Shirley and Jamila Save Their Summer
Shirley and Jamila Save Their Summer

List Price:

$22.91
School Discount
Price:

$16.04
Qty(25-99)
Discount Price:

$15.72
Qty(100-249)
Discount Price:

$15.56
Qty(250-499)
Discount Price:

$15.40
Qty(>500)
Discount Price:

$15.08
To purchase this item, you must first login or register for a new account.

Annotation: This middle-grade graphic novel for fans of Roller Girl and Smile introduces Jamila and Shirley, two unlikely friends wh... more
Catalog Number: #220122
Format: Perma-Bound Edition
All Formats: Search
Special Formats: Graphic Novel Graphic Novel Hot Title Hot Title
Publisher: Penguin
Copyright Date: 2020
Edition Date: 2020
Pages: 224
Availability: Available
New Title: Yes
ISBN: Publisher: 0-525-55286-3 Perma-Bound: 0-7804-8455-X
ISBN 13: Publisher: 978-0-525-55286-4 Perma-Bound: 978-0-7804-8455-9
Dewey: Fic
Language: English
Reviews:
School Library Journal
Gr 36 When Jamila Waheed is dragged by her mother to a garage sale in her new neighborhood, she encounters Shirley Bones, and they bond over their mutual disgust for the summer camps that threaten to ruin their school vacation. Shirley manages to convince their moms to let them spend their summers on their preferred activities; soon, Jamila is playing basketball while Shirley carts around unusual objects and holds meetings on the side of the basketball court. As the two fifth graders spend more time together, Jamila becomes curious about Shirley's activities and learns that she is an amateur detective. Intrigued, Jamila becomes part of Shirley's investigation into a missing gecko, and the case takes the girls on a trek around their neighborhood and gives them a new understanding of friendship. Although Shirley takes top billing in the title, the story is told mostly from Jamila's point of view. This engaging tale features well-developed characters and a clever mystery. The cast of characters is diverse: Jamila is brown-skinned, and her mother wears a head scarf outside the house; Shirley is white; and the supporting characters come from a variety of backgrounds. Goerz's bright line drawings are attractive, expressive, and easy to follow. VERDICT This well-executed graphic novel strikes a balance between a focus on meaningful relationships and just plain fun; it's a great choice for fans of both the "Cam Jansen" books and Raina Telgemeier. Sarah Reid, Four County Lib. Syst., NY
Starred Review for Kirkus Reviews
When Jamila Waheed meets fellow 10-year-old Shirley Bones at a garage sale, she’s hopeful she’s made her first neighborhood friend.Shirley’s mother is sending her to camp for the summer, against her will. When Jamila confesses that she’s in the same situation, Shirley, who’s a bit of an oddball, says that she’ll convince her mother to convince Jamila’s mother to let them skip camp and spend time together instead. Jamila is skeptical, but Shirley comes through, and before long, the two girls are spending their days together on the nearby basketball court. But instead of practicing, like Jamila, Shirley makes it her home base for doing detective work. When Jamila joins Shirley, the two begin to forge a true friendship—one that their latest case puts to the test. This fast-paced graphic novel set in Canada features a diverse cast of characters featured in drawings teeming with movement, detail, and life. Jamila is a brown-skinned Muslim girl, and Shirley is white. Goerz is a master of character development, making no one into a villain and no one into a saint and giving each a fascinating role to play. While Jamila and Shirley’s friendship is the highlight, it’s only one of many deeply satisfactory layers of storytelling.An action-packed graphic novel about finding—and forgiving—our closest friends. (Graphic fiction. 8-12)
Reviewing Agencies: - Find Other Reviewed Titles
Publishers Weekly (6/1/20)
School Library Journal (6/1/20)
Reading Level: 3.0
Interest Level: 4-7

This middle-grade graphic novel for fans of Roller Girl and Smile introduces Jamila and Shirley, two unlikely friends who save each other's summers while solving their neighborhood's biggest mysteries.

Jamila Waheed is staring down a lonely summer in a new neighborhood--until she meets Shirley Bones. Sure, Shirley's a little strange, but both girls need a new plan for the summer, and they might as well become friends.

Then this kid Oliver shows up begging for Shirley's help. His pet gecko has disappeared, and he's sure it was stolen! That's when Jamila discovers Shirley's secret: She's the neighborhood's best kid detective, and she's on the case. When Jamila discovers she's got some detective skills of her own, a crime-solving partnership is born.

The mystery of the missing gecko turns Shirley and Jamila's summer upside down. And when their partnership hits a rough patch, they have to work together to solve the greatest mystery of all: What it means to be a friend.


*Prices subject to change without notice and listed in US dollars.
Perma-Bound bindings are unconditionally guaranteed (excludes textbook rebinding).
Paperbacks are not guaranteed.
Please Note: All Digital Material Sales Final.