Candidly Cline
Candidly Cline
Perma-Bound from Publisher's Hardcover20.45
Publisher's Hardcover14.74

List Price:

$29.21
School Discount
Price:

$20.45
Qty(25-99)
Discount Price:

$20.04
Qty(100-249)
Discount Price:

$19.84
Qty(250-499)
Discount Price:

$19.63
Qty(>500)
Discount Price:

$19.22
To purchase this item, you must first login or register for a new account.
Annotation: A must-read for fans of Julie Murphy and Ashley Herring Blake, this queer coming-of-age story from critically acclaimed ... more
Catalog Number: #319008
Format: Perma-Bound from Publisher's Hardcover
Publisher: HarperCollins
Copyright Date: 2021
Edition Date: 2021
Pages: 309 pages
Availability: Available
New Title: Yes
ISBN: Publisher: 0-06-305999-1 Perma-Bound: 0-8000-1956-3
ISBN 13: Publisher: 978-0-06-305999-3 Perma-Bound: 978-0-8000-1956-3
Dewey: Fic
LCCN: 2021006364
Dimensions: 22 cm
Language: English
Reviews:
ALA Booklist
For 13-year-old Cline, music is her life, and her dream is to become a professional country music star, a dream that is anathema to her practical, single-parent mother who stridently discourages Cline. And so, when an opportunity presents itself to participate in a young singer-songwriter workshop, Cline secretly attends. There she meets Sylvie; though at first antagonists, the two girls become friends and, for Cline, who is secretly gay, hopefully something more. In the meantime, Cline has come out to her best friend, Hollie, who betrays her by essentially outing her, which marks an end to the girls' lifelong friendship. As if this weren't enough, Cline's beloved grandmother has been diagnosed with Alzheimer's. To complicate things even further, Cline and Sylvie have been invited to try out for a slot on the upcoming Daylight Savings Bluegrass Festival. Can they keep this a secret, too? Though Ormsbee doesn't break any new ground with her LGBTQ+ content, she handles the material well; her characters are empathic, and the appealing story ends on a harmonious note.
Kirkus Reviews
A 13-year-old queer girl dreams of being a musician in this coming-of-age story.Cline Louise Alden, who was named after Patsy Cline, lives in Paris, Kentucky, with her waitress Mama, who believes in practicality, and Gram, who encourages her love of music, particularly older songs from women country singers. When Cline learns of an upcoming singer/songwriter workshop in Lexington, she’s determined to go even if she has to keep it a secret from Mama and find a way to come up with the $300 fee. The workshop is both inspiring and intimidating, while Sylvie, Cline’s assigned partner who prefers rock music, gives Cline all sorts of nervous and excited feelings. The story skillfully tackles varying Christian beliefs about sexuality, Gram’s Alzheimer’s, the family’s financial struggles, and shifting friendships. While the plot is propelled by Cline’s musical journey, it’s the captivating character of Cline herself that makes the book shine, although many secondary characters are notable in their own rights. Cline’s confident, candid, and immensely endearing narrative forms the heartbeat of the book as she learns to be both vulnerable and strong. Readers with passion and big dreams will be able to relate. It’s refreshing that Cline has no internal struggle about her sexuality; her concerns are about how and when to share her identity with others. Cline is White; Sylvie’s mom is from Mexico and her father is White and American, and side characters bring additional diversity to the story.Destined for the spotlight. (Fiction. 9-13)
Starred Review for Kirkus Reviews
A 13-year-old queer girl dreams of being a musician in this coming-of-age story.Cline Louise Alden, who was named after Patsy Cline, lives in Paris, Kentucky, with her waitress Mama, who believes in practicality, and Gram, who encourages her love of music, particularly older songs from women country singers. When Cline learns of an upcoming singer/songwriter workshop in Lexington, she’s determined to go even if she has to keep it a secret from Mama and find a way to come up with the $300 fee. The workshop is both inspiring and intimidating, while Sylvie, Cline’s assigned partner who prefers rock music, gives Cline all sorts of nervous and excited feelings. The story skillfully tackles varying Christian beliefs about sexuality, Gram’s Alzheimer’s, the family’s financial struggles, and shifting friendships. While the plot is propelled by Cline’s musical journey, it’s the captivating character of Cline herself that makes the book shine, although many secondary characters are notable in their own rights. Cline’s confident, candid, and immensely endearing narrative forms the heartbeat of the book as she learns to be both vulnerable and strong. Readers with passion and big dreams will be able to relate. It’s refreshing that Cline has no internal struggle about her sexuality; her concerns are about how and when to share her identity with others. Cline is White; Sylvie’s mom is from Mexico and her father is White and American, and side characters bring additional diversity to the story.Destined for the spotlight. (Fiction. 9-13)
Reviewing Agencies: - Find Other Reviewed Titles
Starred Review for Kirkus Reviews
Reading Level: 4.0
Interest Level: 4-7

A must-read for fans of Julie Murphy and Ashley Herring Blake, this queer coming-of-age story from critically acclaimed author Kathryn Ormsbee sings with heart, warmth, and hope. Born in Paris, Kentucky, and raised on her gram's favorite country music, Cline Alden is a girl with big dreams and a heart full of song. When she finds out about a young musicians' workshop a few towns over, Cline sweet-talks, saves, and maybe fibs her way into her first step toward musical stardom. But her big dreams never prepared her for the butterflies she feels surrounded by so many other talented kids--especially Sylvie, who gives Cline the type of butterflies she's only ever heard about in love songs. As she learns to make music of her own, Cline begins to realize how much of herself she's been holding back. But now, there's a new song taking shape in her heart--if only she can find her voice and sing it. "Empowering, affirming, and sweet as all get-out." --Lisa Jenn Bigelow, author of Drum Roll, Please


*Prices subject to change without notice and listed in US dollars.
Perma-Bound bindings are unconditionally guaranteed (excludes textbook rebinding).
Paperbacks are not guaranteed.
Please Note: All Digital Material Sales Final.