Wild Born
Wild Born

List Price:

School Discount

Discount Price:

Discount Price:

Discount Price:

Discount Price:


Series: Spirit Animals Vol. 1   

To purchase this item, you must first login or register for a new account.

Annotation: Combination book and role-playing game tells the story of a magical land whose fate depends on four children gifted with a spirit animal.
Catalog Number: #75198
Format: Perma-Bound Edition from Publisher's Hardcover
All Formats: Search
Copyright Date: 2013
Edition Date: 2013
Pages: 202 pages
Availability: Available
ISBN: Publisher: 0-545-52243-9 Perma-Bound: 0-605-72965-4
ISBN 13: Publisher: 978-0-545-52243-4 Perma-Bound: 978-0-605-72965-0
Dewey: Fic
LCCN: 2013932302
Dimensions: 21 cm.
Language: English
Horn Book
Four children discover a common bond: their summoned spirit animals turn out to be legendary creatures, called back into being to fight a great evil. The children must learn what having a spirit animal means and determine which side of the fight they're on. Four separate story lines (with an online component) ultimately link up in this by-the-numbers fantasy adventure.
Kirkus Reviews
The appearance of the Four Fallen Great Beasts in Erdas signals the re-emergence of an evil power long forgotten. In the tradition of Erdas, four 11-year-olds are given Nectar, a substance designed to help them call their spirit animals. Conor, an indentured servant, calls Briggan the wolf. Uraza the leopard answers the call of the young warrior, Abeke. Jhi the panda comes to Meilin, the daughter of a Zhongese general. Rollan, a poor street urchin, calls Essix the falcon. With the assistance of the Greencloaks, a powerful but secretive order, the four must learn to bond with their spirit animals, drawing strength and wisdom from their gifts. Their mission is to retrieve the talismans from the other Great Beasts before the Devourer can regain power and destroy the world. Constructed in the tradition of The 39 Clues, this fast-paced new series will be penned by various well-known authors. Unfortunately, flat characters and a predictable plot are evidence that this first installment lacks Mull's usual creativity and humor. A companion website promising a multimedia experience invites readers to be paired with their own spirit animals. Should satisfy readers hungry for a new fantasy series. (Fantasy. 8-12)
School Library Journal
Gr 4&11;7&12; In the world of Erdas, when children turn 11, they drink Nectar in order to see if they will have a spirit animal. Conor, Abeke, Meilin, and Rollan are chosen, and, with their spirit animals-a wolf, a leopard, a panda, and a falcon-they must summon the Four Fallen, Great Beasts that gave their lives many years earlier to defeat the Devourer. Now the Devourer is back, and the children have to use their animal powers to defeat it. Minions of the Devourer are hot on their trail and will do anything to stop them from succeeding. This story has a well-developed plot and likable, well-rounded characters. Mull masterfully draws readers into Erdas with his fast-paced scenes. His writing is smooth and easily transitions between characters' points of view without causing confusion. Fans of Mull's Fablehaven (S &; S, 2007), Peter Lerangis's The Colossus Rises (HarperCollins, 2013), or other page-turning fantasy adventures will have a hard time putting this book down.&12; Kira Moody, Whitmore Public Library, Salt Lake City, UT
Word Count: 48,783
Reading Level: 4.9
Interest Level: 3-6
Accelerated Reader: reading level: 4.9 / points: 7.0 / quiz: 161378 / grade: Middle Grades
Reading Counts!: reading level:4.2 / points:11.0 / quiz:Q60820
Lexile: 680L
Guided Reading Level: U

#1 New York Times bestseller Brandon Mull launches Scholastic's wildly popular multiplatform phenomenon.

Four children separated by vast distances all undergo the same ritual, watched by cloaked strangers. Four flashes of light erupt, and from them emerge the unmistakable shapes of incredible beasts -- a wolf, a leopard, a panda, a falcon. Suddenly the paths of these children -- and the world -- have been changed forever.

Enter the world of Erdas, where every child who comes of age must discover if they have a spirit animal, a rare bond between human and beast that bestows great powers to both. A dark force has risen from distant and long-forgotten lands, and has begun an onslaught that will ravage the world. Now the fate of Erdas has fallen on the shoulders of four young strangers . . . and on you.

Part engrossing book series, part action role-playing game -- discover your spirit animal and join the adventure.

*Prices subject to change without notice and listed in US dollars.
Perma-Bound bindings are unconditionally guaranteed (excludes textbook rebinding).
Paperbacks are not guaranteed.
Please Note: All Digital Material Sales Final.