I'm Not Dying with You Tonight
I'm Not Dying with You Tonight

List Price:

$23.17
School Discount
Price:

$16.22
Qty(25-99)
Discount Price:

$15.90
Qty(100-249)
Discount Price:

$15.73
Qty(250-499)
Discount Price:

$15.57
Qty(>500)
Discount Price:

$15.25
To purchase this item, you must first login or register for a new account.

Annotation: Told from two viewpoints, Atlanta high school seniors Lena and Campbell, one black, one white, must rely on each other to survive after a football rivalry escalates into a riot.
Catalog Number: #200829
Format: Perma-Bound Edition from Publisher's Hardcover
All Formats: Search
Publisher: Sourcebooks, Inc
Copyright Date: 2019
Edition Date: 2019
Pages: 247 pages
Availability: Available
ISBN: Publisher: 1-492-67889-9 Perma-Bound: 0-7804-6747-7
ISBN 13: Publisher: 978-1-492-67889-2 Perma-Bound: 978-0-7804-6747-7
Dewey: Fic
LCCN: 2019008892
Dimensions: 21 cm.
Language: English
Reviews:
ALA Booklist
Lena is sassy and fashionable, and she dreams of fame. Campbell is quiet and reserved, and she just wants to survive the year at her new school. These two high-school girls e black and one white nd themselves caught in the middle of chaos at a Friday night football game. Despite being strangers, they must rely on each other in order to escape the frightful scene. On their journey towards safety, they encounter several dangerous situations, such as riots, fights, and looting, which force them to learn about and appreciate each other. In their first collaboration, authors Segal and Jones have produced a novel that addresses the racial tension in our nation, including current issues such as police brutality. This is a book that is sure to make young readers think, highlighting the importance of understanding different perspectives as its chapters alternate between Lena's and Campbell's points of view. An eye-opening read that will be useful for starting conversations in group settings.
Kirkus Reviews
Two teenage girls—Lena and Campbell—come together following a football game night gone wrong.Campbell, who is white and new to Atlanta, now attends the school where Lena, who is black, is a queen bee. At a game between McPherson High and their rival, a racist slur leads to fights, and shots are fired. The unlikely pair are thrown together as they try to escape the dangers on campus only to find things are even more perilous on the outside; a police blockade forces them to walk through a dangerous neighborhood toward home. En route, a peaceful protest turns into rioting, and the presence of police sets off a clash with protestors with gruesome consequences. The book attempts to tackle racial injustice in America by offering two contrasting viewpoints via narrators of different races. However, it portrays black characters as violent and criminal and the white ones as excusably ignorant and subtly racist, seemingly redeemed by moments when they pause to consider their privileges and biases. Unresolved story arcs, underdeveloped characters, and a jumpy plot that tries to pack too much into too small a space leave the story lacking. This is not a story of friendship but of how trauma can forge a bond—albeit a weak and questionable one—if only for a night.An unpolished grab bag of incidents that tries to make a point about racial inequality. (Fiction. 15-adult)
Publishers Weekly
Debut authors Segal and Jones deliver split points of view in this drama that follows two teens: Lena, who is black, and Campbell, who is white and new to Lena-s school. After a racially charged fight breaks out during a football game, school resource officers become involved, gunshots crack the tentative hold preventing an all-out riot, and the night erupts. Lena, unable to get a ride away from the madness, teams up with Campbell to make their way home, where Lena-s boyfriend is working on his album. Along the way, protests draw white supremacists, who run over a black woman, setting off more violence. Though Lena and Campbell-s stories seek to tell the gripping perspectives of two girls from different backgrounds, the characters lack dimension. Unfortunately, the novel stops just short of wrapping up Lena-s story, leaving Campbell with a more full character arc, while Lena, problematically, feels more like a mouthpiece for a stereotypical black experience. Nonetheless, the novel-s timely, accessible look at urgent issues of racial justice will likely draw interest. Ages 14-17. Agent: Tracey Adams, Adams Literary. (Aug.)
Reviewing Agencies: - Find Other Reviewed Titles
ALA Booklist (9/1/19)
Kirkus Reviews
Publishers Weekly
Word Count: 46,885
Reading Level: 4.3
Interest Level: 9-12
Accelerated Reader: reading level: 4.3 / points: 7.0 / quiz: 505500 / grade: Upper Grades
Lexile: HL740L

The New York Times Bestseller! "An absolute page turner, I'm Not Dying with You Tonight is a compelling and powerful novel that is sure to make an impact. " --Angie Thomas, New York Times bestselling author of The Hate U Give An NAACP Image Award Nominee, I'm Not Dying with You Tonight follows two teen girls--one black, one white--who have to confront their own assumptions about racial inequality as they rely on each other to get through the violent race riot that has set their city on fire with civil unrest. Lena has her killer style, her awesome boyfriend, and a plan. She knows she's going to make it big. Campbell, on the other hand, is just trying to keep her head down and get through the year at her new school. When both girls attend the Friday-night football game, what neither expects is for everything to descend into sudden mass chaos. Chaos born from violence and hate. Chaos that unexpectedly throws them together. They aren't friends. They hardly understand the other's point of view. But none of that matters when the city is up in flames, and they only have each other to rely on if they're going to survive the night. This book is perfect for: Sparking conversations about prejudice and the racial tension that exists in America Parents and educators looking for multicultural and African American books for teens Fans of Nic Stone, Angie Thomas, and Jason ReynoldsAdditional Praise for I'm Not Dying with You Tonight: "A vital addition to the YA race relations canon." --Nic Stone, New York Times bestselling author of Dear Martin "An astounding achievement. This novel is an incendiary experience, one that does not shy away from difficult questions about privilege and violence. But Jones and Segal don't hold our hands to provide us easy answers; this is a book meant to be devoured in a single sitting and discussed for years to come." --Mark Oshiro, author of Anger is a Gift "I'm Not Dying With You Tonight is a powerful examination of privilege, and how friends are often found in surprising places. Jones and Segal have penned a page-turning debut, as timely as it is addictive." --David Arnold, New York Times bestselling author of Mosquitoland and Kids of Appetite


*Prices subject to change without notice and listed in US dollars.
Perma-Bound bindings are unconditionally guaranteed (excludes textbook rebinding).
Paperbacks are not guaranteed.
Please Note: All Digital Material Sales Final.