As the Shadow Rises
As the Shadow Rises

List Price:

$32.40
School Discount
Price:

$22.68
Qty(25-99)
Discount Price:

$22.23
Qty(100-249)
Discount Price:

$22.00
Qty(250-499)
Discount Price:

$21.77
Qty(>500)
Discount Price:

$21.32

Series: The Age of Darkness Vol. 2   

To purchase this item, you must first login or register for a new account.

Annotation: Kingdoms have begun to fall to a doomsday cult, the magical Graced are being persecuted, and an ancient power threatens to break free. But with the world hurtling toward its prophesized end, Anton's haunting vision reveals the dangerous beginnings of a plan to stop the Age of Darkness.
Catalog Number: #219488
Format: Perma-Bound Edition from Publisher's Hardcover
All Formats: Search
Publisher: Henry Holt & Co.
Copyright Date: 2020
Edition Date: 2020
Pages: 488 pages
Availability: Available
New Title: Yes
ISBN: Publisher: 1-250-21177-8 Perma-Bound: 0-7804-8381-2
ISBN 13: Publisher: 978-1-250-21177-4 Perma-Bound: 978-0-7804-8381-1
Dewey: Fic
LCCN: 2020009858
Dimensions: 23 cm.
Subject Heading:
Prophets. Fiction.
Language: English
Reviews:
Kirkus Reviews
Five characters face a prophesied Age of Darkness in this epic fantasy sequel.As the world starts to crumble under a dangerous cult whose political power increases as they persecute the magical Graced, the final pieces of the last prophecy finally align: Gambler Anton, the Last Prophet, has finally been revealed, and together with warrior Jude, the Keeper of the Word and Anton’s protector, he must follow the path set by his visions in order to stop the world ending. Meanwhile, Prince Hassan—the Deceiver—risks everything he holds dear in order to regain his throne just as Ephyra, the ruthless assassin known as the Pale Hand, grows increasingly dangerous as she searches for Eleazar’s Chalice, the relic that will save her revenant sister, Beru, who just may be the last harbinger herself. Adventurous relic-hunting, mind-blowing twists, budding love, and terrible betrayals feature in this multiple-narrator, character-driven study of power, agency, and identity and the ways these are affected by the interwoven threads of both history and legend. The promised rising darkness sees its characters facing their inner turmoil in preparation for their roles in the impending apocalypse, often making poor decisions and skirting the line (and, in at least one case, fully crossing it) between villainy and heroism in a story with plenty of empowered brown and queer characters.A strong sequel that deftly avoids middle-book syndrome and sets the stage for a promising finale. (Fantasy. 14-adult)
School Library Journal
Gr 9 Up The first book in this series ended on the cusp of the Age of Darkness, as religious beliefs clashed in Nazirah and nearby lands. The main characters from There Will Come a Darkness drive alternating chapters: Jude struggles without his Grace, with Anton by his side and their mutual attraction becoming harder to deny. Rightful heir Hassan and fellow fighter and companion Khepri have joined the Scarab's Wing to depose false Queen Lethia and the Witnesses who support her rule. Ephyra is not pleased to be magically leashed to Illya, Anton's brother, yet much to her chagrin, she invites him to her bed. Revenants Beru and Hector share guilt and blame over the circumstances of their deaths, while their intermingled esha (life force) is drawing them closer. The hunt is on for four vital relics, and the many characters, in skin tones from pale to bronze to tan (and in one case, heavily tattooed), each have parts to play. The Necromancer King, the Hierophant, and a god long thought dead also play key parts in determining if the future is darkness or a reckoning for a new era. VERDICT The large cast of characters crosses miles and formidable obstacles while searching for relics, interpreting dreams, and occasionally seeking solace in each other's beds. Buy where the first book is popular.Maggie Knapp, Trinity Valley Sch., Fort Worth, TX
Starred Review for Kirkus Reviews
Five characters face a prophesied Age of Darkness in this epic fantasy sequel.As the world starts to crumble under a dangerous cult whose political power increases as they persecute the magical Graced, the final pieces of the last prophecy finally align: Gambler Anton, the Last Prophet, has finally been revealed, and together with warrior Jude, the Keeper of the Word and Anton’s protector, he must follow the path set by his visions in order to stop the world ending. Meanwhile, Prince Hassan—the Deceiver—risks everything he holds dear in order to regain his throne just as Ephyra, the ruthless assassin known as the Pale Hand, grows increasingly dangerous as she searches for Eleazar’s Chalice, the relic that will save her revenant sister, Beru, who just may be the last harbinger herself. Adventurous relic-hunting, mind-blowing twists, budding love, and terrible betrayals feature in this multiple-narrator, character-driven study of power, agency, and identity and the ways these are affected by the interwoven threads of both history and legend. The promised rising darkness sees its characters facing their inner turmoil in preparation for their roles in the impending apocalypse, often making poor decisions and skirting the line (and, in at least one case, fully crossing it) between villainy and heroism in a story with plenty of empowered brown and queer characters.A strong sequel that deftly avoids middle-book syndrome and sets the stage for a promising finale. (Fantasy. 14-adult)
Reviewing Agencies: - Find Other Reviewed Titles
Starred Review for Kirkus Reviews
Reading Level: 6.0
Interest Level: 9-12

Six of Crows meets Graceling with a dash of Winter is Coming in Katy Rose Pool's second installment of the action-packed and swoon-worthy Age of Darkness series-- As the Shadow Rises . As the Shadow Rises solidifies Katy Rose Pool's status as one of the best fantasy writers of the 21st century. -- Popsugar The Last Prophet has been found, yet he sees destruction ahead. In this sequel to the critically-acclaimed There Will Come a Darkness , kingdoms have begun to fall to a doomsday cult, the magical Graced are being persecuted, and an ancient power threatens to break free. But with the world hurtling toward its prophesized end, Anton's haunting vision reveals the dangerous beginnings of a plan to stop the Age of Darkness. As Jude, Keeper of the Order of the Last Light, returns home in disgrace, his quest to aid the Prophet is complicated by his growing feelings for Anton. Meanwhile, the assassin known as the Pale Hand will stop at nothing to find her undead sister before she dies for good, even if it means letting the world burn. And in Nazirah, Hassan, the kingdom-less Prince, forms a risky pact to try to regain his throne. When the forces of light and darkness collide in the City of Mercy, old wounds are reopened, new alliances are tested, and the end of the world begins. The Age of Darkness trilogy is perfect for fans of Throne of Glass , Children of Blood and Bone , and An Ember in the Ashes . * Adventurous relic-hunting, mind-blowing twists, budding love, and terrible betrayals feature in this multiple-narrator, character-driven study of power, agency, and identity. -- Kirkus Reviews , starred review Praise for There Will Come a Darkness Reading this intricate YA fantasy, you get the feeling Katy Rose Pool's plot is always seven steps ahead of you. You'll want to catch up as quickly as possible. -- Refinery 29


*Prices subject to change without notice and listed in US dollars.
Perma-Bound bindings are unconditionally guaranteed (excludes textbook rebinding).
Paperbacks are not guaranteed.
Please Note: All Digital Material Sales Final.