Girl, Unframed
Girl, Unframed

List Price:

$31.00
School Discount
Price:

$21.70
Qty(25-99)
Discount Price:

$21.27
Qty(100-249)
Discount Price:

$21.05
Qty(250-499)
Discount Price:

$20.83
Qty(>500)
Discount Price:

$20.40
To purchase this item, you must first login or register for a new account.

Annotation: A teen girl’s summer with her mother turns sinister in this gripping thriller about the insidious dangers of unwanted at... more
Catalog Number: #219639
Format: Perma-Bound Edition from Publisher's Hardcover
All Formats: Search
Special Formats: Hot Title Hot Title
Copyright Date: 2020
Edition Date: 2020
Pages: 368
Availability: Available
New Title: Yes
ISBN: Publisher: 1-534-42697-3 Perma-Bound: 0-7804-8400-2
ISBN 13: Publisher: 978-1-534-42697-9 Perma-Bound: 978-0-7804-8400-9
Dewey: Fic
Language: English
Reviews:
Publishers Weekly
A brief list of court evidence prefaces each chapter of this suspenseful novel, indicating that a crime will be committed between its pages, which slowly reveal the wrongdoing and its perpetrator. Sydney Reilly, 15, dreads having to leave her Seattle academy to spend the summer with Lila, her movie star mother who is now renting a San Francisco home from her wealthy boyfriend, Jake. Sydney is wary of real estate developer and art
School Library Journal Starred Review
Gr 9 Up Sixteen-year-old Sydney Reilly is headed home for the summer, although her sexpot actress mother's new house in San Francisco hardly qualifies as "home" for her. Sydney can't shake her sense of foreboding, which intensifies when her mother's new boyfriend is the only one at the airport to greet her. It's going to be a summer that she won't soon forget. Caletti's novel is a brilliant coming-of-age story wrapped in a page-turning thriller. The atmospheric San Francisco setting enhances the overall moodiness, anxiety, and restlessness of a young woman moving from girlhood to adulthood and finding herself under the male gaze for the first time. Sydney's understanding of herself and her place in the world is upended as she deals with best friends, first boyfriends, sexual harassment, and domestic abuse. Caletti's sharp, complex, well-drawn character will compel and delight readers. VERDICT Ultimately hopeful, this is one for fans of realistic contemporary dramas, with a side of mystery, and excellent writing throughout. Elaine Baran Black, Georgia P.L. Svc., Atlanta
Starred Review for Kirkus Reviews
A 16-year-old girl grapples with being objectified by men.Sydney Reilly had a standout school year with her friends in Seattle; the thought of leaving for a summer in San Francisco with her famous mother, Lila, instills dread. She has a deep sense that “it” is about to happen—she isn’t sure exactly what, but something large that will change everything. At her mother’s ocean-view home, she’s alone with Lila and her new boyfriend, Jake Antonetti, a real estate agent–turned–art dealer. By turns needy and unavailable, Lila can seem more like the child than the parent. Syd hides out from Jake and Lila’s fights, wandering nearby beaches, where she meets and is immediately drawn to Nicco Ricci. Her desire for him feels all-consuming, and their relationship immediately triggers Jake, who views her virginity as something he must protect. Between Jake, the leering construction worker next door, and creeps in the city, Syd faces a barrage of unwanted male attention. Lists of courtroom exhibits prefacing each chapter provide clues to the climax. Syd thoughtfully processes her burgeoning sexuality and the ugliness that it breeds in men, tracing its effects back to her mother’s own experiences. Though the affluent backdrop provides little diversity, Syd’s story outlines important, uncomfortable experiences many girls face without either flinching or offering a picture-perfect ending. All major characters are white.A frank, engrossing examination of the ways society complicates young women’s burgeoning sexuality. (Fiction. 14-18)
Starred Review ALA Booklist
*Starred Review* Caletti is at the top of her game in this fully dimensional mystery. As college student Sydney Reilly unfolds the story of her sixteenth summer in a San Francisco mansion with her movie-star mother, Lila Shore, what begins as a beautifully described moment of sexual awakening takes on Syd's growing feminism and refusal to be anyone's object. Chapter headings hint at the main event by listing exhibits from what we begin to realize is a murder trial. Raised by her maternal grandmother, Edwina, while her mother struggles to revive her flagging career, Syd is reluctant to leave her comfortable life in Seattle and spend the summer with egocentric, childlike Lila pecially with Lila's new boyfriend, shady art dealer Jake, living with them as well. Jake is alternately jealous of Syd's presence and uncomfortably attentive, judging her clothing, her activities, and especially her new boyfriend, Nicco. Tensions build to a riveting and realistic climax that recalls the Lana Turner/Cheryl Crane/Johnny Stompanato incident. With a subtle, believable twist that encapsulates this particular mother/daughter relationship, Caletti delivers the near impossible: a page-turner grounded in thoughtful feminism. There are so many beautiful small touches, from the multiple meanings of the title to the sweet rituals Syd and Nicco develop to the importance of therapy to recover from trauma. Name recognition aside, this is a title deserving wide promotion and discussion.
Reviewing Agencies: - Find Other Reviewed Titles
Starred Review ALA Booklist
School Library Journal Starred Review (6/1/20)
Publishers Weekly
Reading Level: 6.0
Interest Level: 9-12
Lexile: 660L

A teen girl’s summer with her mother turns sinister in this gripping thriller about the insidious dangers of unwanted attention, from Printz Honor medal–winning and National Book Award finalist author Deb Caletti—perfect for fans of Courtney Summers’s Sadie.

Sydney Reilly has a bad feeling about going home to San Francisco before she even gets on the plane. How could she not? Her mother is Lila Shore—the Lila Shore—a film star who prizes her beauty and male attention above all else…certainly above her daughter.

But Sydney’s worries multiply when she discovers that Lila is involved with the dangerous Jake, an art dealer with shady connections. Jake loves all beautiful objects, and Syndey can feel his eyes on her whenever he’s around. And he’s not the only one. Sydney is starting to attract attention—good and bad—wherever she goes: from sweet, handsome Nicco Ricci, from the unsettling construction worker next door, and even from Lila. Behaviors that once seemed like misunderstandings begin to feel like threats as the summer grows longer and hotter.

It’s unnerving, how beauty is complicated, and objects have histories, and you can be looked at without ever being seen. But real danger, crimes of passion, the kind of stuff where someone gets killed—it only mostly happens in the movies, Sydney is sure. Until the night something life-changing happens on the stairs that lead to the beach. A thrilling night that goes suddenly very wrong. When loyalties are called into question. And when Sydney learns a terrible truth: beautiful objects can break.


*Prices subject to change without notice and listed in US dollars.
Perma-Bound bindings are unconditionally guaranteed (excludes textbook rebinding).
Paperbacks are not guaranteed.
Please Note: All Digital Material Sales Final.