Shadows of Sherwood
Shadows of Sherwood
School Discount

Discount Price:

Discount Price:


Series: Robyn Hoodlum Adventure Vol. 1   

To purchase this item, you must first login or register for a new account.

Annotation: When Nott City is taken over by a harsh governor, Ignomus Crown, and her parents disappear, twelve-year-old Robyn Loxley flees for her life and joins a group of children trying to take back what is rightfully theirs in this futuristic retelling of Robin Hood.
Catalog Number: #5850386
Format: Paperback
All Formats: Search
Publisher: Bloomsbury
Copyright Date: 2016
Edition Date: 2016
Pages: 355 pages
Availability: Available
ISBN: 1-681-19023-0
ISBN 13: 978-1-681-19023-5
Dewey: Fic
LCCN: 2014027930
Dimensions: 21 cm.
Language: English
ALA Booklist
Award-winning Magoon's futuristic alternate-universe reboot of Robin Hood marks the first title in a promising new series, Robyn Hoodlum. Biracial Robyn Hood is on the lam after her parents disappear from their well-to-do home in Nott City on the Night of Shadows, a raid ordered by tyrannical Governor Crown to rid the city of dissidents under the cover of darkness. Following the advice of her parents to head for the woods, she ventures into rough-and-tumble neighboring Sherwood City, banding together with other orphaned misfits who open her eyes to the tough conditions propagated by Crown. With the sheriff in hot pursuit and Robyn leading the cause, they work together to right the government's wrongs. Magoon's twist on the classic tale benefits from an engaging cast of characters and an intriguing mythology. Timely check-ins with Sheriff Mallet help with the pacing, which lags a bit in the middle. The episodic quests call to mind the Percy Jackson adventures and will inspire a new generation to connect with Robin Hood's timeless tale.
School Library Journal Starred Review
Gr 5&11;8&12; This thrilling first book in a new series by award-winning author Kekla Magoon stars the rebellious spitfire Robyn Loxley, a 12-year-old girl whose destiny and heritage as a member of the underground Crescent Rebellion unfolds one night when after returning from a midnight adventure. She finds her parents missing and her home in disarray. Grabbing the secret items her father has trained her to take in case of emergency, Robyn flees into Sherwood Forest, launching headlong into an adventure, where aided by the help of a diverse set of loyal friends she meets along the way, Robyn sets out on a journey to find out the truth about what happened to her parents. Guided by the words of her father and by her internal compass that sways towards justice, Robyn can't help but to challenge the evil despot Ignomus Crown and his oppressive totalitarian state. Her adventure leads to her to unlock the mystery behind the secret words, "Breath, Blood, Bone," that seems to hold the key to her mission. Magoon deftly plays off the traditional folkloric Robin Hood narrative, with a contemporary twist that champions the ingenuity and bravery of the heroine Robyn in her charge to bring balance and rightness back to her home, Nott City. Shadows of Sherwood is on point with the popular trend of dystopian novels. What makes Magoon's book unique, however, is its accessibility to school-age and intermediate readers, who are sure to be enticed by Robyn's spunk and vulnerability. Magoon masterfully weaves in hallmarks of familial traditions by threading Robyn's beautifully braided long hair into an essential plot element. VERDICT This exciting page-turner will undoubtedly be a hit.&12; Lettycia Terrones, California State University, Pollak Library, Fullerton , CA
Reviewing Agencies: - Find Other Reviewed Titles
School Library Journal Starred Review
ALA Booklist
Word Count: 73,483
Reading Level: 4.9
Interest Level: 4-7
Accelerated Reader: reading level: 4.9 / points: 11.0 / quiz: 178154 / grade: Middle Grades
Reading Counts!: reading level:4.7 / points:18.0 / quiz:Q70329
Lexile: 660L
Guided Reading Level: Y
Fountas & Pinnell: Y

"A compelling reboot of the Robin Hood myth." --Rick Riordan, bestselling author of Percy Jackson & the Olympians The night her parents disappear, twelve-year-old Robyn Loxley must learn to fend for herself. Her home, Nott City, has been taken over by a harsh governor, Ignomus Crown. After fleeing for her life, Robyn has no choice but to join a band of strangers--misfit kids, each with their own special talent for mischief. Setting out to right the wrongs of Crown's merciless government, they take their outlaw status in stride. But Robyn can't rest until she finds her parents. As she pieces together clues from the night they disappeared, Robyn learns that her destiny is tied to the future of Nott City in ways she never expected. Read all the books in the Robyn Hoodlum series: Shadows of Sherwood Rebellion of Thieves Reign of Outlaws

*Prices subject to change without notice and listed in US dollars.
Perma-Bound bindings are unconditionally guaranteed (excludes textbook rebinding).
Paperbacks are not guaranteed.
Please Note: All Digital Material Sales Final.