Purchase the 2021 ALA book award winners from Perma-Bound

2021 ALA Award Winners

Click here for the entire list of winners and honorees.

Coretta Scott King Awards

The Coretta Scott King Awards recognize an African-American author and illustrator of outstanding books for children and young adults that demonstrate sensitivity to "the true worth and value of all beings." The Coretta Scott King/John Steptoe New Talent Award is presented to a writer and/or illustrator at the beginning of their career as a published children's book creator.

Coretta Scott King Award Winners 1970-2021

Coretta Scott King Medal Winners Poster 1970-2021

Coretta Scott King/John Steptoe New Talent Award, 2021

Author: Legendborn by Tracy Deonn

Coretta Scott King - Virginia Hamilton Award for Lifetime Achievement

Dorothy Littlejohn Guthrie

Pura Belpré Award

The Pura Belpré Award is presented to a Latino/Latina writer and illustrator whose work best portrays, affirms, and celebrates the Latino cultural experience in an outstanding work of literature for children and youth.

Pura Belpré Illustrator Award, 2021

Pura Belpré Pura Belpre Illustrator 1996 - 2021

Pura Belpré Children's Author Awards

Pura Belpré Young Adult Author Awards

Michael L. Printz Award

The Michael L. Printz Award is presented to a book that exemplifies literary excellence in young adult literature.

Michael L. Printz Award, 2021

Michael L. Printz Award, 1996 - 2021


Everything Sad Is Untrue by Daniel Nayeri


Apple: Skin to the Core by Eric Gansworth

Dragon Hoops by Gene Luen Yang

Every Body Looking by Candice Iloh

We Are Not Free by Traci Chee

Schneider Family Book Award

The Schneider Family Book Awards honor an author or illustrator for a book that embodies an artistic expression of the disability experience for child and adolescent audiences. Three awards are given annually in each of the following categories: birth through grade school, middle school, and teens.

Schneider Family Book Award, 2021

WINNER - Children's

I Talk Like a River by Jordan Scott


All the Way to the Top: How One Girl's Fight for Americans with Disabilities Changed Everything by Annette Bay Pimentel

Itzhak: A Boy Who Loved the Violin by Tracy Newman

WINNER - Middle School

Show Me a Sign by Ann Clare LeZotte


Get a Grip, Vivy Cohen! by Sarah Kapit

When Stars Are Scattered by Victoria Jamieson


This Is My Brain in Love by I. W. Gregorio

Theodor Seuss Geisel Award

The Theodor Seuss Geisel Award is given annually to the author(s) and illustrator(s) of the most distinguished contribution to beginning reader books published in the United States during the preceding year.

Theodor Seuss Geisel Award, 2021


See the Cat: Three Stories About a Dog by David LaRochelle


The Bear in My Family by Maya Tatsukawa

Zip, Zoom! by Kelly Starling Lyons

What About Worms!? by Ryan T. Higgins

Where's Baby? by Anne Hunter

Stonewall Children's and Young Adult Literature Award

Stonewall Children's And Young Adult Literature Award, 2021

The award honors exceptional merit in English-language works relating to the gay / lesbian / bisexual / transgendered experience.


Coming Soon! - We Are Little Feminists: Families


Beetle and The Hollowbones by Aliza Layne

Darius the Great Deserves Better by Adib Khorram

Felix Ever After by Kacen Callender

You Should See Me in a Crown by Leah Johnson

Mildred L. Batchelder Award

The Mildred L. Batchelder Award honors an outstanding children's book translated from a foreign language and subsequently published in the United States.

Mildred L. Batchelder, 2021


Telephone Tales by Gianni Rodari


Catherine's War by Julia Billet

Children's Literacy Legacy Award

Administered by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association. The award, a bronze medal, honors an author or illustrator whose books, published in the United States, have made, over a period of years, a substantial and lasting contribution to literature for children. The award is presented every two years.


Mildred D. Taylor

Margaret A. Edwards Award

The Margaret A. Edwards Award, established in 1988, honors an author, as well as a specific body of his or her work, for significant and lasting contribution to young adult literature.


Kekla Magoon

Asian/Pacific American Award for Literature

The goal of the Asian/Pacific American Award for Literature is to honor and recognize individual work about Asian/Pacific Americans and their heritage, based on literary and artistic merit. Each award will be named and given the award seal during the annual APALA Literature Award Ceremony.

Asian/Pacific American Award for Literature, 2021

WINNER - Picture Book

Paper Son: The Inspiring Story of Tyrus Wong, Immigrant and Artist by Julie Leung


Danbi Leads the School Parade by Anna Kim

WINNER - Children's Literature

When You Trap a Tiger by Tae Keller


Prairie Lotus by Linda Sue Park

WINNER - Young Adult Literature

This Light Between Us by Andrew Fukuda


Displacement by Kiku Hughes

Sydney Taylor Award

The Sydney Taylor Book Award is presented annually to outstanding books for children and teens that authentically portray the Jewish experience. Presented by the Association of Jewish Libraries since 1968, the award encourages the publication and widespread use of quality Judaic literature. Gold medals are presented in three categories: Younger Readers, Older Readers, and Teen Readers. Honor Books are awarded silver medals, and Notable Books are named in each category.

Sydney Taylor Award, 2021

WINNER - Younger Readers

Welcoming Elijah: A Passover Tale with a Tail by Leslea Newman


I Am the Tree of Life: My Jewish Yoga Book by Mychal Copeland

Miriam at the River by Jane Yolen

WINNER - Older Readers

Turtle Boy by M. Evan Wolkenstein


Anya and the Nightingale Sofiya Pasternack

The Blackbird Girls by Anne Blankman

No Vacancy by Tziporah Cohen

WINNER - Teen Readers

Dancing at the Pity Party by Tyler Feder


They Went Left by Monica Hesse