Fly on the Wall
Fly on the Wall

List Price:

$28.76
School Discount
Price:

$20.13
Qty(25-99)
Discount Price:

$19.73
Qty(100-249)
Discount Price:

$19.53
Qty(250-499)
Discount Price:

$19.32
Qty(>500)
Discount Price:

$18.92
To purchase this item, you must first login or register for a new account.

Annotation: Twelve-year-old Henry Khoo embarks on a forbidden journey from Australia to Singapore to prove his independence to his overprotective family, while working out some problems with friends. Told in comics and prose.
Catalog Number: #254007
Format: Perma-Bound Edition from Publisher's Hardcover
All Formats: Search
Publisher: Henry Holt & Co.
Copyright Date: 2020
Edition Date: 2020
Pages: 332 pages
Availability: Available
New Title: Yes
ISBN: Publisher: 1-250-31411-9 Perma-Bound: 0-7804-8806-7
ISBN 13: Publisher: 978-1-250-31411-6 Perma-Bound: 978-0-7804-8806-9
Dewey: Fic
LCCN: 2019036946
Dimensions: 22 cm.
Language: English
Reviews:
Kirkus Reviews
Some things you must learn on your own.In this graphic/prose hybrid, Henry Khoo embarks on a secret mission. Now that he’s 12, the legal age to travel alone, he has plans to fly from his Australian home to Singapore, where his father lives. As he haphazardly navigates his way to his flight, his tangled motivations slowly unfold. Initially it appears he wants to establish his independence, seeking reprieve from the overbearing eyes of older sister Jie, Mama, and wuxia drama–watching Popo. Soon the comedic narration reveals that Henry is confronting myriad issues: his emotionally and geographically distant father; his waning relationship with his best friend; and his need to hide his secret identity as the creator of the Fly on the Wall website. Spawned from Henry’s sense that he’s invisible to all, his online comics illustrate school gossip—and draw the opprobrium of the school administration. As in Lai’s debut, Pie in the Sky (2019), humorous line drawings punctuate the text and reveal Henry’s inner feelings. Flashbacks deftly illuminate Henry’s emotional journey to a wider worldview and eventual ownership of his feelings. Lai has a talent of not preaching to her readers, instead offering the reassurance that no one is alone in experiencing the painful awkwardness and occasionally harsh realities of growing up. Henry and his family are Chinese, and dialogue is occasionally bilingual.This thrilling coming-of-age adventure is both quirky and sincere. (Graphic/fiction hybrid. 9-12)
Publishers Weekly
Henry Khoo chronicles his life quandaries in this fresh, idiosyncratic story that meshes prose and graphic novel formats. The 12-year-old Australian resident feels suffocated and sometimes humiliated by his overprotective mother and older sister, and is convinced that his father in Singapore, with whom he shares only perfunctory phone conversations, doesn-t like him. At school, Henry-s best and only friend suddenly adopts a new passel of pals, leaving him alone, resentful, and ready to retaliate. The multistranded plot unfolds in Henry-s notebook, brimming with hyperbolic line drawings that are charged with imagination, emotion, and humor. (He portrays his mother and sister as anthropomorphized helicopters hovering overhead, while a flattened Henry exclaims, -You-ve turned me into a helipad!-) The disgruntled boy makes some uncharacteristically bold, even reckless, moves. He creates the anonymous blog Fly on the Wall (the name reflects his feeling of invisibility), which features mean-spirited cartoons of classmates, and he surreptitiously flies alone to Singapore to speak with his father about some long-percolating questions. As she did in Pie in the Sky, Lai deftly mines the angst and conundrums of life as a dual-cultural adolescent fording the turbulent torrents of peer and family relationships. Ages 8-12. Agent: Jim McCarthy, Dystel, Goderich & Bourret. (May)
School Library Journal Starred Review
Gr 47 Henry Khoo is tired of being babied by his family and invisible at school. Trying to declare independence from both, he started the infamous "Fly on the Wall" blog, which spreads gossip about his schoolmates, and is currently on his way to the airport for an unauthorized trip from Perth, Australia, (where he lives with his helicoptering mom, sister, and grandmother), to Singapore for a surprise visit to his dad. On the way, he must deal with a former best friend, a lurking nemesis, a seatmate who could double as an encyclopedia, and an online comment from the unknown "Frog in the Well," threatening that Frog is going to out Henry to Principal Trang as the creator of the notorious blog. Near-misses and laugh-out-loud moments abound in this novel, which will endear it to readers who like "Big Nate" and "Wimpy Kid," but Henry's character development in this illustrated novel leaves Greg Heffley in the dust. VERDICT Henry's hero journey is replete with pitfalls and moments of self awareness, both of which lead him to a better understanding of why he does what he does (he's lonely) and why his family is so overprotective (they love him). Any kid who recognizes that they have weaknesses will identify with and cheer for Henry. Highly recommended for libraries that serve tweens. Elizabeth Friend, Wester Middle School, TX
Starred Review for Kirkus Reviews
Some things you must learn on your own.In this graphic/prose hybrid, Henry Khoo embarks on a secret mission. Now that he’s 12, the legal age to travel alone, he has plans to fly from his Australian home to Singapore, where his father lives. As he haphazardly navigates his way to his flight, his tangled motivations slowly unfold. Initially it appears he wants to establish his independence, seeking reprieve from the overbearing eyes of older sister Jie, Mama, and wuxia drama–watching Popo. Soon the comedic narration reveals that Henry is confronting myriad issues: his emotionally and geographically distant father; his waning relationship with his best friend; and his need to hide his secret identity as the creator of the Fly on the Wall website. Spawned from Henry’s sense that he’s invisible to all, his online comics illustrate school gossip—and draw the opprobrium of the school administration. As in Lai’s debut, Pie in the Sky (2019), humorous line drawings punctuate the text and reveal Henry’s inner feelings. Flashbacks deftly illuminate Henry’s emotional journey to a wider worldview and eventual ownership of his feelings. Lai has a talent of not preaching to her readers, instead offering the reassurance that no one is alone in experiencing the painful awkwardness and occasionally harsh realities of growing up. Henry and his family are Chinese, and dialogue is occasionally bilingual.This thrilling coming-of-age adventure is both quirky and sincere. (Graphic/fiction hybrid. 9-12)
Starred Review ALA Booklist
*Starred Review* Henry Khoo just wants his family to stop treating him like a baby. He's 12 years old, for crying out loud! Instead, he's got a helicopter mother and older sister, who won't let him do anything on his own. When the family's annual trip to visit Henry's dad is canceled, Henry is crushed d doubly so when his suggestion to make the trip on his own is immediately dismissed. Henry is positive he's mature enough to fly by himself from Australia to his dad in Singapore, and thus a scheme to do just that is born. Lai follows her debut, Pie in the Sky (2019), with another winning tale of middle-school trials. Her comics-style artwork gives the book Wimpy Kid flair, while accentuating the story's funny moments (including fart jokes!) and bringing a secondary story line to life. The latter revolves around an online comic by "Fly on the Wall" that pokes fun at students and staff at Henry's school. Henry is the secret creator of the comic, which he began in response to being dumped by his best friend. Lai authentically navigates the conflicting emotions that define the awkward transition from kid to teenager, and readers will fall in love with Henry as he struggles to find that tween balance. A smile-inducing crowd-pleaser for every collection.
Reviewing Agencies: - Find Other Reviewed Titles
Starred Review ALA Booklist (4/1/20)
School Library Journal Starred Review (4/1/20)
Word Count: 35,488
Reading Level: 4.6
Interest Level: 4-7
Accelerated Reader: reading level: 4.6 / points: 5.0 / quiz: 508223 / grade: Middle Grades
Guided Reading Level: O

