Always so Grumpy
Always so Grumpy
Publisher's Hardcover9.34
$9.34
To purchase this item, you must first login or register for a new account.
Annotation: Age range 5 to 9 A delightfully amusing interactive book that proves there's always a way to turn a grumpy mood into a positive attitude. For readers of Grumpy Monkey and Press Here comes an all new interactive story about grumpiness to pair with the adorable Always More Love . This playful and sweet story is about a darling, squishable hedgehog who can, on occasion, much like toddlers, be a little grumpy! Can you cheer up the hedgehog and make him feel better? Go ahead and tickle, hug, shake, and spin the book! With a little love, you just might turn the hedgehog's day around!
Catalog Number: #218311
Format: Publisher's Hardcover
Publisher: Sourcebooks, Inc
Copyright Date: 2020
Edition Date: 2020
Illustrator: AndoTwin
Pages: 40
Availability: Available
ISBN: 1-7282-1620-6
ISBN 13: 978-1-7282-1620-1
Dewey: E
Dimensions: 21 cm.
Language: English
Reviews:
Kirkus Reviews
A surly, big-eyed hedgehog is having a bad day, and it’s up to readers to cheer them up.The prickly hedgehog opens with the warning: “I am grumpy. I am crabby. I am not having a good day.” The hedgehog then suggests that readers tell a joke or make a silly noise, which elicits a smirk from the hedgehog but doesn’t work to chase away the sour mood. Each double-page spread includes a new demand that is generally unrelated to the previous one and, predictably, can’t improve their temper. Switching back and forth between actions that readers take independently of the book, like making a funny noise, or things readers should perform on the book, like shaking it, lends an inconsistent and awkward feel to the progression of the story. The interactive elements lack the engagement and cohesion of Hervé Tullet’s Press Here (2011) and other books in this style, reading like half-hearted suggestions from a character with no clear motivation other than being grouchy. The hedgehog finally requests a hug and an “I love you,” which seems to turn the bad mood around. The hedgehog exclaims, “Thanks for sticking with me, even when I wasn’t very much fun to be around.” This reminds readers that we all have bad days, but it might not be enough to make this book a pleasant experience.Grumpy animals are sometimes better left alone. (Picture book. 3-6)
Reviewing Agencies: - Find Other Reviewed Titles
Kirkus Reviews
Reading Level: 2.0
Interest Level: P-2
Lexile: AD450L

An all-new interactive picture book full of humor and sweetness perfect for the lovable grumps in your life! This adorable little hedgehog is always so GRUMPY. Seriously, don't even try to make the hedgie laugh with a silly noise, a tickle, or rocking it to sleep. It won't work! ...or will it? Go ahead--hug, shake, and spin the book in this fun and interactive readaloud to see if a little love can make it feel better and turn that frown upside down! Readers of Don't Push the Button and Press Here by Herve Tullet will love this cute, interactive story! We can all feel a little grumpy and have bad moods sometimes, and this sweet and funny picture book for kids is a great way to talk about those big, confusing feelings with children and show them you care. The best book and perfect gift for:Toddlers and children ages 3-7Social emotional learning and teaching children about identifying emotions and self-regulationPreschool and kindergarten learners: great for at-home learning activities for kids!BirthdaysHoliday stocking stuffer and Christmas gifts for kidsEaster basketsand more!


*Prices subject to change without notice and listed in US dollars.
Perma-Bound bindings are unconditionally guaranteed (excludes textbook rebinding).
Paperbacks are not guaranteed.
Please Note: All Digital Material Sales Final.