Punching the Air
Punching the Air

List Price:

$32.40
School Discount
Price:

$22.68
Qty(25-99)
Discount Price:

$22.23
Qty(100-249)
Discount Price:

$22.00
Qty(250-499)
Discount Price:

$21.77
Qty(>500)
Discount Price:

$21.32
To purchase this item, you must first login or register for a new account.

Annotation: Traces the story of a young artist and poet whose prospects at a diverse art school are threatened by a racially biased system and a tragic altercation in a gentrifying neighborhood.
Catalog Number: #254000
Format: Perma-Bound Edition from Publisher's Hardcover
All Formats: Search
Special Formats: Hot Title Hot Title
Publisher: HarperCollins
Copyright Date: 2020
Edition Date: c2020
Illustrator: Pasha, Omar T.,
Pages: 386 p.
Availability: Available
New Title: Yes
ISBN: Publisher: 0-06-299648-7 Perma-Bound: 0-7804-8800-8
ISBN 13: Publisher: 978-0-06-299648-0 Perma-Bound: 978-0-7804-8800-7
Dewey: Fic
Dimensions: 22 cm.
Language: English
Reading Level: 6.0
Interest Level: 7-12

Instant New York Times bestseller! From award-winning author Ibi Zoboi and prison reform activist Yusef Salaam of the Exonerated Five comes a powerful YA novel in verse about a boy who is wrongfully incarcerated. Perfect for fans of Jason Reynolds, Walter Dean Myers, and Elizabeth Acevedo. The story that I thought was my life didn't start on the day I was born Amal Shahid has always been an artist and a poet. But even in a diverse art school, he's seen as disruptive and unmotivated by a biased system. Then one fateful night, an altercation in a gentrifying neighborhood escalates into tragedy. "Boys just being boys" turns out to be true only when those boys are white. The story that I think will be my life starts today Suddenly, at just sixteen years old, Amal's bright future is upended: he is convicted of a crime he didn't commit and sent to prison. Despair and rage almost sink him until he turns to the refuge of his words, his art. This never should have been his story. But can he change it? With spellbinding lyricism, award-winning author Ibi Zoboi and prison reform activist Yusef Salaam tell a moving and deeply profound story about how one boy is able to maintain his humanity and fight for the truth, in a system designed to strip him of both.


*Prices subject to change without notice and listed in US dollars.
Perma-Bound bindings are unconditionally guaranteed (excludes textbook rebinding).
Paperbacks are not guaranteed.
Please Note: All Digital Material Sales Final.