In Fly on the Wall , a moving and hilarious illustrated novel from the critically-acclaimed author of Pie in the Sky , a twelve-year-old boy goes on a (forbidden) solo journey halfway around the world to prove his independence to his overprotective family. Henry Khoo's family treats him like a baby. He's not allowed to go anywhere without his sister/chaperone/bodyguard. His (former) best friend knows to expect his family's mafia-style interrogation when Henry's actually allowed to hang out at her house. And he definitely CAN'T take a journey halfway around the world all by himself But that's exactly his plan. After his family's annual trip to visit his father in Singapore is cancelled, Henry decides he doesn't want to be cooped up at home with his overprotective family and BFF turned NRFF (Not Really Friend Forever). Plus, he's hiding a your-life-is-over-if-you're-caught secret: he's the creator of an anonymous gossip cartoon, and he's on the verge of getting caught. Determined to prove his independence and avoid punishment for his crimes, Henry embarks on the greatest adventure everrr . . . hoping it won't turn into the greatest disaster ever. Remy Lai takes readers on an adventure filled with humor, heart, and hijinks that's a sure bet for fans of Jerry Craft, Terri Libenson, and Shannon Hale Praise for Pie in the Sky A Parents Magazine Best Kids Book of the Year "Pie in the Sky is like enjoying a decadent cake. . . heartwarming and rib-tickling." --Terri Libenson, bestselling author of Invisible Emmie * "Perfect for fans of Gene Luen Yang and Victoria Jamieson." -- Shelf Awareness , starred review * "The humor is] akin to that of Jeff Kinney's popular 'Wimpy Kid' series." -- School Library Journal , starred review


*Prices subject to change without notice and listed in US dollars.
Perma-Bound bindings are unconditionally guaranteed (excludes textbook rebinding).
Paperbacks are not guaranteed.
Please Note: All Digital Material Sales Final.