The Astonishing Color of After
The Astonishing Color of After

List Price:

$22.90
School Discount
Price:

$16.03
Qty(25-99)
Discount Price:

$15.71
Qty(100-249)
Discount Price:

$15.55
Qty(250-499)
Discount Price:

$15.39
Qty(>500)
Discount Price:

$15.07
To purchase this item, you must first login or register for a new account.

Annotation: After her mother's suicide, grief-stricken Leigh Sanders travels to Taiwan to stay with grandparents she never met, determined to find her mother who she believes turned into a bird.
Catalog Number: #182089
Format: Perma-Bound Edition
All Formats: Search
Special Formats: High Low High Low
Copyright Date: 2019
Edition Date: 2019
Pages: 470 pages
Availability: Available
New Title: Yes
ISBN: Publisher: 0-316-46401-5 Perma-Bound: 0-7804-4425-6
ISBN 13: Publisher: 978-0-316-46401-7 Perma-Bound: 978-0-7804-4425-6
Dewey: Fic
LCCN: 2017022920
Dimensions: 21 cm.
Language: English
Word Count: 101,576
Reading Level: 4.8
Interest Level: 9-12
Accelerated Reader: reading level: 4.8 / points: 15.0 / quiz: 193765 / grade: Upper Grades
Reading Counts!: reading level:5.2 / points:24.0 / quiz:Q73102
Lexile: HL670L

"Emily X.R. Pan's brilliantly crafted, harrowing first novel portrays the vast spectrum of love and grief with heart-wrenching beauty and candor. This is a very special book."--John Green, bestselling author of The Fault in Our Stars and Turtles All the Way Down

A stunning, heartbreaking debut novel about grief, love, and family, perfect for fans of Jandy Nelson and Celeste Ng.

An APALA Honor Book
A Walter Award Honor Book

Leigh Chen Sanders is absolutely certain about one thing: When her mother died by suicide, she turned into a bird.

Leigh, who is half Asian and half white, travels to Taiwan to meet her maternal grandparents for the first time. There, she is determined to find her mother, the bird. In her search, she winds up chasing after ghosts, uncovering family secrets, and forging a new relationship with her grandparents. And as she grieves, she must try to reconcile the fact that on the same day she kissed her best friend and longtime secret crush, Axel, her mother was taking her own life.

Alternating between real and magic, past and present, friendship and romance, hope and despair, The Astonishing Color of After is a stunning and heartbreaking novel about finding oneself through family history, art, grief, and love.


*Prices subject to change without notice and listed in US dollars.
Perma-Bound bindings are unconditionally guaranteed (excludes textbook rebinding).
Paperbacks are not guaranteed.
Please Note: All Digital Material Sales Final.