. Her two best friends actually enjoy school and have found activities they're passionate about. Not having a "Thing" like everyone else is making Abbie feel left behind. The only part of school she's looking forward to is the cafeteria lunches, which include pizza, fries, and cookies. When Abbie discovers that sixth graders are forbidden from eating those foods, she organizes an underground lunch exchange. The success of her food rebellion gives Abbie the confidence to find her voice and, ultimately, her "Thing." Abbie's phobias and worries are charmingly depicted in this heavily illustrated hybrid novel. The humorous, doodlelike artwork makes her struggles entertaining and relatable. VERDICT Share this title with fans of Jeff Kinney's "Diary of a Wimpy Kid" series and anyone who will appreciate rooting for a witty underdog. Sophie Kenney, Glencoe Public Library, IL
Word Count: 12,539
Reading Level: 4.9
Interest Level: 4-7
Accelerated Reader: reading level: 4.9 / points: 2.0 / quiz: 184493 / grade: Middle Grades
Reading Counts!: reading level:5.4 / points:5.0 / quiz:Q69433
Guided Reading Level: T
Fountas & Pinnell: T

An instant New York Times bestseller, Booki Vivat's Frazzled is the first installment of a funny middle grade graphic novel series about a girl who is always in a tizzy.

Hilarious.” (NPR’s All Things Considered)

"Honest, sweet, and laugh-out-loud funny. Fans of Smile and Diary of a Wimpy Kid will appreciate this debut." (Brightly.com)

Meet Abbie Wu. Abbie is in crisis—and not just because she’s starting middle school or because she’s stuck in a family that doesn’t quite get her or because everyone seems to have a Thing except her. Abbie Wu is always in crisis.

From author and professional doodler Booki Vivat, Frazzled dives right into the mind of this hilariously neurotic middle school girl as she tries to figure out who she is and where she belongs. Akin to Smile by Raina Telgemeier, Frazzled is heavily illustrated, embarrassingly honest, and sure to appeal to anyone in the middle of figuring out how to survive the everyday disasters of growing up.


*Prices subject to change without notice and listed in US dollars.
Perma-Bound bindings are unconditionally guaranteed (excludes textbook rebinding).
Paperbacks are not guaranteed.
Please Note: All Digital Material Sales Final.