Instant Karma
Instant Karma
Perma-Bound Edition17.47
Perma-Bound from Publisher's Hardcover17.47
Publisher's Hardcover16.14
Paperback10.19

List Price:

$24.96
School Discount
Price:

$17.47
Qty(25-99)
Discount Price:

$17.12
Qty(100-249)
Discount Price:

$16.95
Qty(250-499)
Discount Price:

$16.77
Qty(>500)
Discount Price:

$16.42
To purchase this item, you must first login or register for a new account.
Annotation: In Marissa Meyer's young adult contemporary romance, a girl is suddenly gifted with the ability to cast instant karma on those around her - both good and bad.
Catalog Number: #215814
Format: Perma-Bound from Publisher's Hardcover
Publisher: Feiwel & Friends
Copyright Date: 2020
Edition Date: 2020
Pages: 390 pages
Availability: Available
ISBN: Publisher: 1-250-61881-9 Perma-Bound: 0-7804-7994-7
ISBN 13: Publisher: 978-1-250-61881-8 Perma-Bound: 978-0-7804-7994-4
Dewey: Fic
Dimensions: 24 cm.
Language: English
Reviews:
ALA Booklist
Prudence is a judgmental overachiever who can't abide an academic slight. She's certain that despite Quint, her loafer lab partner in marine biology class, her project will earn her the top grade and benefit her coastal town. However, when Quint finally shows up to class for their presentation, he brings more heft to the project than Pru anticipated and pulls off the higher grade, much to Pru's angry surprise. After an evening out with friends, during which she hits her head, Pru discovers she has the magical ability to exact karmic justice on people in town cept for Quint, on whom her wishes have the opposite effect. Pru begs Quint to help her improve her final grade, and, along the way, she learns that selflessness and truth have their own rewards. While the instant-karma aspect of the story isn't necessary, the story's heart makes it a romantic tale well worth reading, and the inclusion of marine life rescue centers is an added bonus. Perfect for fans of Rainbow Rowell, Maurene Goo, or Meg Cabot.HIGH-DEMAND BACKSTORY: With a 500k first printing and a 10-city author tour on tap, this seems fated to be another best-seller for Meyer.
School Library Journal
Gr 8 Up-Prudence Daniels is facing a C in science. It's the worst failure in her academic career, and it's all thanks to her irresponsible lab partner, Quint Erickson, who rarely does the work and shows up late to their group presentation. Her science teacher allows her to re-do the assignment on the condition that she and Quint work together. Now, she's got to convince Quint to work with her again, and with the power of instant karma in her hands, it just might work. But karma and Quint don't always work the way that Pru expects them to. This enemies-to-lovers contemporary romance has the slightest whiff of magical realism as Prudence mysteriously gains the power to reward or punish, but the mechanic is underutilized, and Prudence's choices always backfire on her, largely telegraphing the twists and turns of the plot. Despite its flaws, however, this is an enjoyable read. The romance is a slow burn, and though Pru initially thinks Quint is lazy and irresponsible, readers will be drawn to his work at the sea animal rescue center in the same way that Pru is. Pru is described as white; Quint is described as having tan skin. Secondary characters are well-drawn, particularly Pru's Latinx friend Ari. A brief mystery subplot near the end of the story amps up tension as the romance coalesces. It is solved a little too easily, but that won't deter readers from this breezy, beachy read. VERDICT Though not as compelling as some of Meyer's other works, this light, airy romance should appeal to fans of Emma Lord's Tweet Cute and Crystal Cestari's The Best Kind of Magic . Mimi Powell, Lib. Systs. and Svcs., Kissimmee, FL
Reviewing Agencies: - Find Other Reviewed Titles
ALA Booklist (9/1/20)
School Library Journal (9/1/20)
Word Count: 132,777
Reading Level: 5.0
Interest Level: 7-12
Accelerated Reader: reading level: 5.0 / points: 20.0 / quiz: 510454 / grade: Upper Grades

In New York Times bestselling author Marissa Meyer's young adult contemporary romance, a girl is suddenly gifted with the ability to cast instant karma on those around her - both good and bad. Chronic overachiever Prudence Barnett is always quick to cast judgment on the lazy, rude, and arrogant residents of her coastal town. Her dreams of karmic justice are fulfilled when, after a night out with her friends, she wakes up with the sudden ability to cast instant karma on those around her. Pru giddily makes use of the power, punishing everyone from public vandals to mean gossips, but there is one person on whom her powers consistently backfire: Quint Erickson, her slacker of a lab partner. Quint is annoyingly cute and impressively noble, especially when it comes to his work with the rescue center for local sea animals. When Pru resigns herself to working at the rescue center for extra credit, she begins to uncover truths about baby otters, environmental upheaval, and romantic crossed signals--not necessarily in that order. Her newfound karmic insights reveal how thin the line is between virtue and vanity, generosity and greed . . . love and hate... and fate.


*Prices subject to change without notice and listed in US dollars.
Perma-Bound bindings are unconditionally guaranteed (excludes textbook rebinding).
Paperbacks are not guaranteed.
Please Note: All Digital Material Sales Final.