Once Upon a Goat
Once Upon a Goat
$15.29
To purchase this item, you must first login or register for a new account.

Catalog Number: #189429
Format: Publisher's Hardcover
No other formats available
Special Formats: Hot Title Hot Title
Copyright Date: 2019
Edition Date: 2019
Pages: 40
Availability: Available
New Title: Yes
ISBN: 1-524-77374-3
ISBN 13: 978-1-524-77374-8
Dewey: E
Language: English
Reviews:
Kirkus Reviews
A picture-book fable featuring a king, a queen, a fairy godmother, and…a goat?In this sweet and playful fable, a royal couple wishes hopefully for a child. While they claim "we're not particular," they also present their fairy godmother with a wish list that their child have "glowing skin, bright eyes, and hair like ocean waves" and preferably be a boy, "but any kid will do." She gets to work, and on the next full moon the king and queen receive the answer to their wishes—but it's a goat and not the perfect human boy they were expecting. Disappointment turns to despair before despair turns to delight as this unusual trio becomes a loving and happy family. When they are ultimately given the opportunity to correct the "misunderstanding" and swap their beloved goat for a human child, the royal parents arrive at a creative solution. The smoothly paced illustrations are nicely varied among vignettes, full pages, and double-page spreads. The artwork is rich with traditional fairy-tale motifs, and the austere lines of the palace contrast amusingly with the chaos brought by the goat child. While it has a small cast of human and humanoid characters, all of them present white.With its gentle morals of acceptance, not judging by appearances, and being open to outcomes different than expectations, this is a lovely family read-aloud. (Picture book. 4-6)
Starred Review ALA Booklist
*Starred Review* A young king and queen long for a child, but they're not too choosy. As the king tells their fairy godmother, "Any kid will do." Still, it's unsettling when a little goat appears on their doorstep. Initially confined to the palace grounds, the little fellow looks so forlorn that night, standing in the rain, that the king and queen bring him indoors, and there he stays, increasingly beloved as he frolics happily each day. Later, the fairy godmother returns, realizes her mistake, and fetches the misplaced baby, who is quite happy with his goat parents. The child initially fears the king and queen but loves the baby goat. Luckily, the palace is large enough to accommodate both kids and all four parents. Is this the family the monarchs had wished for? "No," says the queen, "Better." Beginning with a familiar fairy tale wish, the story concludes in an unexpectedly open-minded way. Richards' simply written, enjoyable text reads aloud well. Working with pencil, watercolor, acrylic, and Adobe Photoshop, Barclay uses composition effectively to frame the story and draw attention to certain elements. A corner is chomped out of the right front endpaper, revealing a picture of the lovable little goat eating the missing piece. A fresh, amusing, kindhearted picture book.
Reviewing Agencies: - Find Other Reviewed Titles
Starred Review ALA Booklist (5/1/19)
Horn Book
Kirkus Reviews
Publishers Weekly
Reading Level: 1.0
Interest Level: P-2
Lexile: AD510L
Guided Reading Level: N
Fountas & Pinnell: N

A twisted fairy tale about a king and queen who wish for a child of their own . . . and end up with a baby goat. Perfect for readers of Children Make Terrible Pets and Wolfie the Bunny.

Once upon a time, a very prim and proper king and queen begged their fairy godmother for a child. They'd prefer a boy, with glowing skin, bright eyes, and two roses for lips . . . but any kid will do. When they find themselves gifted with a baby goat (also known as a kid) instead, they can't imagine how he'll fit into their lives. But of course, it isn't long before he's part of the royal family.

Readers will delight in this story's hilarity, confusion, and celebration of families that come in every shape and size.

"A fresh, amusing, kindhearted picture book."--Booklist, Starred review
"With its gentle morals of acceptance, not judging by appearances, and being open to outcomes different than expectations, this is a lovely family read-aloud."--Kirkus
"The contrast between the royal couple's once-ordered existence and the cheerful mess at book's end is very funny, and the message about acceptance and the expanded definition of family is a bonus."--Horn Book


*Prices subject to change without notice and listed in US dollars.
Perma-Bound bindings are unconditionally guaranteed (excludes textbook rebinding).
Paperbacks are not guaranteed.
Please Note: All Digital Material Sales Final.