Dinosaur Lady
Dinosaur Lady

List Price:

$30.29
School Discount
Price:

$21.20
Qty(25-99)
Discount Price:

$20.78
Qty(100-249)
Discount Price:

$20.56
Qty(250-499)
Discount Price:

$20.35
Qty(>500)
Discount Price:

$19.93
To purchase this item, you must first login or register for a new account.

Annotation: Revealing to children that the first person to discover dinosaur bones was a girl, a picture-book introduction to the life and achievements of Mary Anning describes how her work reshaped scientific understanding of the natural world and helped launch the field of paleontology.
Genre: Biographies
Catalog Number: #211394
Format: Perma-Bound Edition from Publisher's Hardcover
All Formats: Search
Publisher: Sourcebooks, Inc
Copyright Date: 2020
Edition Date: 2020
Illustrator: Alvarez Miguens, Marta,
Pages: 40
Availability: Available
ISBN: Publisher: 1-7282-0951-X Perma-Bound: 0-605-02098-1
ISBN 13: Publisher: 978-1-7282-0951-7 Perma-Bound: 978-0-605-02098-6
Dewey: 921
LCCN: 2020006221
Dimensions: 26 cm.
Language: English
Reviews:
ALA Booklist
Born into poverty on the southern coast of England in 1799, Mary Anning helped support her family by collecting shells washed ashore by the sea and fossils she chiseled from the crumbling cliffs near her home. In 1811, she and her brother discovered an Ichthyosaurus fossil, which led London scientists to theorize that Earth was older than previously thought and that the extinction of a species was possible. In 1823, Anning found a Plesiosaurus, and in 1828, a Pterosaur. Reading, drawing fossils, and experimenting led her to form valid theories of her own, which interested few in the scientific establishment during her lifetime. The book's appended author's note includes more biographical information, along with the "She sells seashells" tongue twister that Anning is said to have inspired. Skeers organizes her material well and presents it clearly, keeping the age of her audience in mind. Miguéns, who illustrated Jess Keating's Shark Lady (2017), contributes a series of nicely composed digital illustrations showing Anning in action. This appealing picture book celebrates Anning's significant contributions to paleontology.
Kirkus Reviews
A new picture-book biography of the pioneering scientist and finder of bones.Armed with both a hammer and chisel and a spirit of inquiry, young Mary Anning searched the beach and cliffs of Lyme Regis, England, eventually unearthing the bones of an enormous, heretofore-unknown creature. Action-filled illustrations and straightforward text allow Anning’s determination to shine through and show how her knowledge as well as the fossils she found were initially dismissed because of the sexism of the time yet nevertheless led to the study of fossils, the invention of paleontology, the understanding that animals could become extinct, and the discovery of dinosaurs. Though her financial struggles as a white woman of the time are made evident, portions of her story, including the facts that she was struck by lightning as a baby and that her father died when she was around 11, go unmentioned before the informative backmatter, which seems a lost opportunity. Readers likely to ask questions—her age when she made various discoveries, why she began searching the cliffs, the specific time period in which she lived—will have to wait for the timeline and author’s note. (An additional spread offers a smattering of paleontology facts.) Still, Anning is clearly a worthy subject, and this tale of her accomplishments is sure to elicit excitement and curiosity.A sturdy portrayal of Victorian scientist Mary Anning that showcases her accomplishments, intelligence, and perseverance. (Picture book/biography. 6-9)
Reviewing Agencies: - Find Other Reviewed Titles
ALA Booklist (5/1/20)
Kirkus Reviews
Bibliography Index/Note: Includes bibliographical references.
Word Count: 845
Reading Level: 4.1
Interest Level: P-2
Accelerated Reader: reading level: 4.1 / points: 0.5 / quiz: 510789 / grade: Lower Grades
Guided Reading Level: N

A beautifully illustrated picture book biography of Mary Anning that will enlighten children about the discovery of the dinosaurs and the importance of female scientists, perfect for fans of The Girl Who Thought in Pictures Mary Anning loved scouring the beach near her home in England for shells and fossils. She fearlessly climbed over crumbling cliffs and rocky peaks, searching for new specimens. One day, something caught Mary's eye. Bones. Dinosaur Bones. Mary's discoveries rocked the world of science and helped create a brand-new field of study: paleontology. But many people believed women couldn't be scientists, so Mary wasn't given the credit she deserved. Nevertheless, Mary kept looking and learning more, making discoveries that reshaped scientific beliefs about the natural world. Educational backmatter includes a timeline of Mary Anning's life and lots of fantastic fossil facts! The perfect choice for parents and teachers looking for:Dinosaur books for kids 5-7 and kids books about fossilsFeminist picture books about historical women, and daring books for girlsKids STEM books


*Prices subject to change without notice and listed in US dollars.
Perma-Bound bindings are unconditionally guaranteed (excludes textbook rebinding).
Paperbacks are not guaranteed.
Please Note: All Digital Material Sales Final.