The Merciful Crow
The Merciful Crow
$16.14

Series: Merciful Crow   

To purchase this item, you must first login or register for a new account.

Annotation: Fie, a sixteen-year-old chieftain from a lowly cast of mercy-killers, must rely on her wits and bone magic to smuggle the crown prince of Sabor to safety.
Catalog Number: #193466
Format: Publisher's Hardcover
No other formats available
Special Formats: Hot Title Hot Title
Publisher: Henry Holt & Co.
Copyright Date: 2019
Edition Date: 2019
Pages: 373 pages
Availability: Available
New Title: Yes
ISBN: 1-250-19192-0
ISBN 13: 978-1-250-19192-2
Dewey: Fic
LCCN: 2018038716
Dimensions: 24 cm.
Language: English
Reviews:
Starred Review for Kirkus Reviews
A low-caste girl takes on a high-risk quest in this series opener.Only the Crows can dispatch and dispose of Sinner's Plague victims, but they are shunned, abused, and murdered by Sabor's other castes. A witch with "bone" (tooth) magic, 16-year-old Fie will one day succeed her Pa as chief of a band of itinerant Crows. But that day comes too soon when a rare retrieval from the royal palace delivers two corpses…who ain't dead yet. Often furious Fie instantly dislikes Phoenix Prince Jasimir and his Hawk bodyguard, Tavin, but soon finds herself head of the trio as they outrun and outwit ambitious Queen Rhusana and her night-riding Oleander Gentry—white-clad and masked (recalling the KKK)—relentless skinwitch trackers, and monstrous ghasts. Facing death and deprivation, Fie's companions also encounter Sabor's insidious violence toward Crows. Debut author Owen offers well-balanced worldbuilding and a propulsive plot and excels at tender, intimate moments and complicated, realistic romantic and familial relationships. Lacking an overt historical or geographic parallel, the tale instead features a cast spectacularly diverse in class, gender, sexual orientation, and race—Fie's skin is "terra-cotta," Jas' and Tavin's are "dark gold," while a villainous northerner is described as "pork-pink."Rich, harrowing, and unafraid to tackle discrimination—perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Tomi Adeyemi. (caste legend) (Fantasy. 12-18)
Reading Level: 6.0
Interest Level: 9-12

Debut author Margaret Owen crafts a powerful saga of vengeance, survival, and sacrifice--perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Kendare Blake--in The Merciful Crow . "Packed to the teeth with fresh worldbuilding and righteous fury...It's a ride that is wildly fun."--Emily A. Duncan, New York Times -bestselling author of Wicked Saints "Rich, harrowing, and unafraid to tackle discrimination--perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Tomi Adeyemi."-- Kirkus , Starred Review One way or another, we always feed the crows. A future chieftain Fie abides by one rule: look after your own. Her Crow caste of undertakers and mercy-killers takes more abuse than coin, but when they're called to collect royal dead, she's hoping they'll find the payout of a lifetime. A fugitive prince When Crown Prince Jasimir turns out to have faked his death, Fie's ready to cut her losses--and perhaps his throat. But he offers a wager that she can't refuse: protect him from a ruthless queen, and he'll protect the Crows when he reigns. A too-cunning bodyguard Hawk warrior Tavin has always put Jas's life before his, magically assuming the prince's appearance and shadowing his every step. But what happens when Tavin begins to want something to call his own?


*Prices subject to change without notice and listed in US dollars.
Perma-Bound bindings are unconditionally guaranteed (excludes textbook rebinding).
Paperbacks are not guaranteed.
Please Note: All Digital Material Sales Final.