The Brave
The Brave

List Price:

$28.57
School Discount
Price:

$20.00
Qty(25-99)
Discount Price:

$19.60
Qty(100-249)
Discount Price:

$19.40
Qty(250-499)
Discount Price:

$19.20
Qty(>500)
Discount Price:

$18.80
To purchase this item, you must first login or register for a new account.

Annotation: Perfect for fans of Rain Reign , this middle-grade novel The Brave is about a boy with an OCD issue and his move to a re... more
Catalog Number: #219708
Format: Perma-Bound Edition from Publisher's Hardcover
All Formats: Search
Special Formats: Hot Title Hot Title
Publisher: Feiwel & Friends
Copyright Date: 2020
Edition Date: 2020
Pages: 320
Availability: Available
New Title: Yes
ISBN: Publisher: 1-250-24775-6 Perma-Bound: 0-7804-8406-1
ISBN 13: Publisher: 978-1-250-24775-9 Perma-Bound: 978-0-7804-8406-1
Dewey: Fic
Language: English
Reviews:
School Library Journal Starred Review
Gr 5 Up Collin may be in middle school, but readers of all ages will relate to his journey of self-discovery. Collin is neurodiverse; he counts every letter that is spoken to him and compulsively says the resulting number out loud. This makes him a target for bullies. His father is cold and, after yet another blow-up at school, he sends Collin to live with the mother he has never met. She is Ojibwe, and lives on a reservation in Minnesota. This move appears to be a terrifying life change, but it ends up being wonderful. Collin meets family, learns about Native customs, and becomes friends with Orenda, the girl next door. Through his friendship with Orenda, Collin accepts things about himself, learns to trust, and grows stronger both physically and emotionally. However, Orenda is terminally ill. Ultimately, he learns to give her strength in return. Collin finds inspiration in the books that Orenda introduces him to, specifically the novels of Adriana Mather. Ghosts, spiritualism, Ojibwe culture, and the ability to find wonder in everyday events all blend seamlessly into a powerful coming-of-age story. VERDICT This is an amazing debut full of heart, authenticity, and courage. A recommended first purchase for libraries serving middle graders and teens. Claire Covington, Broadway H.S., VA
Reviewing Agencies: - Find Other Reviewed Titles
School Library Journal Starred Review (6/1/20)
Reading Level: 4.0
Interest Level: 5-9

Perfect for fans of Rain Reign , this middle-grade novel The Brave is about a boy with an OCD issue and his move to a reservation to live with his biological mother. Collin can't help himself--he has a unique condition that finds him counting every letter spoken to him. It's a quirk that makes him a prime target for bullies, and a continual frustration to the adults around him, including his father. When Collin asked to leave yet another school, his dad decides to send him to live in Minnesota with the mother he's never met. She is Ojibwe, and lives on a reservation. Collin arrives in Duluth with his loyal dog, Seven, and quickly finds his mom and his new home to be warm, welcoming, and accepting of his condition. Collin's quirk is matched by that of his neighbor, Orenda, girl who lives mostly in her treehouse and believes she is turning into a butterfly. With Orenda's help, Collin works hard to overcome his challenges. His real test comes when he must step up for his new friend and trust his new family.


*Prices subject to change without notice and listed in US dollars.
Perma-Bound bindings are unconditionally guaranteed (excludes textbook rebinding).
Paperbacks are not guaranteed.
Please Note: All Digital Material Sales Final.