The Poet X
The Poet X
$46.34
To purchase this item, you must first login or register for a new account.

Annotation: When Xiomara Batista, who pours all her frustrations and passion into poetry, is invited to join the school slam poetry club, she struggles with her mother's expectations and her need to be heard.
Catalog Number: #424138
Format: Compact Disc
No other formats available
Copyright Date: 2018
Edition Date: 2018
Availability: Available
New Title: Yes
ISBN: 1-538-50021-3
ISBN 13: 978-1-538-50021-7
Dewey: Fic
Language: English
Reviewing Agencies: - Find Other Reviewed Titles
Odyssey Honor Audiobooks
Interest Level: 6-8

Fans of Jacqueline Woodson, Meg Medina, and Jason Reynolds will fall hard for this astonishing #ownvoices novel-in-verse by an award-winning slam poet, about an Afro-Latina heroine who tells her story with blazing words and powerful truth.Xiomara Batista feels unheard and unable to hide in her Harlem neighborhood. Ever since her body grew into curves, she has learned to let her fists and her fierceness do the talking.But Xiomara has plenty she wants to say, and she pours all her frustration and passion onto the pages of a leather notebook, reciting the words to herself like prayers-especially after she catches feelings for a boy in her bio class named Aman, who her family can never know about.With Mami's determination to force her daughter to obey the laws of the church, Xiomara understands that her thoughts are best kept to herself. So when she is invited to join her school's slam poetry club, she doesn't know how she could ever attend without her mami finding out. But she still can't stop thinking about performing her poems.Because in the face of a world that may not want to hear her, Xiomara refuses to be silent.


*Prices subject to change without notice and listed in US dollars.
Perma-Bound bindings are unconditionally guaranteed.
Paperbacks are not guaranteed.
Please Note: All Digital Material Sales Final.