A Hundred Thousand Welcomes
A Hundred Thousand Welcomes
Perma-Bound from Publisher's Hardcover22.05
Publisher's Hardcover16.14

List Price:

$31.50
School Discount
Price:

$22.05
Qty(25-99)
Discount Price:

$21.61
Qty(100-249)
Discount Price:

$21.39
Qty(250-499)
Discount Price:

$21.17
Qty(>500)
Discount Price:

$20.73
To purchase this item, you must first login or register for a new account.
Annotation: Welcome, come in! You are invited to travel to homes around the world in this beautifully illustrated picture book about... more
Catalog Number: #300382
Format: Perma-Bound from Publisher's Hardcover
Publisher: HarperCollins
Copyright Date: 2021
Edition Date: 2021
Illustrator: Cho, Lian,
Pages: 40
Availability: Available
ISBN: Publisher: 0-06-287772-0 Perma-Bound: 0-8000-0220-2
ISBN 13: Publisher: 978-0-06-287772-7 Perma-Bound: 978-0-8000-0220-6
Dewey: E
LCCN: 2021016622
Dimensions: 28 cm
Subject Heading:
Hospitality. Fiction.
Language: English
Reviews:
Kirkus Reviews
With so much distrust, anger, and hate in the air, a genuine expression of welcome is just the balm we so desperately need.Whether offered in English or Urdu, Japanese or Lakota Sioux, the sentiment opens doors to friendships unimagined. Shared among family, friends, or strangers around a table of food, no matter how humble, the sense of welcome can build more bridges than political edicts. From celebrating Sukkot to offering shelter from a storm, smiles and greetings level many barriers. “May the road rise to meet you, / and walls fall away.” Donovan’s gentle, multilingual poem, although bumpy at times (“Ahlan wa sahlan. // Bienvenida. // Huānyíng. / I greet you in sunshine / or by light of the moon”), whispers a call to the souls of those in want of comfort. The belief that each of us matters, regardless of religion, nationality, or race, comes through with sincerity. “Tell me your stories, / sing me your songs. / Life has more flavor / since you came along.” Cho’s warm watercolor portrayals of myriad faces from different cultures meld seamlessly with the text, depicting welcoming households all over the globe. The diversity of ages and family configurations adds to the affirmation of life and good cheer. The concluding guide to languages included, including pronunciation and number of speakers, enriches this multicultural experience. (This book was reviewed digitally.)Céad mile fáilte to this heartfelt message of inclusivity and compassion. (introduction, author's note, artist's note, sources, bibliography) (Picture book. 4-8)
Reviewing Agencies: - Find Other Reviewed Titles
Kirkus Reviews
Bibliography Index/Note: Includes bibliographical references.
Reading Level: 2.0
Interest Level: P-2

Welcome, come in! You are invited to travel to homes around the world in this beautifully illustrated picture book about hospitality and acceptance, which features the word welcome from more than fourteen languages. Fans of Here We Are and The Wonderful Things You Will Be will enjoy this timeless story about family, friendship, empathy, and welcoming others. Welcome, friend. Welcome. There are almost as many ways of making someone feel welcome as there are people on our planet. To welcome another is to give that person and yourself a chance at a new connection, a new friendship, and maybe even new eyes through which to view the world. Journey around the globe as A Hundred Thousand Welcomes introduces the word for "welcome" in fourteen languages to illuminate a universal message of hope and acceptance. Mary Lee Donovan's spare text is brought to life by Lian Cho's boisterous, richly detailed illustrations. Includes a pronunciation guide, a note from the artist, a note from the author, and information about the languages featured in the book.


*Prices subject to change without notice and listed in US dollars.
Perma-Bound bindings are unconditionally guaranteed (excludes textbook rebinding).
Paperbacks are not guaranteed.
Please Note: All Digital Material Sales Final.