Who Will You Be?
Who Will You Be?
$17.84
To purchase this item, you must first login or register for a new account.

Annotation: For fans of I Am Enough, The Day You Begin, and The Wonderful Things You Will Be, here is a poignant picture book about ... more
Catalog Number: #206967
Format: Library Binding
All Formats: Search
Special Formats: Hot Title Hot Title
Publisher: Random House
Copyright Date: 2020
Edition Date: 2020
Pages: 40
Availability: Available
New Title: Yes
ISBN: 1-9848494-9-2
ISBN 13: 978-1-9848494-9-6
Dewey: Fic
Language: English
Reviews:
Kirkus Reviews
It takes both family and community support early on to encourage children to grow up to be their full authentic selves.New life often sparks conversation from excited family around whom the expected child may look like in the family or what they may grow up to be. Pippins here explores how one African American family celebrates their newest addition. Addressing the newcomer, the narrator speculates about which qualities and enthusiasms demonstrated by loved ones the babe might share. This heartfelt narrative speaks to everyday experiences, whether a family get-together, camping, or baking. Pippins goes a step beyond family to layer this narrative with the important role community plays in the black experience. From wondering whether the child will be like family members, such as “your cousin Curlena [who] is loud and joyful,” the narrator moves on to wonder if the child will “find beauty in all that you see, like Ms. Jess” or “be compassionate, like Alessandra.” The striking, posterlike pictures are filled with bold characters engaging in both activism and quiet contemplation in addition to homey activities. Characters are all different shades of brown, reinforcing a sense of vibrant diversity (though there is no recognizable LGBTQ or disability representation here). Older kids will relate to hearing adults talk about whom they resemble, whether in appearance or personality.A sweet work that promotes love and belonging. (Picture book. 2-5)
Reviewing Agencies: - Find Other Reviewed Titles
Starred Review ALA Booklist
Kirkus Reviews
Reading Level: 1.0
Interest Level: P-2
Lexile: AD430L

For fans of I Am Enough, The Day You Begin, and The Wonderful Things You Will Be, here is a poignant picture book about how family and community help shape the wonderful people our children become.

My child, my little one,
Who will you be when you are grown?
There's loving kindness in your eyes, like your daddy's
and boldness in your heart, like your grandma's.
Will you be like them?

So begins this loving picture book about a mama who wonders who her child will grow up to be. Will her little one be curious like Grandpa and adventurous like Auntie Amina? Compassionate like Amy and joyful like cousin Curlena? Moving from family members to the wider community, she muses about which attributes her child will possess. A perfect gift for a baby shower, birthday, or graduation. Who Will You Be? features gorgeous artwork and gentle words that celebrate childhood and is an ode to the power of our village--and a reminder that every child is uniquely wonderful.


*Prices subject to change without notice and listed in US dollars.
Perma-Bound bindings are unconditionally guaranteed (excludes textbook rebinding).
Paperbacks are not guaranteed.
Please Note: All Digital Material Sales Final.