Ghost Hunter's Daughter
Ghost Hunter's Daughter

List Price:

$31.00
School Discount
Price:

$21.70
Qty(25-99)
Discount Price:

$21.27
Qty(100-249)
Discount Price:

$21.05
Qty(250-499)
Discount Price:

$20.83
Qty(>500)
Discount Price:

$20.40
To purchase this item, you must first login or register for a new account.

Annotation: A spooky stand-alone middle-grade novel from Dan Poblocki, perfect for fans of John Bellairs and Mary Downing Hahn. "The... more
Catalog Number: #238793
Format: Perma-Bound Edition from Publisher's Hardcover
All Formats: Search
Special Formats: Hot Title Hot Title
Copyright Date: 2020
Edition Date: 2020
Pages: 288
Availability: Available
New Title: Yes
ISBN: Publisher: 0-545-83004-4 Perma-Bound: 0-7804-8615-3
ISBN 13: Publisher: 978-0-545-83004-1 Perma-Bound: 978-0-7804-8615-7
Dewey: Fic
Language: English
Reviews:
Kirkus Reviews
When a famous ghost hunter vanishes on the job, his daughter and her spirit-sensitive classmate brave a vengeful curse to bring him home.Everyone in Archer’s Mills knows Claire Holiday, and all her classmates want to be her friend—but not on her account. Her father, Miles Holiday, hunts down and banishes ghosts on the popular TV show Invisible Intelligence. Unlike Claire, no one wants to be friends with Lucas Kent, who moved to Archer’s Mills two years ago to live with his paternal grandmother, who talks to ghosts and firmly disapproves of Miles Holiday’s methods. Forces from beyond the veil bring Lucas and Claire together when Lucas receives a desperate visitation from Claire’s dead mother, who warns him that her father is in grave danger. This fast-paced supernatural mystery switches between Lucas’ and Claire’s perspectives, so readers see both characters struggle with their own insecurities, discover potential in themselves, and grow by working together. The story is set after an unidentified natural disaster that devastated the East Coast, and cellphones no longer receive reception. All of the primary characters are presumed white, and the background characters fall into a white default. Poblocki deftly sustains tension until the resolution. Not all of the characters receive a happy ending, but the conclusion is satisfying and ties up loose ends all the same.Suspenseful and spine-shivering. (Paranormal mystery. 8-12)
School Library Journal
Gr 5 Up While Lucas and Claire are both new transplants to their school, Lucas's awkward glances and comments toward Claire make her nervous. Her dad is a ghost hunter on television, and Lucas's grandmother has powers to speak to the dead that Lucas might have inherited. When he's visited by Claire's deceased mother, they team up to travel to Hush Falls Holler, the last place Claire's dad was seen before his mysterious disappearance during a ghost-hunting trip. Chilling ghost stories are Poblocki's topic of choice and for good reason: His skilled organization of plot points and creepy characters in haunted settings captivates even the youngest readers. The story itself is an accessible mystery, providing complexity through red herrings that move the plot at a breakneck pace to heighten its dark mood. This is juxtaposed with the uplifting connection that emerges between Claire, Lucas, and Dolly, a Hush Falls native. Dolly's singular focus on saving the town and Claire's dad effortlessly solidifies their friendship and provides a foundation to root for a positive outcome. VERDICT An easy sell as a ghost story or mystery read for middle graders, with extra creepy cover art as a bonus. Alicia Abdul, Albany H.S., NY
Starred Review ALA Booklist
*Starred Review* Claire is known for her father, the host of the TV show Invisible Intelligence, in which he hunts ghosts, traps them, and sends them away. Lucas' grandmother Irene is known for her ability to speak with the dead, with spirits often asking her to relay messages to their loved ones. Lucas finds he has inherited this ability when Claire's mother comes knocking in the middle of the night and reveals that Claire's father, out hunting in Hush Falls, is in trouble. As Claire and Lucas set out to find him, they learn about the town's sad history, the dark spirit that may be lurking, and the truth behind Claire's father's disappearance. The story, set in the aftermath of a catastrophic tsunami, advances through Claire's and Lucas' alternating points of view, and as they each face their own struggles and fears, their friendship develops along with the thrilling suspense. A fast-paced supernatural mystery with an unexpected ending, this one is sure to keep readers up into the night, expecting a knock at the door.
Reviewing Agencies: - Find Other Reviewed Titles
School Library Journal (6/1/20)
Reading Level: 3.0
Interest Level: 3-6

A spooky stand-alone middle-grade novel from Dan Poblocki, perfect for fans of John Bellairs and Mary Downing Hahn.

"They say if you see him, it's already too late."

Claire doesn't believe in ghosts, even though her dad is a ghost hunter on TV. But then her dad disappears. And a strange boy in her class, Lucas, knows something about ghosts. One of them has a message for her: Her dad has been taken, and he's in grave danger.

Together, Claire and Lucas set out for the town of Hush Falls, where her dad was last seen. Legend says that a tall man in a dark tattered coat lurks near the local reservoir, and anyone who gets too close to old Lemuel Hush is never heard from again.

Claire and Lucas are determined to rescue her father. But how can they save him from the ghost of Hush when everyone knows that seeing the ghost means that you're destined to die...


*Prices subject to change without notice and listed in US dollars.
Perma-Bound bindings are unconditionally guaranteed (excludes textbook rebinding).
Paperbacks are not guaranteed.
Please Note: All Digital Material Sales Final.