Something to Say
Something to Say

List Price:

$28.76
School Discount
Price:

$20.13
Qty(25-99)
Discount Price:

$19.73
Qty(100-249)
Discount Price:

$19.53
Qty(250-499)
Discount Price:

$19.32
Qty(>500)
Discount Price:

$18.92
To purchase this item, you must first login or register for a new account.

Annotation: Synopsis coming soon.......
Catalog Number: #220123
Format: Perma-Bound Edition from Publisher's Hardcover
All Formats: Search
Special Formats: Hot Title Hot Title
Publisher: HarperCollins
Copyright Date: 2020
Edition Date: 2020
Pages: 304
Availability: Available
New Title: Yes
ISBN: Publisher: 0-06-283671-4 Perma-Bound: 0-7804-8456-8
ISBN 13: Publisher: 978-0-06-283671-7 Perma-Bound: 978-0-7804-8456-6
Dewey: Fic
Language: English
Reviews:
ALA Booklist
When 11-year-old Jenae arrives at John Wayne Junior High for her first day at the school, it's surrounded by protesters demanding a name change to honor civil rights activist Sylvia Mendez. While racial issues concern Jenae, who is Black, that morning she's focused on dealing with start-of-school jitters and with Aubrey, a boy who wants to befriend her. At home, she has different troubles. Irrationally blaming herself for her grandfather's stroke and the injury that has put her brother's college basketball career on hold, she feels responsible for making things better, but her methods sometimes backfire. And though she suffers from a paralyzing fear of public speaking, when a crucial moment arrives, she pulls herself together and speaks from the heart. The author of A Good Kind of Trouble (2019), Rame?e creates a number of convincing characters with depth and individuality. Jenae's distinctive first-person narrative is engaging as the story gradually builds momentum and she reveals her thoughts more fully. This satisfying novel revolves around civic engagement, family relationships, and an unexpected but ultimately welcome friendship.
School Library Journal Starred Review
Gr 37 Jenae likes to be invisible. She's starting junior high school without any friends, and she's just fine with that. Her plans start to fall through, however, when she meets Aubrey, a new boy from Chicago with flaming orange hair and a larger-than-life personality. Bonding over their favorite YouTube star, the two form a friendship. As part of an assignment for English class, Aubrey and Jenae are tasked with debating the school's proposed name change from John Wayne Junior High to Sylvia Mendez Junior High. Jenae would rather do anything than stand up in front of the class and speak, even though this cause means a lot to her. She also has her family to worry about: Her grandfather Gee suffers a stroke and loses the ability to speak, her father doesn't seem to have the time for her, Mama wants her to be bold and outgoing, and her brother Malcolm is home from playing college basketball due to a sports injury. Ramée ( A Good Kind of Trouble ) offers a strong representation of social anxiety in Jenae, and creates a dynamic and realistic cast of characters. The debate over the school's name change will prompt readers to reflect on timely social justice topics. VERDICT This is a compelling story about friendship, fighting for what you believe in, and finding your voice. A first purchase for middle grade collections. Katharine Gatcomb, Portsmouth P.L., NH
Starred Review for Kirkus Reviews
A new friend brings Jenae new challenges that move her out of her comfort zone.On the first day of junior high, Jenae doesn’t have any friends, and she feels invisible. Then she meets redhead Aubrey, who is also black, and he’s a huge fan of “Astrid Dane,” Jenae’s favorite YouTube show. Aubrey is loud and un–self-conscious while Jenae just wants to fade into the background. A class debate assignment is Jenae’s worst nightmare but a dream come true for Aubrey, who aspires to join the debate team. When they partner up, can Jenae face her fear of public speaking—and will her friendship with Aubrey survive? Jenae’s funny, candid voice makes her instantly endearing. Readers will also relate to her relationships with her tough-but-loving mother, her big brother, and her grandpa, who encourages Jenae to speak up. Fans of Ramée’s A Good Kind of Trouble (2019) will appreciate the subplot involving a controversial proposal to change the name of Jenae’s school, from John Wayne Junior High to Sylvia Mendez Junior High, to honor the Mexican American girl who integrated a California school years before Brown v. Board of Education. Indigo’s grayscale illustrations punctuate the generously leaded text.A timely, entertaining, unforgettable story about family, friendship, and finding your voice. (Fiction. 8-12)
Reviewing Agencies: - Find Other Reviewed Titles
School Library Journal Starred Review (6/1/20)
Reading Level: 3.0
Interest Level: 3-6

From the author of A Good Kind of Trouble , a Walter Dean Myers Honor Book, comes another unforgettable story about finding your voice--and finding your people. Perfect for fans of Sharon Draper, Meg Medina, and Jason Reynolds. Eleven-year-old Jenae doesn't have any friends--and she's just fine with that. She's so good at being invisible in school, it's almost like she has a superpower, like her idol, Astrid Dane. At home, Jenae has plenty of company, like her no-nonsense mama; her older brother, Malcolm, who is home from college after a basketball injury; and her beloved grandpa, Gee. Then a new student shows up at school--a boy named Aubrey with fiery red hair and a smile that won't quit. Jenae can't figure out why he keeps popping up everywhere she goes. The more she tries to push him away, the more he seems determined to be her friend. Despite herself, Jenae starts getting used to having him around. But when the two are paired up for a class debate about the proposed name change for their school, Jenae knows this new friendship has an expiration date. Aubrey is desperate to win and earn a coveted spot on the debate team. There's just one problem: Jenae would do almost anything to avoid speaking up in front of an audience--including risking the first real friendship she's ever had. --Erin Entrada Kelly, Newbery Medal-winning author of Hello, Universe


*Prices subject to change without notice and listed in US dollars.
Perma-Bound bindings are unconditionally guaranteed (excludes textbook rebinding).
Paperbacks are not guaranteed.
Please Note: All Digital Material Sales Final.