Beetle & The Hollowbones
Beetle & The Hollowbones

List Price:

$25.31
School Discount
Price:

$17.72
Qty(25-99)
Discount Price:

$17.37
Qty(100-249)
Discount Price:

$17.19
Qty(250-499)
Discount Price:

$17.01
Qty(>500)
Discount Price:

$16.66
To purchase this item, you must first login or register for a new account.

Annotation: An enchanting, riotous, and playfully illustrated debut graphic novel following a young goblin trying to save her best f... more
Catalog Number: #219757
Format: Perma-Bound Edition
All Formats: Search
Special Formats: Graphic Novel Graphic Novel Hot Title Hot Title
Copyright Date: 2020
Edition Date: 2020
Pages: 256
Availability: Available
New Title: Yes
ISBN: Publisher: 1-534-44154-9 Perma-Bound: 0-7804-8437-1
ISBN 13: Publisher: 978-1-534-44154-5 Perma-Bound: 978-0-7804-8437-5
Dewey: Fic
Language: English
Reviews:
School Library Journal Starred Review
Gr 48 Beetle, a 12-year-old goblin, lives with her grandmother, the helpful town witch. When she's not bored to tears being homeschooled on goblin magic, she's hanging out with her best friend, the teeny and adorable Blob Ghost, a floating, speechless, but incredibly expressive red orb who haunts the local mall. Though magical forces prevent Blob Ghost from leaving the mall, Beetle is certain that the two will always be palsuntil Beetle's former best friend, Kat Hollowbone, arrives. Beetle and Kat don't get along quite the same as beforethere might be feelings involved nowbut Kat isn't here alone. Kat's a sorcerer's apprentice for her menacing aunt, Marla Hollowbone, who just happens to have bought out the mall. And unless Beetle and Kat do something, the mall will be demolished, with Blob Ghost still trapped inside. Cartoonist Layne makes a stellar debut. Simultaneously gorgeous and goofy, the artwork is reminiscent of the animated series Bee and Puppycat and a delicious love letter to shoujo manga. Layne's supernatural cast is fantastic, from green-skinned Beetle and her grandmother to Kat and Marla, respectively, skeletal cat and bird creatures. Characters' LGBTQ identities, such as Beetle and Kat's changing relationship, as well as the use of the they pronoun for Blob Ghost, are gently woven throughout the narrative. Relying on intersecting plotlines in lieu of a more straightforward romp, Layne conveys themes of independence, identity, and realization of one's potential. VERDICT Action-packed yet heartfelt, short and sweet yet riveting, this one is not to be missed. Matisse Mozer, Los Angeles P.L.
Reviewing Agencies: - Find Other Reviewed Titles
Starred Review ALA Booklist (6/1/20)
Starred Review for Kirkus Reviews (6/1/20)
School Library Journal Starred Review (6/1/20)
Horn Book (6/1/20)
Reading Level: 3.0
Interest Level: 4-7
Lexile: GN380L

An enchanting, riotous, and playfully illustrated debut graphic novel following a young goblin trying to save her best friend from the haunted mall—perfect for fans of Steven Universe and Adventure Time.

In the eerie town of ‘Allows, some people get to be magical sorceresses, while other people have their spirits trapped in the mall for all ghastly eternity.

Then there’s twelve-year-old goblin-witch Beetle, who’s caught in between. She’d rather skip being homeschooled completely and spend time with her best friend, Blob Glost. But the mall is getting boring, and B.G. is cursed to haunt it, tethered there by some unseen force. And now Beetle’s old best friend, Kat, is back in town for a sorcery apprenticeship with her Aunt Hollowbone. Kat is everything Beetle wants to be: beautiful, cool, great at magic, and kind of famous online. Beetle’s quickly being left in the dust.

But Kat’s mentor has set her own vile scheme in motion. If Blob Ghost doesn’t escape the mall soon, their afterlife might be coming to a very sticky end. Now, Beetle has less than a week to rescue her best ghost, encourage Kat to stand up for herself, and confront the magic she’s been avoiding for far too long. And hopefully ride a broom without crashing.


*Prices subject to change without notice and listed in US dollars.
Perma-Bound bindings are unconditionally guaranteed (excludes textbook rebinding).
Paperbacks are not guaranteed.
Please Note: All Digital Material Sales Final.