Act
Act

List Price:

$25.53
School Discount
Price:

$17.87
Qty(25-99)
Discount Price:

$17.51
Qty(100-249)
Discount Price:

$17.33
Qty(250-499)
Discount Price:

$17.16
Qty(>500)
Discount Price:

$16.80
To purchase this item, you must first login or register for a new account.

Annotation: The New York Times bestselling author-illustrator Kayla Miller delivers the funny and honest follow-up to the middle school graphic novel sensations Click and Camp .
Catalog Number: #210451
Format: Perma-Bound Edition
All Formats: Search
Special Formats: Graphic Novel Graphic Novel Hot Title Hot Title
Publisher: Houghton Mifflin
Copyright Date: 2020
Edition Date: 2020
Pages: 224
Availability: Available
ISBN: Publisher: 0-358-20635-9 Perma-Bound: 0-605-00394-7
ISBN 13: Publisher: 978-0-358-20635-4 Perma-Bound: 978-0-605-00394-1
Dewey: Fic
Language: English
Reviews:
School Library Journal
Gr 37 Olive enters the world of small-scale politics when she decides to run for student council at her school. Spurred to action when she discovers that some students are being excluded from field trips because they can't afford the costs, Olive earns the trust of classmates who confide in her about their problems with the school, such as an unfair dress code. She's committed to making the school a better place for all the students, but the competition is fierce: Sawyer and Trent clown their way through the election, promising students more pudding, and Belinda's got politician parents influencing her performance. Olive's supportive mother and her activist aunt Molly help her research protest movements, which the back matter supports through brief historical summaries and a recommended reading list. While the stated moral of the story is that kids should take action to make a difference, Miller also emphasizes practical planning and teamwork rather than taking the easy way out or appealing to the lowest common denominator. What keeps the book from being overly didactic is its gentle, sensitive depiction of its core cast. Olive's diverse classmates support one another, which makes the occasional bruised ego all the more deeply felt. Friendships are tested along candidate lines, and readers will have many angles to consider before casting their own vote. Attractive coloring, paneling, and lettering ensure a simple, clear sight line through each page. VERDICT Olive's latest journey since Click and Camp is an eye-opening microcosm of the often bumpy democratic process. Thomas Maluck, Richland Lib., SC
Reviewing Agencies: - Find Other Reviewed Titles
School Library Journal (6/1/20)
Reading Level: 5.0
Interest Level: 4-7

Act is the funny and honest follow-up to the middle school graphic novel sensations Click and Camp . Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier, Shannon Hale, and Victoria Jamieson. How do you know when the person who can make the difference . . . is you? Olive is excited to start sixth grade: new teachers, new experiences, and a field trip to the big city with her best buds! But when Olive finds out that a school policy is keeping some kids from going on the trip, she decides to act. She's prepared to do whatever it takes to be heard--even if it means running against Trent and Sawyer, two of her closest friends, in the student council election! With intense campaign competition and emotions running high, can Olive make a big change and keep her friends? New York Times bestselling author-illustrator Kayla Miller crafts a genuine and inspiring story about evolving friendships, supportive family, and finding out that you--yes, you --have the power to make a difference.


*Prices subject to change without notice and listed in US dollars.
Perma-Bound bindings are unconditionally guaranteed (excludes textbook rebinding).
Paperbacks are not guaranteed.
Please Note: All Digital Material Sales Final.