If These Wings Could Fly
If These Wings Could Fly

List Price:

$29.97
School Discount
Price:

$20.98
Qty(25-99)
Discount Price:

$20.56
Qty(100-249)
Discount Price:

$20.35
Qty(250-499)
Discount Price:

$20.14
Qty(>500)
Discount Price:

$19.72
To purchase this item, you must first login or register for a new account.

Annotation: In Auburn, Pennsylvania, a farming community overrun with crows, high school senior Leighton struggles to keep herself and her sisters safe from their abusive father even as she starts a relationship.
Catalog Number: #287558
Format: Perma-Bound Edition from Publisher's Hardcover
All Formats: Search
Publisher: HarperCollins
Copyright Date: 2020
Edition Date: 2020
Pages: 383 pages
Availability: Available
ISBN: Publisher: 0-06-288502-2 Perma-Bound: 0-7804-9595-0
ISBN 13: Publisher: 978-0-06-288502-9 Perma-Bound: 978-0-7804-9595-1
Dewey: Fic
LCCN: 2019021411
Dimensions: 21 cm.
Language: English
Reviews:
ALA Booklist
For Leighton Barnes, home is two things. It's where she nurtures a deep, protective love for her two younger sisters and a mother who often seems frozen in place. But it's also where her father takes his temper violently out on Leighton's mother while the house itself magically and mysteriously absorbs all signs of the damage he inflicts. Leighton, who is applying to colleges, resists her attraction to a classmate as she chafes between extremes: her desire to escape wars with the desire to watch over her sisters. Stranger yet are the crows. At first, there are just a few of them, but as things in Leighton's life intensify, thousands more come, bewildering the town that has always turned a blind eye to the Barnes family. Poignant and powerful, this novel uses magical realism to examine choice in a difficult world. There are titles for teens that address the realities of dating violence, but it's more difficult to find stories of family violence; in her debut, McCauley traverses the tender ground with grace.
Kirkus Reviews
The intricacies of family violence are explored in this lyrical novel.As she begins her senior year of high school, Leighton precariously balances her commitment to her two younger sisters with her desperation to flee her father's ongoing abusive behavior. Smart, driven, and self-possessed, she's been focused on earning her way into NYU and is unprepared for the emotional shake-up that comes with a romance that grows between her and Liam, a fellow student whose nuanced kindness eventually wins her over. Details about an ever growing population of almost preternatural crows in her small Pennsylvania town and her family's house's spontaneously repairing itself when her dad breaks things in the midst of his rages are juxtaposed against Leighton's authentic, intimate first-person narration, providing an element of the otherworldly that is likely to either appeal mightily to or confuse readers, depending on their taste for magical realism. Strong writing that features some dreamily lovely turns of phrase and language stands out, and the dynamics of domestic violence, including Leighton's simultaneous love for and frustration with her mother, are portrayed in all their complexity without feeling pedantic. Leighton and her family are white. Liam's mother is black and his father is white, and his experience as one of the few people of color in their town adds texture to his character development.A powerful, thoughtful, and ultimately hopeful debut. (Fiction. 14-18)
Publishers Weekly
McCauley makes a moving debut with this hard-hitting novel set in a small, tightly knit town. In Auburn, Pa., crows are gathering by the thousands, rendering the world outside as surreal as the one behind closed doors in 17-year-old Leighton-s house. Her gun-toting father is becoming increasingly violent and abusive, though the house magically repairs itself every time he leaves cracks in the walls, and Leighton fears for the safety of her mother and two younger sisters. Mean-
Reviewing Agencies: - Find Other Reviewed Titles
William C. Morris Award Winner
ALA Booklist
Kirkus Reviews
Publishers Weekly
Reading Level: 6.0
Interest Level: 7-12

Perfect for fans of Laura Ruby, Laurie Halse Anderson, and Mindy McGinnis, Kyrie McCauley's stunning YA debut is a powerful story about the haunting specter of domestic violence and the rebellious forces of sisterhood and first love. Winner of the William C. Morris Award! Tens of thousands of crows invading Auburn, Pennsylvania, is a problem for everyone in town except seventeen-year-old Leighton Barnes. For Leighton, it's no stranger than her house, which inexplicably repairs itself every time her father loses his temper and breaks things. Leighton doesn't have time for the crows--it's her senior year, and acceptance to her dream college is finally within reach. But grabbing that lifeline means abandoning her sisters, a choice she's not ready to face. With her father's rage worsening and the town in chaos over the crows, Leighton allows herself a chance at happiness with Liam, her charming classmate, even though falling in love feels like a revolutionary act. Balancing school, dating, and survival under the shadow of sixty thousand feathered wings starts to feel almost comfortable, but Leighton knows that this fragile equilibrium can only last so long before it shatters.


*Prices subject to change without notice and listed in US dollars.
Perma-Bound bindings are unconditionally guaranteed (excludes textbook rebinding).
Paperbacks are not guaranteed.
Please Note: All Digital Material Sales Final.